We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Alpine Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Village Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed two nights – and found friendly people, nice rooms, great bed, dog friendly, inexpensive, very clean, central location. Rooms are a little tight, but very nicely furnished. We'll stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

My wife and I—along with our K9 companion—have stayed at the Alpine Village Inn twice and we'll definitely be going back again in the future. In fact, the only thing that upsets us when it comes to AVI is that we didn't discover it soon enough. If you're looking for a great value within walking distance to all of Blowing Rock's shopping and dining options, then this is the place for you, especially if you're looking for a pet-friendly option. The Blue Ridge Parkway is also nearby; we had a 15-minute drive and within minutes we were hiking in what felt like a remote location. Though the rooms (and specifically the bathroom) are rather small, for the price and convenience it is not remotely an issue. Aside from its inherent charm, innkeepers Katherine and Charles anre beyond friendly, and always willing to offer local recommendations and advice.

Room Tip: We've stayed in Rooms 1 and 3 and enjoyed both equally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QCRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My wife and I have been staying here every time we visit the area. Katherine and Charles have done a wonderful job. You cannot beat the Alpine Village Inn for its location, hospitality, cleanliness, and the cozy comfort and quiet of the rooms. The rooms are small, but that adds to the charm. Staying there places us within easy walking distance from the main street and a short drive to Boone and surrounding attractions. We recently visited the area for our anniversary and Katherine arranged at my request to have flowers and champagne waiting in the room to surprise my wife. As usual, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hwhdrk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Just came back from a family weekend trip for my wife's birthday. It was our first time in this part of NC and we'll be back if for no other reason than our stay at the Alpine Village Inn. The rooms are cozy and clean and I cannot remember getting a better night's sleep in a hotel and I travel A LOT! It's located dead in the middle of downtown Blowing Rock, and a short drive from all the restaurants you could ever need. The owners, Charlie and Katherine, are Florida transplants who embody Southern hospitality. What a gem of an inn, and we can't wait to come back in the summer.

Room Tip: Two swanky suites are also available, so ask when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mchamberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The Innkeepers at Alpine Village Inn exemplify southern hospitality. We brought our pooch with us on our ski vacation, and they took the little guy out 3 different times during one of our longer ski days. Where else could you go to get this kind of hospitality? We were blown away.

In addition, the cleaning staff was incredibly friendly and did a great job. Our unit was very clean. We felt right at home in this cozy Inn.

Room Tip: Our bathroom was very small, however the overall experience was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Great location... only a few blocks from the main street in Blowing Rock. The room was very clean however very small. The bathroom was very small but looks nice and clean. The grounds were nicely landscaped. I would recommend this for the money because of the location.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool nor fitness center. It is a small motel that looks like it has been reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azalea96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpinevillageinn, Manager at Alpine Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Would like to let everyone know that we have standard rooms,deluxe rooms and suites. Obviously the standard low price rooms are going to be smaller and are priced accordingly like every other hotel. Our Deluxe rooms and suites are very spacious and have jacuzzis, fireplaces and kitchenettes. Feel free to experience these clean spacious rooms on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Rooms are nice and comfy and in walking distance of historic downtown Blowing Rock. Charles & Katherine Smid are gracious hosts and feel like family! They told us of interesting places to eat and "the boys" Max & Harley are fun to hang out with! The cleaning staff, Margie and Patsy were very friendly and do a great job keeping the rooms clean. The linens are top notch!

We will definitely be back again soon!
Beth & Glenda

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BShocked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
650 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
0.2 mi away
The Village Inns Of Blowing Rock: The Ridgeway Inn
0 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Village Inn

Address: 297 Sunset Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-7206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: £55 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alpine Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Village Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing