We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean cabin, close to everything!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Staley,NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice clean cabin, close to everything!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Spent the Memorial Day weekend with my hubby and parents. Stayed in the Moose Cabin. 2 Bedrooms, 1 bath. Very clean, only drawback was the extremely hard beds. (so hard it will make your arm fall asleep), and very close to the main street. We all think you would be better off on the floor (not joking). Cute fireplace, across the street from decent clean breakfast. Nice gardens. Debbie the owner was pleasant and I haggled a deal. I would recommend this place

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winans4jesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    72
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
99
241
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

Positives: Everyone we spoke with who worked there was top-notch, made great recommendations and generally very accommodating. Good location, if you want a place where once you get there, you don't have to move your car again until you leave. Also, if the weather is nice, the outdoor living room is charming. Negatives: The actual room wasn't that great, lousy bed, kind of cramped but for $85/night I don"t expect the Taj Mahal. VCR no DVD player? What century is this again? Also, the ceiling looked kind of damaged over the shower. Overall, could use some renovating. P.S., you MUST go to Knights on Main across the street. It doesn't look like much, but the food is GREAT!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnasummitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Beach
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

Livin at the beach, we decided to take the kids to see snow and stopped to see if Mountainaire had a cabin available. It was dark when we arrived and Deborah welcomed us right in. She showed us a cabin and WOW! The snow looked custom ordered and the cabin was perfect! Fireplace, jacuzzi, comfortable beds, immaculate and cozy. One night was just not enough- the kids would love to spend next Christmas there!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4islandlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlanta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed in one of the log cabins and it was great. The loft was great for our kids and the bedroom and bathroom was plenty big for my wife and I. Deborah was a great host. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DirkNaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

The staff at this hotel were super friendly! The room was a little small but the bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom (with shower/tub) were very clean. This was a great place to stay for a great price.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NcGerberdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

I love this place. I have stayed here numerous times, we make multiple trips to Blowing Rock in a year. We made a day trip in November to by a Christmas tree and stopped in to make our reservations for this trip. The owners are very friendly - they even let us into their own house to see their Christmas tree they had bought the day before. Plus, they have a sweet little cat too.

This place is quiet and small. The rooms are not overly large nor are the bathrooms but they are always clean and tidy. The king bed had a very nice bedset and tons of pillows! The hotel is also very convienent. You don't have to move your car at all to go anywhere if you don't want to. I highly recommend breakfast at Knights at Main across the street. The final bonus, this place if fairly affordable as well.

  • Liked — location and comfort
  • Disliked — no internet in hotel rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank civic2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2008

We stumbled on this pleasant 1954-era motel turned into an inn when we pulled in to the Azalea Garden Inn next door without a reservation and no one was immediately available at the guest desk. We walked over to the Mountainair Inn and were warmly greeted by Deborah, the owner. She was very friendly and helpful. To my surprise and delight as an avid reader of Jan Karon's Mitford novels, she told me, "Honey, you are in Mitford!" Deborah explained the locations of sites in the novels and their inspiration in Blowing Rock.

Our queen bed room ($85) was very small, but charming. The bathroom was clean and bright, with an open window to let in the fresh mountain air. The bed was very comfortable and made up with nice linens. Sweet tea, coffee, and ice are available in a little breezeway next to the office.

A fire pit and chairs are provided in the "outdoor living room." Deborah provides wine glasses and encourages guests to mingle. We enjoyed sitting outdoors on a pleasant, bug-free evening conversing with the other guests and sipping an excellent South African white wine purchased at the nearby gas station/wine shop.

All shops and restaurants are within an easy walking distance of the inn. We enjoyed pizza at the Mellow Mushroom for dinner and the sweet potato pancakes and a country breakfast of grits, biscuit, ham, and eggs at Sonny's the next morning, Sonny's is the inspiration for the diner in the Mitford novels.

A delightful experience in a charming town.

  • Liked — Friendly people
  • Disliked — Small size of room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EditorER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.2 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.4 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins

Property: Mountainaire Inn and Log Cabins
Address: 827 Main St, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-8331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Mountainaire Inn & Log Cabins. We pride ourselves on our hospitality, with eleven delightful rooms, and thirteen cozy, inviting log cabins, accompanied by our well maintained gardens and landscaping. We are a charming boutique hotel unique among Blowing Rock's lodging accommodations, offering convenience to downtown Blowing Rock, nearby shopping, exceptional dining, and the arts. We are a short driving distance to all of the diverse outdoor activities the high country provides. Also, for all Appalachian State parents, alumni and visitors, Boone is only a short eight miles down the road for all to enjoy its diverse culture and activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountainaire Inn And Log Cabins Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing