We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,728 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 787 helpful votes
“A very good hotel”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I have always considered that Holiday Inn "Express" hotels are likely to be at the cheap end of the Holiday Inn chain, and would therefore be rather more basic in terms of rooms etc. Certainly as far as this hotel is concerned I was wrong. Our room was a good size, well furnished and very comfortable. The public areas are also well furnished and the hotel also has a pool.
The front desk staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful. A complementary breakfast is supplied, which included eggs, sausage, pancakes cereals, fruit, toast etc. It was all perfectly adequate and my only criticism is that the dining room is rather small, so it can be difficult to get a seat. While we were there it was very busy and I must compliment the young lady who was running the place. She worked incredibly hard to keep the various items restocked and did so with good grace and humour.
The hotel is not actually in the centre of Blowing Rock, so if you want to walk into town it will take you about 30 minutes. Ask at the desk and they will give you directions that will take you through pleasant, residential back streets.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    170
    89
    25
    8
See reviews for
178
170
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We chose this hotel because it was it allows pets and the price was right. We will definitely stay there again. However, the town of Blowing Rock had problems with the water supply on Saturday which put the laundry behind. This was not the hotel's problem, but it caused us not to be able to check in until 4pm. The staff was very friendly and promptly offered us a map and food/drink recommendations nearby. I didn't rate it a 5 because I couldn't regulate the A/C. It was either hot or freezing. But, I didn't call that's my problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherryj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel is a good choice for families. It's got a pretty nice size indoor pool, although it can get busy. A decent hot breakfast buffet is included (although it gets very crowded and hectic). It's reasonably clean, although notprfect. You can't walk to the downtown area of blowing rock, but it's only a short drive. The employees are all very friendly and helpful. I wouldrecomme d that you request a room on the second or third floor as the first floor seemed to smell a bit damp and it's near the pool, so perhaps a bit noisy!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellebarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We recently stayed here with our two children (6 and 11 months) for one night. The room was very nice and clean. There was ample space to set up our pack n play for the baby. I am very picky about where we stay since our daughter has health issues, and I would absolutely stay here again. They give you a sheet with a list of restaurants where you can get 10% off your meal by showing your keycard. We chose Woodlands BBQ, which is right next door. FANTASTIC place to eat with variety! The breakfast in the morning included bacon, pancakes, biscuits and gravy, and eggs in addition to the usual cereal and pastries. The location is about 5-10 minutes from downtown Blowing Rock. Would highly recommend if you don't mind that it isn't a "Mom & Pop" kind of place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Blowing Rock, NC. We are excited about our area restaurant partnership which passes great discounts to our guests. I am so happy that you had a great stay and consider our hotel a "Great Place to Stay". We look forward to having you back at our hotel. Sincerely, Ben McKethan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Hotel was nice and a good price for the area. Free breakfast was pretty standard, but always good when travelling with children. Fitness center didn't have much, but there is a very nice area around Bass Lake to go walk or run that is a 5 minute drive. Not much in walking distance because roads are very curvy and have no shoulder to walk on. So you have to drive to town, and I see this being a problem during busy times because parking was a mess. Lots of restaurants nearby, and the Canyons just up the road had a great patio with nice view. Pizza at Mellow Mushroom in town was also great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melindajirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Blowing Rock, NC. I wanted to let you know that Blowing Rock is opening a new Parking Deck on October 1st. That will give us 2 Parking Decks that are just off Main Street. That will be a great addition to the Downtown area for our guests. Mellow Mushroom is one of my favorites places for Pizza. I am so happy that you had a great stay and consider our hotel a "Great Value". We look forward to having you back at our hotel. Sincerely, Ben McKethan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanch, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We (my Brother and I) just got back from a trip to the Blowing Rock/Grandfather Mountain area. We stayed overnight in Blowing Rock at the Holiday Inn Express in Blowing rock. When we got there the people at the front desk greeted us as we walked in. They were very nice. We got our key cards and went to our room. We were pleased to see a clean room. We got a room with two queen beds. The beds were comfy and clean. The room had a fridge and microwave along with a little coffee maker. The bathroom was Clean as well with modern decor and a hair drier. Plenty of towls and soap too. The a/c in the room worked great and was quite. We watched Blade Runner with Harrsion Ford on the HD flat screen TV and then quickly feel asleep. We checked out early because we wanted to get a good jump on the day. We left with a very good impression of the hotel and would stay there again!!! The hotel is close to many places to eat too and not far from anything. A really good all around spot. To sum it up a nice place to stay for a fair price. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SirPorkchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Holly, NC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Great place . Very friendly and helpful staff. Got into room 2 hours before check-in. Beautiful rooms.....lobby.....breakfast area....and media room. Breakfast was hot and had choices. Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Blowing Rock, NC. I am glad that you were able to check-in to the hotel early so you could start enjoying your vacation early. We are always very happy to offer this to our guests, however we ask that you call us on the way up the Mountain (828)295-4422 so we can be ready for your early arrival. I am so happy that you had a great stay and that you "Loved our Hotel". We look forward to having you back at our hotel. Sincerely, Ben McKethan General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.7 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
355 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
232 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Address: 8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9052
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The High Country's newest hotel! Our beautiful newly renovated rooms include two queen beds, one king bed, as well as deluxe rooms all with flat-screen HDTVs, microwaves and refrigerators. Stop by in the morning to enjoy our complimentary Smart Start Hot Breakfast. Available every day, the breakfast bar offers our world famous cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, gravy biscuits, Pancakes and more! We also have an indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center all available to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing