We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadowbrook Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliff Dwellers Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green Park Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxwood Lodge(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westglow Resort & Spa(Blowing Rock)
US$427
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (665)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveller rating
375
191
60
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
191
60
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbob timberlakebedroom condopaddle boatsoverlooking the lakeindoor poolping pongbreakfast buffetbeautiful groundsmoses coneget awaytanger outletshiking trailsthe main lodgewood burning fireplacechristmas lightsfull kitchenbit dated
Filter
Updating list...
614 - 619 of 665 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We just came back from a week at Chetola with our extended family (all ages-grandparents through toddlers). It was wonderful. The resort was relaxing, peaceful, and quiet with plenty for everyone to do. We stayed in one of the large condos and it was impeccably decorated, clean and luxurious. We enjoyed sitting on the deck overlooking the resort, listening to the mountain birds and talking. We also took advantage of the network of walking trails around and within the resort. It was wonderful to be able to go on a hike through the woods directly from our condo without having to drive to a trailhead. The pool was warm and clean. Towels, noodles, other swim gear, a work-out center, jogging stroller rental, and a ping-pong table were available there as well. Although the pool is not outside, there was an outside lounge area for use. The multiple ponds of the resort contained fish and everyone enjoyed catching small sunfish, bass, and catfish. The grounds around the ponds were well manicured with gazebos, bridges, and “wooded paths” which were tremendous fun for the kids that were too young to fish.
We also took advantage of the small events hosted by the resort including a “bonfire” and fishing derby. We had a terrific gourmet meal at the restaurant one night. The staff was very courteous and helpful, although it was clear that some were more educated about the resort than others. There wasn’t internet access in the condo, so one had to go the main lodge, and even then access was hit-or-miss. This was frustrating for those that had some buisness to attend. However, we were there for a vacation and it was surprisingly nice to forgo the Email and internet surfing for a few days. It was a wonderful stay and I wouldn’t have changed a thing.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaysfanColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Little pricey but overall very very nice place. Condo was very comfortable. Not that far from town. Staff very helpful. Beautiful grounds. Restaurant was great for lunch and dinner. Only downside is they had one computer, really no biz center and I just read from someone else no outdoor pool.
Bottom line is that if you like blowing rock (which we do) this is the best game in town if you have a child. Very spacious 1 bedroom condo more practical then B&B's in the area

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seenybeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

The grounds are well kept and the lake is very pretty. We had a king balcony room overlooking the lake where people fished and there were pedal boats to rent. Our room was spacious and clean. We ate dinner at the Manor House restaurant and it was excellent, with a $21 three-course meal of salad/soup, entree and dessert. Breakfast buffet was included with our room rate and it was also at the Manor House. The restaurant has large windows overlooking the lake. The staff was helpful with directions and information about the surrounding area. The weather was perfect, in the 70s and cool overnight. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goingfunplaces1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We rented a four bedroom condo at Chetola for two nights. The unit was very clean, tastefully furnished, had a well stocked kitchen and was HUGE. The grounds and location are beautiful and very well maintained, and I don’t think the website photos do it justice. The only negative I can think of is that the resort is large and hilly, so if you’re unit is in one of the far out locations it really isn’t feasible to walk down to the lake or the recreation area. If you do decide to walk, I would recommend keeping your property map with you at all times b/c if you get lost (on foot) you’ll get exhausted retracing your steps. We didn’t get the chance to take advantage of many of the amenities, but I did look at the indoor pool an it was pretty big and didn’t have that muggy chlorine air you usually find with indoor pools. However, it does seem strange that there is no outdoor pool, given the size and quality of the resort. Overall, I found this to be a great resort if you want to get away, relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery and outdoors.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerlillie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

My wife and I just returned from a great weekend at the Chetola Resort in Blowing Rock, NC. Upon driving into the grounds, we immediately noticed the beauty of this resort. The scenery provided by the landscaping and the pond is incredible! We stayed in a lakeview with balcony room, which I would highly recommend. I couldn't imagine staying here without the constant treat of sitting on the balcony with a good book and a serene view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had reservations at the Manor House Restaurant during our first night there. It was so good, we went back the next night for another excellent meal and service. There is some construction going on currently as they upgrade their spa. It is supposed to be completed in Summer 2009. There were only a couple sections of the resort that were impacted by the construction... and it did not take away from our stay at all. Overall, this is a GREAT resort for a weekend getaway with your spouse!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtnhiker74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews