We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful spot (when it's not raining)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Julian Price Park Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Julian Price Park Campground
Phoenixville, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot (when it's not raining)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have been to this campground 3 times during the Grandfather Mountain Highland Games.
(2008, 2009 and 2013). First 2 times in loop A, this last time in loop B. I like the campground, the lake and where it is situated on the parkway. However, every year it has been very rainy. Apparently it is on "that" side of the mountain that always gets the rain. A previous poster was right that it has been left to go in some disrepair especially in the loops other than Loop A. We however enjoyed our spot and the price is very good for those on a budget. The views on the lake are gorgeous and the ride to Grandfather spectacular if the sky is clear. There are no showers but the Linville Y will honor your local membership and we visited there for our showers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyandEwanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
16
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA - NC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

If you're looking for a good campground on the Blue Ridge Parkway, this is a good one. There are well over 100 campsites. If it had not been for the torrential rains we would have been able to enjoy it more, but that obviously is not something that can be helped. We camped for one night in the A loop and had a view of the lake. There is a bathroom facility within a minute or 2 walk. Since it rained so much there were very few other campers so parking 2 cars was not an issue, but most sites only have room for 1 car then you have to use the overflow parking lots. Normally you can rent a canoe or kayak for $13 an hour at the lake concession building which also sells some snacks and firewood. We did not get to check out the hiking trails due to the rain, but I have heard they are very scenic. We will probably try again when the weather is better and things have dried out.

Room Tip: Site in the A Loop are closest to the lake and some are on / have a view of the lake. Loops B-F are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We spent 2 nights at Julian Price in a travel trailer June 13-14, 2013. When we arrived the campground had not been mowed in weeks. The grass was 8-10 inches tall. Maintenance is also being deferred as the grass growing in the cracks in the roads was several inches tall. Thick layers of moss covered many picnic tables. There were large potholes in the asphalt of the roads running through the camping areas. The campground is in great need of updating as many of the RV sites are very short and the pull through sites are nothing more than parking on a paved shoulder of the road. There are no hookups and the bathrooms do not have showers. It is a shame a campground operated by the National Park Service is poorly maintained and lacks the level of amenities of most state parks we've visited. The cost, $19 per night, is high when there are very nice private campgrounds in western NC that cost $30-$35 per night with full hookups. including wifi.

Julian Price Park is a beautiful location on the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is unfortunate the campground is in disrepair and the sites are more suited to popups and the small travel trailers of the 1950's.

Room Tip: If you are in a travel trailer over 22 feet long you may have difficulty parking even if the reserva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swfl1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

My husband and along with another friend of ours took a short camping trip to the Price Park. This was our first time there, and wow it did match to all the wonderful reviews we had read. we had booked our campsite in advance on the C loop. it was a nice cozy spot with enough privacy within the bushes. the officer at the ranger station was friendly and helpful. we got there by about 4.30 in the even and alot of ppl had already set up their tents by then. we unpacked and put up our tent soon...there was a nice educational program about the canada geese that one of the rangers were giving at the amphi theatre.
the washrooms for each of the loops were in easy to spot walkable distance. they were nice and clean and actually never was a situation to even wait for one. people around were also nice, and mostly to themselves.
there is wood available near the boating rentals for the campfire.
overall, we enjoyed our first camping experience and were more than glad we started it at the Price Park campgrounds.

Room Tip: Try and book in advance, the campsite on the A loop close to the lake are amazing with a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReYo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were looking to combine a camping trip with a visit to family in Boone, and I prefer to support our State and National Parks when possible, so Julian Price was a perfect fit!

I had booked the lakefront site online with no trouble. I knew from the web that there were no showers at the campground, so planned ahead for our hygiene needs.

We drove the Parkway from the South and it was raining most of the way, so we were a bit worried that the site would be a muddy mess, but the large elevated tent pad was well drained and we set right up. The site was steps from the lake and hiking trail, but surrounded by flowering shrubs and large trees so felt very private. It had a cement picnic table (in need of repair but serviceable), a lantern hook, and a fire ring as well as an adjacent parking space, and was fairly large.

The staff members we interacted with were helpful and friendly, the hiking trails were lovely, but be warned that they are left fairly natural, so there were mud puddles and fallen branches, etc. The wildlife viewing was phenomenal; we saw deer, water snakes, beaver, and frogs...our 5 year old son was thrilled by the tadpoles! We rented a canoe and explored the lake a bit, which was a wonderful activity.

The restrooms were adequate with toilets and sinks, and two potable water sources found outside of them.

We would definitely choose this campground again and recommend it to those tent campers who are okay with something between fully roughing it and extensive amenities as we are. If you have an RV, and have your amenities with you, I definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a lakeside site for gorgeous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BamaFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

This was our first camping experience with our children (11 and 14). I was a little wary because of previous reviews but we had no problem getting our site and we arrived on July 4, a Sunday, in the middle of the holiday weekend. Comfort stations weren't spotless but not filthy either. I'm not a clean freak so it didn't bother me. But by Monday afternoon you could tell that they just run skeleton staff on weekends.

We were in a tent-only site and the pad was really too small (10 x 10) but the ranger told us it was ok to put our large tent anywhere there was room and that it was ok to put up a small tent also (we're brought it just in case). Apparently as long as it all fits within the site they're not picky about number of tents. With tween/teen kids having room for an extra tent was a bonus! They shared a big tent and mom and dad got our own tent about 10 feet away.

We had worried a little about doing a week-long trip with no electricity and no running water and no showers but we did just fine. We heated water for sponge baths. We had two carboys for water and it wasn't that far from the 'comfort station' where the water tap was located to our camp site. Mid-week we drove down to Linville and used the shower facilities at their YMCA (we used our 'away' privelege from our Y to get day passes)---that felt very nice!

Hiking in the park is fantastic. We didn't do as many hikes as we thought we'd be able to, we figured out quickly that any cooking and cleaning up took twice as long camping as at home. But we enjoyed the laid-back pace of having no where in particular to go and nothing in particular we wanted to get done. We spent a half-day in Boone, just exploring downtown and a couple of evenings in Blowing Rock.

On the next to last day my 11 year old daughter said "this is the best vacation ever"! I asked 'better than Disney World?" (we've been 4-5 times in the last few years) and she said "yes, it's not rushed and there aren't so many people".

One sour note at the end of the week--a large family group (several families) took over two campsites near the restrooms. They didn't supervise their young children very well in the toilets and at one point on Saturday both of the women's toilets were clogged and my husband said there was excrement on the walls in the men's room. Gross. Luckily the cleaning team showed up just a few minutes later. This same group was VERY LOUD both nights they were there. On Sunday morning the ranger told us 'you should have called the 1-800 number on your parking permit, we'd have had someone out to shut them up in no time'. We just never thought of it. The rangers say that they take the curfew very seriously and that people should call if they have problems of any sort.

One warning. The tent sites have room for only one car and they enforced parking even in the middle of the week (we had to leave our extra car in overflow parking by the boat dock) when the campground wasn't full.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank goinplacesNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

My husband and I stayed over Labor Day weekend in A section and loved it! We had a great time, and now we are going back sometime in October!! We can not wait for next year to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pamed11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blowing Rock
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
6.0 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.7 mi away
Blue Ridge Village
Blue Ridge Village
#1 of 9 in Banner Elk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
5.8 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#3 of 11 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julian Price Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julian Price Park Campground

Property: Julian Price Park Campground
Address: Mile Post 297 Blue Ridge Parkway, Blowing Rock, NC
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Blowing Rock
Number of rooms: 180
Also Known As:
Julian Price Park Campground Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing