We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and Awesome!”
Review of Alpine Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Village Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
“Friendly and Awesome!”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Charles and Katherine Smid (Innkeepers) are not only friendly and very helpful, but very accomidating! Cute and lovely Inn in the middle of Blowing Rock....we are planning another trip to stay with them in March! Clean and comfortable and great location!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    54
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
44
108
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Airy NC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Room was very nice and very clean. Best bed i have ever slept on. Very relaxing .
Host was very informative about dining etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReynoldsFamily27030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This property is very well maintained. The rooms are small, but immaculate and tastefully furnished. Katherine and Charles are friendly and fun to get to know. They are easy to find when you have questions. They offered excellent suggestions for day trips and places to eat. The grounds are lovely and have nice outside sitting areas. The location was why we chose this motel and we were not disappointed. We could walk to shops, restaurants and the park. Alpine is located on a quiet, pleasant street less than a block from main street. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveler29209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracys Landing, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

My wife and I and another couple drove our four motorcycles 1400 miles up and down the Skyline Drive and the Blue Ridge Parkway over a week and we spent the nite at the Alpine Village Inn on a Tuesday nite. The accomodations were great and Katherine and Charlie, the Innkeepers, were so friendly, helpful and inviting that we spent another nite there on our way back north on the Parkway. They were extremely motorcycle friendly, offered dining suggestions, sight seeing recommendations and things of interests to see. They felt like friends instead of just Innkeepers. Blowing Rock is a great little town with lots of shops and places to eat. We will definitely go back to Blowing Rock and Alpine Village Inn and have already recommended the place to some of our friends before we even got back home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mngwalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We had a great time at the Alpine Village Inn. The price was rite and the Smids were very nice hosts. We could walk to restaurants and shops in Blowing Rock. The room was very cozy and clean. I loved all the antiques and I felt very much at home. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

After arriving at the Alpine Inn, we were very pleased to discover the sincere hospitality of the owners, who went out of their way to make us very comfortable. Not only were the rooms clean and comfortable, but my wife and I were made to feel very much at home during our week long stay.

We arrived with a SUV and motorcycle, so we had special parking needs. The owner Charles jumped into action and made certain that we had the necessary parking for both vehicles and a trailer. This is just one example of the extraordinary efforts made to accommodate our needs.

Charles (Who also owns and rides a motorcycle) was very familiar with some of the best roads in the area. He mapped out daily rides for us to ensure we had the best time possible.

It's not often that you find both a great Hotel/Inn and a host that is motorcycle friendly. If you are planning a visit to Blowing Rock, NC, we would highly recommend the Alpine Inn

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The day we were due to book in we had a flat tyre late afternoon and we arrived after a 4 hour journey on the spare wheel after midnight . When we rang to say we were going to be late it was no bother and Alpine left the key where we would find it. (Be warned a US Sat nav will take you to the end of the street but Alpine is middle right as you look up the slight hill)

We didn't know where we were until the following morning.
The position is ideal 2 mins from the main street but in a quiet charming road ( speed bumps). The garden is lovely and the rooms have a rocker outside which is great for the evening sun.

Are the rooms 'cosy' ? well yes with 3 of us in two double beds plus big luggage, but we were out most of the time so we didn't care. What 's really important is that they are freshly decorated, have everything you'll need and are very clean.
How did Alpine save our day ? well Charles the manager spent hours helping us get our car tyre replaced - National Car rental were very obstructive and useless. He contacted local garages for us , let us use of the office phone throughout the day , he took messages and even checked the car over and pointed out National had given us a practically bald tyre and that their refusal to have a different brand of tyre was negated by the fact that there were two brands already on the car.
He also had great advice on how to make the most of the time we had left. He literally got us back on the right track and we regret we could only spend two nights there. It's a lovely undeveloped village and well situated for excursions. Definitely worth seeing if they have rooms.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the same way which is to the garden, the road isn't busy, with small children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Village Inn

Property: Alpine Village Inn
Address: 297 Sunset Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-7206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Alpine Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Village Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing