We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful Inn”
Review of The Green Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Green Park Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a wonderful Inn”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Where to begin? This Inn was outstanding, on our recent trip to Blowing Rock, NC we decided to wait til we got there to find a hotel we had never been there before and wanted to see Blowing Rock itself so we found where to turn to go to Blowing Rock itself and this Inn was sitting right there beckoning us on in so we chose to stay. Love old historic places and this was not a disappointment at all. The front desk was super nice, Golden Retriever Polly was a highlight of the experience at check in and and check out! The room was so warm and comfortable, had a drink in the bar on our first night it was the house specialty quite refreshing and helped us relax.
We missed breakfast as they had already closed the kitchen, they offered to get us a cup of coffee and we most assuredly enjoyed it, it was snowing out so we did not get to go on up to see Blowing Rock but we asked them to keep the light on and we will return and stay here again. Thank you all for a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: We chose the King superior overlooking the golf course, we had a porch to sit on and look over the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thank you for the pleasant review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! I am sorry you missed breakfast, but I am happy that we did what we could, and offered you some coffee. On your next trip, I am sure you'll get a chance to see the Blowing Rock and all of the other nearby attractions. We'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    143
    52
    23
    10
See reviews for
92
232
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wendell, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here for the weekend and absolutely loved it. The Inn is amazing, so full of rich history. It is a gorgeous property. Our room was very comfortable and fairly large for a hotel room. Don't miss having dinner in the Tavern. I had the fabulous chocolate petite steak and will have it again. Breakfast was delivered also. We enjoyed Charlie playing the piano in the lobby. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked another stay on our very first night.
Playing a round of golf on their course is on my husband's list of things to do now. The atmosphere is so relaxing at the Inn. You can't go wrong staying in this wonderful historic property when you are in the Blowing Rock area. Even if you are a local you should experience this place. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the older part of the Inn, second floor with a view of a little courtyard area. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much that you have already started planning your next visit. Our chef is one of the best, and soon we will have an updated restaurant menu for you to come back and try some more of his creations. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here for 3 days over Valentine's weekend and we very happy we did. We love Historic properties and this one did not disappoint in any way. I was amazed at some of the less than flattering reviews.. and disagree wholeheartedly.
First off the staff. There was always someone with a smile in the hallway or lobby asking us if we needed anything. They were quick to grab the door and always made us feel welcome.
The breakfast included was a custom prepared feast. There were several items to choose from but they were more than happy to oblige with any combination. We ate there all three mornings and looked forward to it each day.
Lastly the room. With high ceilings and original floors.. the room was beautiful. Right down to the sloping hardwood that was perfectly restored. The bed and furnishings were new and felt wonderful. We faced the front of the hotel on the ground floor and even though the road was in front of our room.. it was quiet and peaceful. We even got to awake to a fresh coating of snow.
To sum this up. If you are looking for a chain hotel.. drive on by. If you'd like to step back in history and still enjoy the modern amenities.. this Is a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for such a great review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We strive for friendly customer service, and an excellent guest experience, so it is always a pleasure to hear that we are meeting your expectations. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My husband found this hotel based on Trip Advisor ratings :). It is an old hotel, but you can tell that it has been renovated. It is clean, our room was big and had a nice view.
Beautiful view of snow on the golf course. Really nice breakfast. Not your usual lame breakfast buffet. They give about 5 choice to pick from and they are made to order. all the staff we met were friendly and helpful.
I would recommend it

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeelover57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! I am glad you enjoyed your roomy accommodations with the snowy view. The snow can be a pain, but it sure does make for a beautiful scene on the golf course. It is always nice to hear compliments about our staff, and we are happy to know you enjoyed your breakfast selections. We would love to have you back the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My family and I just returned from a grand weekend at the Green Park to celebrate my birthday. I could not have asked for a better celebration - I do take birthday celebrations very seriously. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable, and the view was gorgeous (it had just snowed the night before). Our special dinner on Saturday night prepared by Chef James and his staff was fabulous - the food and the wait staff get a top rating from me and from my family. I have stayed at many other hotels and eaten at many other restaurants, but this by far is my favorite. I always feel special during my stay, thanks to the wonderful staff and management. That is why my husband and I along with family members keep returning to this beautiful historic hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony overlooking the golf course are our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thank you for the great review! We love having you and are happy we could help make your birthday celebration special. Thank you for your compliments on the food and the staff. We all try hard to make sure you are getting everything you want. As always, we'll look forward to seeing you the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Fl
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We recently spent an overnight visit at the Green Park Inn. We arrived later in the evening as we were driving into Blowing Rock. The dining room hostess directed us to the check in desk . We waited at the desk for several minutes as the clerk was on the phone. Eventually another staff member arrived and greeted me by saying "What do you need ?" !!!!!!!!!!!! I was really taken back, expecting a warmer welcome at a local inn. We were directed to our room which was dated not historic. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was low budget.
The room was heated with window heater and my children who shared the bed closest to the window were chilly even with blankets.
This Saturday the breakfast was served in a stripped down banquet room ( not the "tea room" as mentioned). Breakfast food and service was fair.
The common areas of the hotel were small resulting in frequent encounters with staff members all of which were uncomfortable and made us feel unwelcome.
I will not be returning nor would I recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Madgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Oh, my! How to respond? First, was there something wrong with the hostess having helped you by directing you to the front desk? Was she an "unfriendly" staff member? As to the staff member who "jumped in" while her colleague was occupied on the telephone helping another guest, we're sure that the greeting would have been more along the lines of "What do you folks need?" . . . . or "what can I do for you folks?", and would have been asked with a warm and genuine smile. Whatever the greeting, we are absolutely certain that it was cheerful, polite, and meant to be helpful. Readers are encouraged to read the many reviews extolling the virtues of our excellent staff. We don't know what is meant by window heaters, but we don't have any of whatever they are. It appears that you, as well, stayed with us during the recent severe storm, however, any guests reporting issues of discomfort due to heat were attended to, immediately. We're not sure what distinction you make between old and historic, but we are clearly both. The hotel was constructed in 1891 and we were selected for membership in the Historic Hotels of America, a juried choice. HHA is a project of the National Trust for Historic Preservation, and we are listed on the National Historic Register. While certainly old, as well as historic, one could hardly refer to us as "dated", since all of our room furnishing and soft goods (pillows, blankets, etc.) were purchased brand new just approximately two years ago. We use the Inn's main dining restaurant, the hotel's original Grand Ballroom, for breakfast when there are a large number of guests. The dining room is not "stripped down" and we frankly don't know if you are even referring to our hotel because of that remark? White linen tablecloths, with festive poinsettias on each table, and all new upholstered chairs can hardly be called "stripped down"??! We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, because I'm sure that we enjoyed having you! If we actually did have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Looked forward to staying here. Was disappointed in so many ways. Heater did not work properly the first night, maintenance repaired the next day filters were badly in need of replacement. Took over an hour for breakfast to be served. It appeared a bunch of college aged kids were running the place with no direction. Property certainly needs a manager. Will not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
We apologize that your heater wasn't working properly on the first night. Due to severe storms that week, including the night before your stay, a number of heating units were damaged. (Much of the country was affected by these storms during that week). When the damage was discovered, the units were replaced with units that had been in storage. Obviously, maintenance missed the fact that the filters may have needed replacing. Again, we apologize but stand by the efforts of all of our staff to see to our guests needs and comfort during this acute weather period. The Green Park, like many other businesses in Blowing Rock, offers employment to students at Appalachian State University, and we're proud of this fact. Unfortunately, a number of those staff (3) traveling to work together on the morning of the breakfast you mention were delayed due to a traffic mishap, again, weather related. They therefore arrived unacceptably late for work, resulting in slow service during that morning, and we apologize that the service during your complimentary breakfast was slow. We don't, however, feel that these circumstances warrant a "pass" rating. Interesting that your stay was for two nights, yet you comment only on a negative incident on the first night, and first morning. I guess that all was well with the rest of your stay, particularly since your reservation was for only one night, yet you extended to two. To be fair to our hotel and the traveling community you might have mentioned that your heat worked perfectly during the second day and night, and that breakfast service was as it should have been on your second morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.4 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.5 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Inn

Property: The Green Park Inn
Address: 9239 Valley Blvd, (Rte. 321), Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Green Park Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The graceful Victorian era hotel, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, has been lovingly and faithfully restored as of the fall of 2010. Turn back the clock to a more genteel time when exquisite attention to guest's needs, a polite, respectful and helpful staff, and an atmosphere of quiet elegance was the magnet that drew authors, poets, presidents and first ladies to the cool mountain breezes of the Green Park Inn. Come and experience our affordable elegance. When you want to spend time away, spend it somewhere that's timeless. The Chestnut Grille Restaurant is open nightly, or weekends seasonally. The Divide Tavern opens nightly at 5pm, serving casual dinner fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Green Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Park Hotel Blowing Rock
Green Park Inn
Park Inn Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing