We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Green Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Green Park Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Great trip amazing hotel great staff,food,room everything

Room Tip: Rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luke I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

I have a soft spot for older hotels. Sometimes the experience is regretable, but more often seeking them out can provide rewarding and unique stay. The later was our experience with he Green Park Inn. It is old and quirky (the floors slant a bit in places and the elevator is, shall we say, an early model). It apparently was acquired by new owners not long ago and they are working to restore this grand hotel to what it was in its heyday. They are succeeding. Our room on the second floor was large, comfortable, and clean. They only issue we had was that the air conditioner unit was situated directly across from the bed, so we had a constant stream of cold air on us all night (and the weather was too warm not to use it). The staff was very helpful and several went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The hotel's bar is like stepping back into an earlier era. We had dinner there in a secluded corner of the antique-filled lounge area and found it excellent. Our breakfast the next morning in the dinning room was also excellent...and large. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank swriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Green Park Inn is a total delight! We stayed there for a weekend getaway and enjoyed everything about our stay. The public areas of the hotel are lovely with fresh paint, comfortable and tasteful furnishings, and many historic photographs of the hotel and her famous guests. The Divide bar is adorned with beautiful stained glass; it is well stocked with premium liquors and a remarkable wine selection. We stayed in a superior king room on the side of the hotel with a balcony overlooking Blowing Rock Golf Course. We enjoyed sitting in the green rocking chairs watching golfers during the day and the stars at night. Get a bottle of wine in the bar or with dinner and finish it up on your balcony - perfect! The bed was extremely comfortable and the North Carolina made furnishings are attractive. Wall art in the room could be updated but does go with the "vintage" decor of the hotel. Second floor hallway wallpaper has a few suitcase scrapes that need attention but overall looks updated and fresh.

Service on check in and out was quick and friendly; the bar staff is also friendly as well as being quite professional and knowledgable about wines and cocktails. Breakfast was included in our rate and was fabulous! We had homemade french toast with fresh fruit one morning and eggs and sausage the next; servers were excellent both times.

The absolute best part of our stay was dinner. We reserved the chef's table our first night and received service and food fit for royalty! We went to the Laurel Room and were led through the restaurant into the huge professional kitchen. Right in the center of the kitchen was a lovely table for two with a white tablecloth and flowers. Chef James Welch (formerly of Crippens) was our private chef and waiter for the evening. We had a four course dinner; Chef James surprised us with wonderful off-menu selections. We enjoyed seared scallops, grilled escarole, seared salmon, and a strawberry napoleon for desert. Chef James and his staff were attentive and friendly but not intrusive; it was fun to watch Chef James and his staff preparing food for us and the other diners. Thank you all for making us feel so special!

The hotel's location is convenient to downtown Blowing Rock, the outlets, and the Blue Ridge Parkway. The downside to it's convenience is being right on highway 321 and some traffic noise. The hotel is working on it's pool so unfortunately was closed when we were there in May. They do allow a few well behaved pets; our dog stayed at our local kennel so we enjoyed a late night game of fetch with the house golden retriever, "UD (Under Dog)".

The Green Park Inn and it's staff were incredibly gracious and we look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Very helpful staff and nice room. Since the rooms didn't have refrigerators, they kept some of our cold stuff in their fridge. Loved the king room and the balcony with rocking chairs. Great breakfast, too. But a breakfast room in the South that doesn't serve grits? Really! Only negative is that they are situated right next to a busy highway. It distracts from the quiet and atmosphere if you aren't used to traffic noise. We love to stay in old historic places and it was interesting. The chef is evidently hung up on chocolate, Since we stayed during the week, we looked at the menu, but ate only in the tavern one night. That was good, but steak with chocolate sauce? Didn't get that. We did the anniversary special with the couples massage. It was great, but next day, my husband's back developed a rash from the lotion he couldn't reach to scrub off in the shower. So beware if you have sensitive skin. Wine was great, though. Enjoyed our stay, but will probably stay elsewhere when we return to Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fountain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed in a king room. The bed was very comfortable. The room was very large and clean. It had a nice balcony with rocking chairs. I enjoyed sitting & looking at the view. The bathroom was clean. The closet was enormous - walk in. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We asked for extra tea and were brought a huge basket of teas to choose from. The Inn is beautiful and quaint.
Just a couple of negatives. The walls are pretty thin. So you can hear the guests in the adjoining rooms. The free breakfast was a little cheap. I love oatmeal and was very disappointed to be served a dish of tepid, runny instant oatmeal. The fruit compote topping consisted of a very, very, small selection of fresh fruit pieces. There was no brown sugar or any kind of sweetener- honey, maple syrup. Just something called table syrup! This happened 2 days in a row so the third day we gave up on our "free" breakfast and ate in the town of Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mljardaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

we stayed here while in town to do a tasting for our wedding, which happened to be Valentines weekend- so dinner was included one of the nights. the restaurant was AMAZING! Food was superb. Breakfasts took forever but the wait was worth it.
Staff was great all around...
The place is soooo old and historical- creaking floors, parts of the hotel were actually blacked out during our stay due to not a lot of people being there (literally just hallways with no lights on). And if your not a wuss- don't forget to look up the great storied behind the inn- they are quite freaky.
But I have to say one thing I loved the most- the keys. The place actually had KEYS to open doors- not stupid cards. Oh and the elevator... this place is great. You must stay there at least once!

Room Tip: 3rd floor haunted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank agape1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The public areas of this inn are spacious and charming. The breakfast room is sunny and welcoming. The bar is full of dark, detailed woodwork. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. My room was adequately updated but still had creaky, crooked floors that reminded you of the good old days.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gitane101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
650 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.1 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
377 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#8 of 16 in Blowing Rock
128 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Hillwinds Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Inn

Address: 9239 Valley Blvd, (Rte. 321), Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range: £58 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Green Park Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The graceful Victorian era hotel, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, has been lovingly and faithfully restored as of the fall of 2010. Turn back the clock to a more genteel time when exquisite attention to guest's needs, a polite, respectful and helpful staff, and an atmosphere of quiet elegance was the magnet that drew authors, poets, presidents and first ladies to the cool mountain breezes of the Green Park Inn. Come and experience our affordable elegance. When you want to spend time away, spend it somewhere that's timeless. The Chestnut Grille Restaurant is open nightly, or weekends seasonally. The Divide Tavern opens nightly at 5pm, serving casual dinner fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Green Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Park Hotel Blowing Rock
Green Park Inn
Park Inn Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing