We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Green Park Inn
Nearby Hotels
Meadowbrook Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliff Dwellers Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxwood Lodge(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westglow Resort & Spa(Blowing Rock)
US$427
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
239
165
62
29
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
239
165
62
29
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelchestnut grilleleanor rooseveltmurder mysterymade to order breakfastpiano player in the lobbyjimmy stewartstep back in timebreakfast was includednew ownersroad constructiongrand pianothe general managermodern amenitiesfront porchfrench toasthot breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My husband and I had planned a trip to Boone, NC for some time and had the trip pretty much planned and then I read about the Green Park Inn in Blowing Rock in the Fredericksburg, VA Free Lance-Star. We immediately changed our plans, I called the inn, received good guidance in deciding on a room that would be comfortable for my husband who has MS. Our room was large, comfortable, and clean with a great bed. A grab bar in the tub added to safety, towels were good and bath items quite nice. There was a balcony which would have been better without the traffic noise. The entry to the inn is attractive and the lobby lovely with furnishings made in NC. Loved the old photos displayed near the bar. Breakfast choices were good and well prepared. Dinner in the dining room was nicely done (the chef has a kitchen garden out back). We were particularly impressed with the staff in the bar and dining areas. So friendly and helpful. Checking in and out was smooth. This is an elderly facility and lots has been done to spruce it up but it continues to be a work in progress. Grateful we decided on Blowing Rock, which is next to the NC Blue Ridge Prkwy. The town is fun with the most glorious plantings of flowers and baskets everywhere. These people take pride in their hometown. Try the Village Cafe for breakfast or lunch and Kilwins for ice cream and/or fudge. Lots of cute shops. We would definitely return to the Green Park and Blowing Rock.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the older section.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Thanks so much for choosing the Green Park, and we're so happy that you enjoyed our hotel and our lovely town. Thanks especially for acknowledging our terrific staff. They all take a lot of pride in their work, and in providing an exceptional level of customer service. We'll look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I decided to surprise my wife by returning to this gem of a hotel where we spent part of our honeymoon 27 years ago. The Inn is older than my grandparents and has been wonderfully restored into a comfortable mountain retreat. Located in the mountains of western North Carolina, in an area frequented by those wanting to get away from the rush of life, this Inn has and is being lovingly restored. The rooms are fresh, clean and inviting. The staff is quite knowledgeable and friendly. The meals included a Squash Blossom appetizer, Adobo Seared Salmon, and Goat Cheese and Pecan Crusted Rack of Lamb. All of which were delicious. The staff is helpful and friendly. Yes, there is road construction close by, but this particular weekend, was not an issue. Our stay was refreshing and the Inn is a great value. Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have a balcony. Ours overlooked the Country Club golf course. The rocking chairs were quite enjoyable.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

We're so happy that we were able to help you celebrate such a wonderful occasion, and one that would bring back great memories. We're also glad that you dined with us, and enjoyed Chef James' extraordinarily creative cuisine, especially the squash blossom, which was from our very own garden. We'll look forward to welcoming you back again!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My wife and I have always been interesting in this big Rambling old Victorian Hotel each time we pass through Blowing rock. This past weekend we finally decided to stop. We stopped and asked for the cheapest rate which was around $145. Thinking that this was a bit steep, we went around and tried several of the old motel style places around town. To our suprise...The Green Park Inn had them all beat by about 20$. We were excited because we would much prefer staying in a grand old hotel from the 1880's instead of a gross old motel from the 1960's.
The staff was very kind and helpful. We enjoyed the period details such as the wood floor which you can feel under the carpeting in the hall as well as the wonderful pianist playing in the lobby. Our room although being the cheapest in the place, was very spacious. Also, no spooky feelings, or spectral visits to report of. Just a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dum-Spiro-Spero-843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thanks so much for your kind review of your stay with us. "While I breathe, I hope," that many others will follow your advice and choose to have an enjoyable stay at the Green Park Inn, and to help us to preserve this important piece of American History.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Let me first say that I read all of the Trip Advisor reviews - bad and good - and I really wanted to have an incredible stay at the Green Park Inn. Unfortunately as consumers we've all been trained to expect certain things from a restored property and the Green Park unfortunately does not deliver. Yes, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good but it's all in the stupid details - that's what makes or breaks a good hotel.

First, the bar had no cherries for a Manhatten. Yes stupid but I wanted one - The bartender told me they had thrown them out the day before so I asked why he didn't get some. He replied that he just "worked there."

Secondly, no directory of television stations in the room. An easy detail but not attended to.

Thirdly, an ac unit in the window made it impossible to open the window get fresh mountain air... yet the lack of a shade meant that the room curtains fell in front of the ac unit. It was a choice of a hot room or a room with the shades wide open.

There were two different types of enerygy saving bulbs in the lamps flanking the bed. One was a "warm" bulb (quite nice) and the other a "cool" bulb (dreadful)... again, the details.

And lastly, the new "antique" wall sconce in the bathroom was so dim that you couldn't possibly see yourself to shave.

Details, details, details. It's all in the details. The hotel needs to carefully evaluate each room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViaDent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Owner at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

We totally agree that details are important. And, most of your comments reflect our strong attention to such important details as the comfortable beds, the excellent complimentary breakfast, good value, location, sleep quality, impeccable cleanliness, all rated good by this reviewer; as well as complimentary WIFI, HDTVs, all new furniture and quality linens, and many other detail items. You then move on to other details of concern. Our hotel is one of a relative few in NC that is a certified by the State as a Green Travel Destination. However, we chose not to use the cool white CFL bulbs. One of the test bulbs apparently ended up in your room and we apologize for that. Due to our National Historic Register status, we face certain design preservation constraints that present a problem with replacing ACs in the five rooms that have window units. These are our most basic of rooms. Perhaps you didn't notice the clasp placed on the drapes in those rooms, so that the drapes may be held closed over the AC unit when it's on. Had you made us aware of this matter during your stay we would have been happy to have adjusted it for you. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused.

As for the lack of cherries for your Manhattan, and the young man who “only works here”? Well, he doesn’t anymore. The cherries were in the cooler not feet away from him. We will never tolerate such poor job performance. Too many other fine employees have worked too hard to ensure that our guests have the most enjoyable experience possible, to permit this to happen. Thank you for your comments. Please remember that your comments here can have real consequences in the lives of real people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Green Park several times since it reopened two years ago. It is reasonably priced for the area and offers many extras such as a full breakfast cooked to order and live music on the weekends. The staff are friendly and helpful with directions, reservations, etc.

Room Tip: We usually ask for the standard room which is a nice size. The rooms with a balcony and the suites are a little more expensive, but very nice also.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews