We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quick, Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Clean, Quick, Okay”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel had some pluses and minuses, but was okay for a medium cost overnight stay. Check-in was quick even if not warm and friendly, the rooms were clean and spacious and the fitness center was fine. The downside was the crowded and perhaps limited breakfast - but it was "free", so it is hard to say it was not good value for money.

We would stay there again if we were in the area again, but otherwise not think of it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanMarco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
San Marco2

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback and will use it for training and retraining the staff in areas where you feel we can use some improvement. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again if your travels bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    168
    87
    25
    8
See reviews for
175
168
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

my stay FAILED to live up to EVEN a low STANDARD. This was the hotel picked for a wedding party...bad decision. The location and site were unattractive AT BEST. The hotel is very dated, the rooms are subpar, the bathrooms have issues, the hotel is not very clean....it is dirty, and the free breakfast is the worst food I have ever eaten. And, the breakfast area, like the rest of the hotel in which to stay....choose one of them.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmithAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
SmithAtlanta

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're sorry you had a poor experience with regards to the cleanliness of your room, and the breakfast was not to your satisfaction. We truly wish we had the opportunity to know about the issues you were experiencing when they happened, as we could have taken the opportunity to rectify the problems and made you more comfortable. We hope you will reconsider staying with us some other time so that we can provide you with the expectations you deserve as a loyal guest.Again, that you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our guest feedback is invaluable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lobby area seemed unkempt and appeared to need a good cleaning. Not what we were hoping for upon arrival. Asked for quiet room. Location on backside was fine but one fellow patron was lacking good manners and tried to impress whomever might listen with their LOUD AND UNTALENTED singing in the hallway each time (3) he visited the ice machine. Room phone was partially disassembled by earlier guest/child and I was attacked by the gathering dust bunnies of possibly another era behind our bedside stand while attempting to reassemble and call the front desk. Otherwise, on the surface our room appeared clean enough though now suspect.
Breakfast was pretty generous but typically crowded with poor logistics. With too few tables placed too close together for supersized people in the confined space, some stood in a pretty lengthy line. Others took their provisions elsewhere. Most people appeared to take it in stride and just continue to bump into each other. We decided that coffee, milk and yoghurt were plenty for us and quickly moved onward. For families on a budget this may be a good option. Kids love cereal and the pancake machine. But for business, quiet older folks and couples I think there are better choices in the area.

Room Tip: good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Steve M

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good impression of our hotel. We truly try to make sure that every guest has an enjoyable stay with us, but it appears that we did not do so in your experience. This time of year we do have a lot of families staying with us and the breakfast can get busy when we are trying to feed 400+ people and normally we get lots of great compliments on the breakfast and the vast selections we offer. Once again I apologize that you did not have a great experience with us. If your travels bring you back to the area please give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We booked a room here last minute for a quick weekend getaway. Even though Hotel was full, it was quiet, clean and well-kept. Indoor Pool made my daughter happy. Everyone was helpful and we couldn't have been more pleased. Excellent value for our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Steve M

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good impression of our hotel. We truly try to make sure that every guest has an enjoyable stay with us, but it appears that we did not do so in your experience. This time of year we do have a lot of families staying with us and the breakfast can get busy when we are trying to feed 400+ people and normally we get lots of great compliments on the breakfast and the vast selections we offer. Once again I apologize that you did not have a great experience with us. If your travels bring you back to the area please give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Decide to visit Blowing Rock again for the second time this month. Our first stay at the Holiday Inn Express was fantastic. Our return stay was so so. Our room was not prepared to meet the requested standards. We need a room that is free of sprays that are used to freshen the room. This was not done. The allergies that we have require that this process be taken and it was not. I was in a chair lobby all night. The desk clerk the next morning said he was sorry but the new girl cleaning the room had ignored the pre-request. The clerk offered me nothing more than a sorry about that. I doubt that we will use Holiday Express again. Travelers take heed that this is the policy. You will not get what you requested and your out on the limb. Stuck in BR.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Richard
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I apologize that the housekeepers used a fragrance in the room. We try to accommodate all request that the guest make and I apologize that we did not do this in your case. I apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you and your family. I hope you will give us another try because we do try accommodate all guest to the best of our ability. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Comparable to most Hampton Inns, except slightly better breakfast, and less expensive: Up to date room, clean, with microwave, mini-frig, etc. Also, we liked finding a washable, light weight comforter and bedspread. Only downside was mild musty order when entering room because they don't leave AC units on. This quickly dissipated when AC was turned on. This value will draw us back to the beautiful NC mountains for great recreation.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrissandyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Chrissandyr

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you thought the room was clean and a great value for the money. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Pretty good place for the money. The front desk was efficient and friendly. Very nice breakfast, but a little crowded. The bed was comfortable and the room was nice. The bathroom was also clean. My family may stay here again the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superman2177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
superman 1277

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I am also pleased to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.7 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
349 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Address: 8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9052
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The High Country's newest hotel! Our beautiful newly renovated rooms include two queen beds, one king bed, as well as deluxe rooms all with flat-screen HDTVs, microwaves and refrigerators. Stop by in the morning to enjoy our complimentary Smart Start Hot Breakfast. Available every day, the breakfast bar offers our world famous cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon, gravy biscuits, Pancakes and more! We also have an indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center all available to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing