We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception brochure is smoke and mirrors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westglow Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wedding reception brochure is smoke and mirrors”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I went to the Westglow site. The information I read in the brochure and the photo on the cover is a bit of smoke and mirrors. The portico that is shown does not...reveal the 500 ft straight drop. It was photoshopped out. They did not mention that if I wanted the reception ones has to rent out the entire mansion of six rooms at 6500 USD. Renting the outside is 2500 USD and then the tent with tables and chairs is an extra 4500USD. They refused to show me the bedrooms. The downstairs ladies room was not decorated as the rest of the house. It was small, covered in advertisement and reminded me of a bathroom at gas station. The other rooms were decorated on the main floor was by an 4 star furniture store.

The work out too was impressive with lots of machines. The pool was not quite large enough for laps unless one like to push off of one side and end up at the other. You don't even have to hold your breath or get your hair wet. Maybe that is the idea.



The view of the mountain was gorgeous . Was the 14500USD REALLY worth the cost of a view? To make it more unimpressive, was the arrogance of the wedding coordinator who wanted to make sure we did it disrupt guests who were not there.

Room Tip: Have not a clue. They refused to show a room. Unless one is filthy rich and wants to spend money on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jogtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
When we receive the occasional negative review such as this we are distressed. We do our very best to accommodate each guests' wishes and be truthful, comprehensive, and correct in our marketing materials, whether its in our brochures or on our website. Our setting is located in the mountains of North Carolina, and for people used to a "lowlands" settings it can be quite breathtaking, and most are appreciative of the sweeping views. Rest assured there are no vertical drops. Given the boutique size of our property, we do require reserving all guests rooms for weddings to give the wedding party complete use of the property. Westglow becomes their private estate for their special day. We apologize we didn't meet your expectations and wish you well in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    14
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
68
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Enjoyed my experience at Westglow but did not find the rooms to be worthy of the price point. The bathroom area, especially, didn't provide adequate space for personal items nor did it provide the products that should have been included i.e. cotton swabs, cotton balls, etc. Also believe that as a hotel guest, the a la carte prices for spa services were totally out of line and chose not to use the facility's services except for a facial because of that reason. Most services were double the price offered to members. Really? Found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Would I return, probably not. There just wasn't a great "feel" about the experience for me. I felt "closed in" in the facility, more so than other small resorts I have had the pleasure of being a guest. Can't put my finger on it, but I would suggest that it is all in one's perception of what one expects. Cannot speak for the restaurant's fare, since I chose to visit restaurants in the Blowing Rock area which afforded a less intimate dining experience yet provided fresh local offerings on their menus.

Room Tip: Room that has a balcony or access to balcony would be a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. In our historic Manor House, the bathrooms associated with the guest rooms are period correct. This was done to preserve the historical integrity of the Manor House. Our guest rooms are fitted with the finest Molton Brown toiletries and the items you mention (cotton balls, etc.) are always just a telephone call away. We pride ourselves on outstanding service to our guests and we would have been delighted to address any concerns or needs when you were here. We wish you the very best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

very remote. It is one hour drive from the neares airport. It is truly a plce to just relaaaaaaax! This spa is topnotch and not for everyone because of it's exprense. You come away as if you were on vacation for weeks. Better than a cruise! Shhhhhhhhh, don't tell anyone this.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ADRIENNE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Thank you so much for your review comments. Yes, we are somewhat remote from the hectic pace of the big cities, but a short ten minute drive from the charming village of Blowing Rock, North Carolina, voted "North Carolina's prettiest town" by the readers of Southern Living Magazine. And less than a two hour drive to Charlotte and it's international airport, connecting you directly to every major US city. Truly the best of all worlds! We hope you'll come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at westglow as part of our honeymoon - we picked it based on our enjoyment of relais chateaux brand elsewhere. While it's good on food and spa, accommodation was a let down and it's fair to say it lacks the charm of the best relais and chateaux we have visited in the past.

Staff: 7/10
One of the hallmarks of our high quality experiences in relais and chateaux is the attention to detail and charm of the staff. In the restaurant and spa this was very much the case. If we changed one thing it would be the entrance hall where the front desk and valets stand - part of the problem is over crowding as at times two front desk staff and two valets gathered in the relatively small space make it feel cramped and we had the sense they didn't have enough to keep them busy: we experienced a couple of awkward moments with the front desk staff giggling as we walked out - I'm sure it was unfortunate timing rather than them laughing at us but it was uncomfortable and just came across as rather unprofessional. The general manner of the front desk was friendly but at times felt like it was verging on being insincere and overly familiar; for all the pleasantries, this was the first hotel we had stayed at during our honeymoon where they didn't make any real acknowledgement of us being on honeymoon (eg others did hand written cards, balloons, champagne or special desert). Further in a six bed hotel the fact the managers welcome note is printed is also somewhat symbolic of the slight lack of personal care and attention to detail. These are picky points but things I think you can reasonably expect when you pay relais & chateaux prices. If this was the first one we had been to we would not have such a strong affinity for the brand as we do. We wondered if there might be a cultural difference (we are European) but having enjoyed Rancho Valencia on the west coast of the us which is fabulous we suspect not.

Location: 8/10
Set on the blue ridge parkway the location is beautiful and the local town blowing rock is charming - we could never tire of the sunsets and the smell of the forest not to mention the amazing home made fudge and ice cream at kelwins. Somehow I feel they haven't made as much of the location as they might have done - perched on top of a hill with 360 views too much of our view was occupied by a concrete parking lot and outbuildings. Not something that is going to change any time soon but design could have been laid out more sympathetically to the landscape. Though you are in a beautiful spot, the road is closer than you would ideally like it and passing cars serve as a reminder.

Accommodation: 7/10
The hotel has to work with the historical building which it's fair to say is somewhat of a limitation. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are smaller still - we had room 10/11 which has a nice balcony for evening sunsets but slightly odd setup where you have a single bed in an adjoining room where you keep luggage as main room is so small. Other rooms looked bigger. Baths are particularly awkward with those horrible shower curtains that are a necessary evil in such arrangements. The spa shower facilities across the road are great but always nice if you can relax in your room. The linen, mattresses etc are all good quality as you would expect

Facilities: 9/10
The highlight was undoubtedly the spa where we each experienced the best massage we have ever had in our lives (thank you jerry and liz - wish we could take out back to the uk with us!). The relaxation room is not to be missed with its stunning views and fine overlooking the mountains.We also enjoyed the schedule of fitness classes on offer.

Food: 8/10
The fine dining experience at rowlands was very good - they make a big thing of using local produce which we liked. There is a surprising discrepancy in the quality of food at breakfast (limited range and good but not great) and the evening. Blowing rock has some nice restaurants when you feel like a change or more casual dining experience

Value: 7/10
I don't think the accommodation justifies the price. Furthermore the spa offers different rates for members of the spa vs a la carte - the difference is almost double - I found it odd that guests of the hotel were not treated as honorary members and found the a la carte rates offensively expensive relative to the member rates - really rubs it in your face that you are paying a lot!

Overall: 7/10
While it was by no means a bad experience, with the benefit of hindsight for our honeymoon I would probably just have dropped in for the spa and a meal and found alternative accommodation because I don't think the offering lives up to what we have come to expect from relais and chateaux or the price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Congratulations on your marriage and best wishes for a happy and healthy life together. We were delighted that you spent a portion of your time with us and sincerely appreciate the detailed review you have provided. We take your comments seriously and, where appropriate, have taken corrective measures. We hope you appreciated the special touches we provided to you during your stay. Should your travels bring you back to the US, we hope you will include Westglow in your schedule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I recently had the pleasure of visiting Westglow Resort & Spa with a friend. We were looking for some “down time.” Westglow is so peaceful. It fit the bill perfectly! After our visit, we were both refreshed!

Before we arrived, the staff patiently worked with me to plan out our spa treatments, meals, and morning hike. After we arrived, we needed to make a few changes to our spa times that were flawlessly executed. We enjoyed our spa treatments and also enjoyed yoga and meditation classes.

Our room was lovely and spotless; our view breathtaking, and all staff members are so pleasant and accommodating. I know a hotel cannot guarantee pleasant guests, but the other guests we meet there were delightful!

I have food allergies and the chef made it a point to personally talk to me and assure me that my food would be prepared with care. The chef went out of his way to get the ingredients to make me allergy free muffins – that were delicious!

My friend and I plan to return. I am going back for the muffins … thank you to all the staff at Westglow for providing us with a respite in the mountains.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeGe2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are glad we provided you the peaceful haven you were seeking during your stay. Winter is an especially good time to visit our property as the pace of life slows dramatically during the colder months. It's a great time to bring your favorite book and curl up in front of the fire. We are glad you came to stay with us and look forward to your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I love visiting West Glow Spa in the summertime. The grounds are peaceful and beautiful. The services are always wonderful. I usually get a massage and facial and am never disappointed. They also offer salon services and have had great pedicures and manicures. The relaxation room has a huge window that overlooks the mountains. I could just stay in there all day. Definitely worth a visit if you are vacationing in the mountains!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matika88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Thanks for your great review! We appreciate your positive comments and thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience. We hope you'll come back soon and look forward to many visits in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our summer home is twenty minutes from Westglow. I always make time for the spa and the manny offerings here. I've visited many spas, over the years, and this is the cleanest, most peaceful and most beautiful. The services are all wonderful. Although I've never spent the night, I have seen rooms and they are charming. The food in the spa is healthy and tasty. Rowland's, it's restaurant, is delicious ! Views are majestic!

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are just right
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westglow224, General Manager at Westglow Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Thanks for your continued visits to Westglow and for taking the time to write of your experiences. Since you're so close by, we think you should treat yourself to an evening away and stay with us in our Manor House and have dinner at Rowland's. You'll find it hard to go back home! We are happy to have guests like you and look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
3.2 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
451 reviews
2.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
356 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
2.1 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
116 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westglow Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westglow Resort & Spa

Property: Westglow Resort & Spa
Address: 224 Westglow Cir, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-8100
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westglow Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Westglow Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westglow Resort And Spa
Westglow Hotel Blowing Rock
Westglow Spa Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing