We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveller rating
412
199
63
31
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
199
63
31
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbob timberlakebedroom condopaddle boatsoverlooking the lakeindoor poolping pongbeautiful groundsbreakfast buffetrec centerfly fishinglodge roomsmoses conetanger outletsget awaychristmas lightshiking trailswood burning fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 718 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I went to Chetola a few weeks ago for an adult weekend away. It was an amazing experience. Chetola doesn't feel like a big resort. There are clearly plenty of condos and room options available, but it retains the feel of a quaint country Inn. It was very quiet (clearly the down-time in Blowing Rock), which was exactly what we were looking for. The walk around the lake is beautiful and peaceful, the lights around the resort make the atmosphere magical, and the fire pit overlooking the lake allowed us to have some terrific evening discussions over coffee. The staff was also spectacular, and the restaurant will not disappoint. We couldn't have asked for more. I would guess that it gets busier during other times of the year, but I couldn't imagine it not still being super charming.

With that being said, this resort is also designed with families in mind. Condos provide more space, the pool area also has table tennis, free movie rentals with snacks, a nice workout room, the SPA!, yoga classes, and a there's a playground for the kids. There is plenty of area to run, beautiful swans to watch, and laundry facilities. We also noted that a business center and conference rooms are there, but the business center doesn't have outlets for laptops - the only real negative I could find (but that is important sometimes). High speed internet was good throughout the resort.

I would also like to note that the Foggy Rock Eatery is just down the street and the menu is out of this world!

Room Tip: Inn rooms are just above the restaurant and have a lake view. The Lodge rooms are just behind the restaurant. Rooms in the lodge on the front side of the bldg have a lake view with balconies, but the back side of the bldg has a parking lot view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbsmithfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the Inn and we had another wonderful time. The staff is attentive and the accommodations are perfect for a weekend getaway. You can choose to enjoy quiet solitude and never leave your room, or enjoy the amenities of the resort, and explore the Blowing Rock area and all it has to offer.

The Inn offers a nightly wine and cheese social, a complementary pantry (Coffee, bottled water, soft drinks, ice cream), fresh baked cookies delivered to your room each night, and the option of in room breakfast or buffet breakfast at Timberlake's restaurant located on the 1st floor of the Inn. Inn guests also have a private staircase entrance directly to the restaurant/pub.

Chetola is the perfect base camp for exploring the Blowing Rock area. If you enjoy the outdoors, Moses Cone Memorial Park is mere footsteps from the resort grounds with numerous trails and a 360 degree view atop the fire tower. Downtown Blowing Rock is within walking distance and offers many unique shops and places to eat (Grab a bison burger and a flight of craft beers at the Blowing Rock Brewery).

The Blue Ridge Parkway is right next door to the resort for a wonderful scenic drive. Linville Falls, Linville Caverns, Wiseman's Gap are all within a short trip from Chetola. You can even take in a mini wine tour from one of the High Country area vineyards (Lineville Falls Winery, Grandfather Vineyards, Banner Elk Winery, 1861 Farmhouse Winery). If you get bored or can't relax and unwind at Chetola, it is your own fault!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreepingFig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I visited Chetola last weekend for the first time, and it won't be our last. We stayed in the lodge and the queen lake view room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and had dinner there one evening. The food was delicious and service excellent. We both visited the spa, my husband in the gym and sauna, and I had a massage. While there we learned that Chetola means "haven of rest" in Cherokee language, and we certainly think the resort is correctly named.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoVonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I just returned from our wonderful weekend stay. Our room was a king balcony lake view room and it was very nicely appointed, comfortable and very clean. We bought a Groupon and were not disappointed. The lodge was beautiful and the close proximity to the town of Blowing Rock was a plus. The customer service was excellent! We had a slight issue with food being over cooked from the dining room which was remedied immediately and to our satisfaction. Every employee we encountered at the lodge was friendly, polite and very helpful. Most of the food items on the breakfast buffet were good, some though were rather bland, but they had an omelet / egg station that made up for this. All in all we had a wonderful stay and would recommend this lodge to others.

Room Tip: Ask for corner balcony room with lake view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentTravelers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We went for a quick weekend trip and our condo was comped for us as a favor. Our condo had a great view, plenty of room, but was a bit dated. (Early 90's decor) I believe the condo's are individually owned, so decor can vary. We had a wonderful dinner at the Timberlake Restaurant on the property and service was fabulous. The bar is a bit small and not real inviting for being in the mountains. I would expect a huge fireplace, with comfortable seating.

Room Tip: Ask what the decor is for the particular condo you are interested in.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dsellersski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews