We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed , over priced”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Paid 200 per night for a koa type cabin , booked over the phone . Was going bye the reviews . Cabin was very small , furnished with flea market or yard sale items . No tv In little bedroom , had 2 very small window unit A/C . No way they could keep it cool on a hot day , thankfully weather was mild when we were there . Unit in bedroom made vibrating noises and kept me up all night . The old sofa swallowed me when I sat down . The comforter on the bed and all the hodge podge of throw pillows smelled and look as if never seen a washing machine . 5 cabins 4 parking spaces need I say more . All cabins squeezed In a tiny lot on top each other right on street

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saltydandog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebFed, Owner at Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We strive to please all of our guests and truly regret that you were not pleased. What you apparently viewed as “flea market” items we and most of our guests enjoy and value for their eclectic and artistic value. All of our linens are of superior quality and are kept clean. Our cabin beds were custom built of reclaimed barn wood to maintain the authenticity and character of a true cabin. The mission style sofa is not old and we are sorry you found it uncomfortable.

We have had no problems with the window air conditioning units cooling the cabins and are pleased that is was not a problem for you.

We also maintain a designated parking space for each cabin.

Our “in town cabins” are located right on Main Street, enabling our guests to walk to the lovely shops and wonderful restaurants located in downtown. For our guests that prefer an out of town experience we also have cabins located a short distance from town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. Very comfortable, clean, and close to everything in town. Small rooms but very well maintained. Friendly, and helpful staff added to a fantastic stay. Would definitely book a room here next time in Blowing Rock.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebFed, Owner at Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for staying here and for taking the time to submit the favorable review. We realize the rooms are small but we make every effort to make them pleasing to our guests. We all look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Rooms are small but spotless. Grounds are beautiful. Staff very helpful. The only negative is that a lot of the guests were sitting outside the rooms to smoke so we couldn't open the windows and of course the smoke wafted into our room anytime we opened the door. Wish they had a designated smoking area that wasn't right in front of the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebFed, Owner at Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We have given a lot of consideration to your review. Smokers are a challenge to us and we don't allow smoking in the rooms. Maybe one of the cabins or the queen room on the end of the inn would be better for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I can not say enough good things about this Hotel. The Owners were so very nice they made you feel so welcome. The rooms were very clean . The outside was so beautiful very well landscaped. It is so cozy and a great get away.

Room Tip: All the rooms were goody he rooms are all on one floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What more can you ask for? This roadside inn is along Main Street in Blowing Rock - a lovely town. Our room had a small, clean full bath, two double beds, a small desk, dresser, minifridge and nighttable. The beds were beautifully made - pillowed and welcoming. The room was lovely, quiet and there were chairs outside, as well as a garden area where the hosts light a fire in the chiminea style fire pit at night, where guests can sit and chat. We only wish we had more time to explore this town and enjoy this in. We did run the air-conditioner at night which was a bit noisy, but we could have shut it off and opened a (different) window, had we chosen. The inn was walking distance to shops, restaurants, the town park, and a short drive to many sights (which the owners are happy to recommend and describe). There is wifi in the room, though not as strong as up by the office. There are log cabins, also along Main St. we did not visit but the gardens there, like those at the motel, were lovely. Although there is no pool, we were told there is access to the beautiful nearby town pool.

Room Tip: You might want one farther from the road so folks hanging out in the garden don't disturb you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jillles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Older motel, but upgraded. Very clean rooms and grounds, lovely landscape. Nice sitting area with fire pit which we enjoyed very much!
Priced very well and the owners go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.
Convenient location, walking distance to downtown.
Blowing Rock is a favorite of ours and visit as often I we can.

Room Tip: Rooms comfortable, quiet, also cabins on site !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SJ A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

One of the best overnight stops on our months vacation in the U.S.A. Deborah and her husband were charming hosts and were very helpful with dining information and directions. Our only regret was that we could not spend more time on Blowing Rock and at Mountainaire Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#4 of 16 in Blowing Rock
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins

Address: 827 Main St, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-8331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range: £52 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Mountainaire Inn & Log Cabins. We pride ourselves on our hospitality, with eleven delightful rooms, and thirteen cozy, inviting log cabins, accompanied by our well maintained gardens and landscaping. We are a charming boutique hotel unique among Blowing Rock's lodging accommodations, offering convenience to downtown Blowing Rock, nearby shopping, exceptional dining, and the arts. We are a short driving distance to all of the diverse outdoor activities the high country provides. Also, for all Appalachian State parents, alumni and visitors, Boone is only a short eight miles down the road for all to enjoy its diverse culture and activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountainaire Inn And Log Cabins Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing