We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be bettered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Couldn't be bettered”
Reviewed 2 July 2005

We stayed here for 6 days while attending Merlefest. The setting is breathtaking, and the hotel itself was very comfortable. Our room was clean and spacious. The staff were especially friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone looking for a peaceful vacation in the N Carolina countryside.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BarrieAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    178
    58
    20
    10
See reviews for
219
250
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2005

Our family of four stayed at a 2-bedroom condo. It was snowing when we arrived and the resort was a winter wonderland by sundown. Because of the weather, we had dinner at the onsite restaurant. The staff was gracious but considering the price, the food was rather mediocre. We stayed on the lower floor of the condo and we could hear the people upstairs. The ceiling above us creaked and squeaked as they moved around late at night and as early as 3 AM! If you stay here, ask for the upper floor.

The rest of the week warmed up and we enjoyed the tennis courts all by ourselves. Wish we had more time to enjoy the hiking trail. Our best find during our stay in Blowing Rock was a restaurant called "Knight's" downtown... doesn't look like much on the outside but the food and the prices were terrific.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank RudyNReese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2004

Blowing Rock is a very nice quaint town in the middle of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Numerous area attractions. Stayed in the Chetola Resort in a condo. Condo was well maintained and very clean. The resort is very pretty and overlooks a lake. Cons: No outdoor pool; Condos are a far walk (5 min +) to main resort area and not walker friendly (i.e. no accessible and safe pedestrian paths).

Helpful?
10 Thank VincentView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 October 2003

We loved our week stay in the beautiful and relaxing smoky mountains.
Our place was wonderful, 2 bed rooms, full kitchen, whirpool, dinning area, large living room with fireplace. We enjoyed eating out on our balcony looking at the mountains. We were always given more than courteous answers to our questions, about waterfalls, hiking trails or where to go for a nights entertainment. Enjoyed hearing Applacian music and mountain men entertaining us with banjo, fiddle and singing. Only complaint was they had a charge for firewood. If you want simple not husle and busle type vacation this is for you. Lots of waterfalls. I even found some crystals and beautiful stones when I climbed some smaller falls and rocks. Boone which is close by is also neat town.
Spent a day at Art in the Park in Blowing Rock. Sorry I didn't know about the Jazz festival going on. I just wanted to spend most of my time enjoying the beauty of Chetola and the mountains Jeanne

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 October 2003

We drove in from Knoxville, TN. and got mixed up with Detours (not clearly marked) so were driving thru mountains at night which was a little scary, however, we arrived about 11 p.m. and front desk was very courteous and understanding and helped us unload our luggage. We had a lovely view of the lake - room was spacious with refrigerator, bar and sink, which we enjoyed. Very comfortable - lovely outside patio for lunch or dinner. Very nice dining room and bar inside also. Wedding brunch was in hugh tent outside dining room - and it was wonderful served buffet style with open bar - great fun and great food! Limos took us to activities for wedding both Fri. and Sat. night which was very thoughtful as we had to move from place to place. Would love to go back and see the fall colors - would be spectacular!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 August 2003

Beautiful facility, well maintained and very courteous personel. Try and rent condos from owners directly rather than Chetola. Chetola places excessive premiums on the rental when they provide it. Many of the in-town local realtors have Chetola rental listings at 50% of what Chetola charges. We found out after we had been here for a week.

Helpful?
31 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.4 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.2 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock

Property: Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Address: 185 Chetola Lake Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock, an 87-acre resort within walking distance of a quaint mountain village, neighboring a 3,600-acre National Park and surrounded by the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western North Carolina. Enjoy first-class accommodations in Chetola's Lodge, luxury Condominiums or the Bob Timberlake Inn at Chetola Resort, as well as fine dining at Timberlake's Restaurant. Discover The Spa at Chetola Resort, our Health and Wellness programs, and the many opportunities for recreation at Chetola Lake and along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Chetola also offers exceptional meeting and conference facilities and is a favorite destination for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chetola Mountain Hotel Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort
Chetola Mountain Blowing Rock
Blowing Chetola Nc Resort Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing