We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2009

I love this place. I have stayed here numerous times, we make multiple trips to Blowing Rock in a year. We made a day trip in November to by a Christmas tree and stopped in to make our reservations for this trip. The owners are very friendly - they even let us into their own house to see their Christmas tree they had bought the day before. Plus, they have a sweet little cat too.

This place is quiet and small. The rooms are not overly large nor are the bathrooms but they are always clean and tidy. The king bed had a very nice bedset and tons of pillows! The hotel is also very convienent. You don't have to move your car at all to go anywhere if you don't want to. I highly recommend breakfast at Knights at Main across the street. The final bonus, this place if fairly affordable as well.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank civic2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

576 - 579 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2008

We stumbled on this pleasant 1954-era motel turned into an inn when we pulled in to the Azalea Garden Inn next door without a reservation and no one was immediately available at the guest desk. We walked over to the Mountainair Inn and were warmly greeted by Deborah, the owner. She was very friendly and helpful. To my surprise and delight as an avid reader of Jan Karon's Mitford novels, she told me, "Honey, you are in Mitford!" Deborah explained the locations of sites in the novels and their inspiration in Blowing Rock.

Our queen bed room ($85) was very small, but charming. The bathroom was clean and bright, with an open window to let in the fresh mountain air. The bed was very comfortable and made up with nice linens. Sweet tea, coffee, and ice are available in a little breezeway next to the office.

A fire pit and chairs are provided in the "outdoor living room." Deborah provides wine glasses and encourages guests to mingle. We enjoyed sitting outdoors on a pleasant, bug-free evening conversing with the other guests and sipping an excellent South African white wine purchased at the nearby gas station/wine shop.

All shops and restaurants are within an easy walking distance of the inn. We enjoyed pizza at the Mellow Mushroom for dinner and the sweet potato pancakes and a country breakfast of grits, biscuit, ham, and eggs at Sonny's the next morning, Sonny's is the inspiration for the diner in the Mitford novels.

A delightful experience in a charming town.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EditorER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here Memorial Weekend. We made our reservations last minute. And we are so glad we did. This place was the epitomy of southern hospitality. The owner, Debbie, was so helpful, kind and welcoming. I forgot a sweater for the chilly nights... she lent me her favorite, nicest one. We couldnt decide where to eat... she let us use her personal menu book. She let us borrow wine glasses. It was like being in a home away from home.
Now, If you are going with a family, I would suggest a log cabin. But the rooms are great for couples. We stayed in a king room and yes the bathroom was little small and it was just your standard hotel room... bed, tv, dressing table... But it was CLEAN, COMFY AND RIGHT DOWN TOWN. We just literally walked out of our door and we were in the heart of downtown. If you are looking for a romantic peaceful getaway... this is your place. I hope this helps! We are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GottaGetaway86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: cualquiera es buena
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carloscontreras378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah M, Owner at Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 16 in Blowing Rock
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#4 of 16 in Blowing Rock
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins

Address: 827 Main St, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-8331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range: £52 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Mountainaire Inn & Log Cabins. We pride ourselves on our hospitality, with eleven delightful rooms, and thirteen cozy, inviting log cabins, accompanied by our well maintained gardens and landscaping. We are a charming boutique hotel unique among Blowing Rock's lodging accommodations, offering convenience to downtown Blowing Rock, nearby shopping, exceptional dining, and the arts. We are a short driving distance to all of the diverse outdoor activities the high country provides. Also, for all Appalachian State parents, alumni and visitors, Boone is only a short eight miles down the road for all to enjoy its diverse culture and activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountainaire Inn And Log Cabins Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing