We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Convenient to downtown and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Nice, clean, friendly staff, nice free morning breakfast, coffee in the room, comfortable beds, nice large TV, free wifi, PC in lobby, lots of parking, gym

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wff5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

In town for a college football weekend. First time in this area and I read previous reviews that this location was very close to Boone and cheaper than Boone so we went with it. It was close- maybe 10 minutes. On football weekends we normally do not spend a lot of time at hotels but when we get there we are tired and welcome a nice room. Nice clean hotel, quick/efficient check in, clean rooms, comfortable bed, and a very nice breakfast on Sunday morning before we started our travel back to Georgia. The breakfast area was busy, but the staff very attentive to keep area stocked and cleaned up. Would definitely stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEtraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We recently returned from the Boone/Blowing Rock area. We based our visit at this hotel. We found our room to be clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel staff were very nice and attentive. Road construction in front of the hotel was our only inconvenience but we quickly learned how to avoid it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fallcolorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our trip down the blue ridge parkway and we enjoyed this hotel. The room was clean with a nice comfy bed with a nice flat panel LG television. The hotel is about 2 miles or so from the Blue Ridge Parkway. Make sure you keep your eyes peeled when driving to this hotel as it does not look like a typical Holiday Inn...it blends in with the area and has more of a "chalet" look to it - we almost passed it. The staff was friendly and welcoming when we checked in. Free breakfast is included a good variety - muffins, fruit, cereal, juice, coffee, toast, eggs, biscuits& gravy, pancakes, and canadian bacon. The hotel is pretty close to a couple of restaurants, you can walk to them if you want. The downtown shops are close too, not walking distance close but a short drive away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us . I am pleased to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable and you enjoyed the breakfast we offered. I will pass your kind words along to the staff. Thanks again for staying with us we truly appreciate it.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Room was clean, smelled nice and is convenient to several restaurants. Super close to town and the Blue Ridge Parkway which was a big bonus for us. Breakfast was well stocked each morning of our stay regardless of the time we visited. All employees we encountered were friendly and helpful. There is construction on the rod in front of the hotel right now which makes getting there trickier, but not a fault of the hotel. Only issue was the pool. It was cold. We have a five year old that after getting in even commented on the temperature. We made him get out after he started shivering. Because of this we didn't swim the rest of our stay which was quite a bummer. Met a maintenance worker in the elevator that asked about the pool water temp and after our son said it was cold the worker apologized so maybe this is a frequent problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back to be away from possible road noise.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacy0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Clean and modern hotel in Blowing Rock. Walking distance to 3-4 restaurants, but you will need to drive to get downtown to the shops on Main. Breakfast is standard continental offerings with a good variety. Beds and room were comfortable and quiet as well as clean. This is the only chain hotel in Blowing Rock, all others are motels and B&B's and some are closer in to Main St.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Celticsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thak you for your review of our hotel. we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to hear your enjoyed the area and found our hotel clean and comfortable.
Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it.
Hop0e to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel is about half way on Blue Ridge Parkway. The city is adorable and a must see. It is close to 2 BBQ restaurants. The hotel is right off the main road. Room was clean and comfy. Breakfast was good and more than just tools and cereal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.7 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
362 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Address: 8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9052
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range: £57 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The High Country's newest hotel! Our beautiful newly renovated rooms include two queen beds, one king bed, as well as deluxe rooms all with flat-screen HDTVs, microwaves and refrigerators. Stop by in the morning to enjoy our complimentary Smart Start Hot Breakfast. Available every day, the breakfast bar offers our world famous cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, gravy biscuits, Pancakes and more! We also have an indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center all available to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing