We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westglow Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadowbrook Inn(Blowing Rock)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxwood Lodge(Blowing Rock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
119
19
12
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
19
12
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrelaxation roomrelais chateauxsteam roomthe main housemorning hikeguided hikeviews of the mountainsgreat massagethe claw foot tubwater aerobics classbeautiful mansionconstructive criticismshower curtainwonderful birthdayworkout areanorth carolinathe entire property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The main house and property are beautiful. It would be a magnificent home to own; however, as a luxury getaway it falls short by a lot. The food is good, but limited and lunch is only available if you reserve a spot at the spa. Breakfast has limited hours so if you want to sleep in on the weekend and enjoy a relaxing breakfast forget about it. As for dinner, the host tells you upon check-in that seating is "first come, first serve" with limited seating containing a view. My wife and I were first for dinner and in fact had to wait for the kitchen to open. When that time came we were not asked about seating, but were told we were sitting in the library, which has no view and is next to all the bar traffic. It appears as local diners are given preference, while paying guests are relegated to overflow areas (apparently even when the restaurant is empty as in our case).

The "cedar lodge" portion of the property, where we were, is 2 star at best. The bed is nice, but the rest is 80s or 90s decor and the patio furniture is in desperate need of care, gray and weathered. Now with the comfy bed we were looking forward to sleeping in; however, were greeted at 8AM with concrete saws and pounding for hours.

The Spa has a nice two level balcony for sitting and relaxing; however, given the rainy year they are not as useful. The backup plan is the nice relaxation room, which has great views, but you cannot use it, even as a paying guest, unless you sign up for extra spa services. This is not explained when you register, in fact you are told the Spa is yours to use as you would your home, but in reality that is not true.

The staff is friendly and the main house area is beautiful, but it lacks the overall service level standard at 4 or 5 star properties. As someone who spends 140 nights per year in hotels for work and vacation I have a strong basis for my evaluation. I presented my concerns to our server at dinner (after giving her a 40% tip) and hoped to hear from someone, but no one cared enough to follow up.

Room Tip: Do NOT select the cedar lodge because it has construction noise and limited views as well as needs updating.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MDM1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear MDM1414:

We are truly sorry about your experience at Westglow. We regret that our management team did not have the opportunity to address your concerns while you were here. Since you have chosen to post your comments here, we will respond here as well.

Regarding reservations at the restaurant, all guests are treated equally, whether they are "local diners" or travel from long distances. When we take a dinner reservation if a guest has a specific table request (or any other request) we are happy to oblige. There is absolutely no preferential treatment, other than ALL guests are treated with preference. Had you informed your server prior to your seating of a preferred location, we would have been delighted to honor your request if at all possible.

Your comments regarding the Cedar Lodge are a matter of personal preference. The interior of our Cedar Lodge was updated in 2012 and reflects a more rustic, mountain design vocabulary. It is not intended to be the same design as our more formal manor house. Guests that reserve the Cedar Lodge prefer privacy and a true mountain landscape. We apologize for the construction noise you experienced, please know the noise is from a private residence not affiliated with our resort.

We have tried to determine who would have told you the relaxation lounge in our Life Enrichment Center was off limits and have asked each and every employee working throughout your visit with us. All of them are aware that all of our spa facilities are open to all guests we have on property, with the exception of those booking last-minute “a la carte” spa appointments. We are not sure where the miscommunication may have occurred, but do regret you were unable to use this wonderful space.

All of our guests are encouraged to communicate any concerns directly to the General Manager. He, along with numerous other managers, are always accessible day and night. Please know had any of them been made aware of these issues, they would have been promptly addressed to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I recently returned from my second visit to Westglow. I liked it so much the first visit in 2012, prebooked second visit and added additional night for second stay. First visit was outstanding!!!!! Second not so much. Subtle differences but differences none the less. All ratings spa included averaged about 95 96 or 97 for poolside cafe as well. Barbacide in the lounge for hair combs and brushes is not 5 star. Food at poolside cafe was not hot when served except for the salmon. Staff often addressed or served me last (three of us) unless I was the only one present. There was apparently a question about how to split our gratuity for dinner one night which should have been 33 (11 each). It was changed from 33 to 35 and I got the extra 5 on my bill with no justification. Still prebooked for next year and invited my sister even though there was a significant price increase but went back to 2 nights. Pondering still and even though there is a cost for cancelations my threesome that is suppose to be a foursome next year may be a twosome without me and my sister.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ontheroad247rdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Westglow. We are truly sorry your second visit didn't live up to your first. We would like to respond to your comments:

1. Our use of Barbicide to sterilize combs in our spa/salon area is the industry recognized standard. Cleanliness is of the utmost importance at our resort and we believe this is the most sanitary way of cleaning all combs.

2. We apologize that the food temperature at lunch wasn't to your preference. Our chef has been made aware of your concerns and it will be properly addressed.

3. We cannot imagine why your dinner gratuity and division wasn't per your instructions. We believe this may have been an unfortunate oversight by your server and had you brought it to our attention while on property it would have been immediately remedied.

4. You are correct we have had to increase our rate structure this year. The cost of providing the level of service and amenities our resort offers has risen significantly in recent years and we, like many of our peer properties, have had to make adjustments in our fees and rates. We continue to believe we represent an excellent value when compared to other Relais and Chateaux properties and our fellow top ten Travel & Leisure resort properties. This modest increase in our fees will allow us to maintain the highest level of service and amenities.

Again, we thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Spent long 4th of July weekend with girlfriend and had amazing spa and culinary experiences. The views from the spa and the Manor house were awe inspiring and Rowland's and the spa lunch were high cuisine. The guided hike was top notch and the steam and jacuzzi were a needed therapy. My girlfriend tried three different spa treatments among family that came to visit and all were impressed. I give Westglow 5 stars.

Room Tip: Not about the rooms it's about the outdoors go on the 9am. 5 mile hike.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cloverinboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We hope to see you back again at Westglow soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We loved celebrating the 4th of July as performers with the legendary entertainer Ben Vereen at Westglow Spa & Resort! We can't say enough about the superb staff and owners Bonnie & Julie Schaefer. The historic mansion was stunning with it's elegant decor and spacious rooms. Dining at Rowland's Restaurant was exceptional with a menu that suited our love of culinary cuisine that reflected our healthy foodie habits. The Spa was also run by an accommodating staff that specialized in making our experience memorable. The private concert was attended by 200 invited guests and the fireworks went off in spite of the forecast. Our thanks to everyone on the staff who helped to make our stay so special!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alohaspirit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you so much for your great review! We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Just returned from a visit (June 30). Although we were there only one night, we had full use of the spa and took several exercise classes and had lunch by poolside. The service was excellent. The food was also very good. The only negative would be the mattresses in our room. We had twin beds and we did not sleep very well as they were very uncomfortable. I certainly would return and stay longer.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a double or queen bed. Room 14A has twin beds, and I thought the mattresses were uncomfortable. Although the room is very nice...large and has doors that go out on the big balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KashiCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your review. Based on your observation of the bedding set in the room in which you stayed, we have replaced it. Thank you again, and hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews