We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great romantic Weekend”
Review of The Green Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Green Park Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Went and stayed for one night here over Valentines weekend with husband. Beautiful historic hotel and everyone was so friendly. Had a very tasty dinner at the restaurant. And the breakfast buffet was excellent. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for choosing us for your Valentine's day getaway. We are glad you enjoyed everything, and would love to have you stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

My new bride and I would like to thank everyone at the Green Park Inn for making our simple wedding a huge success. Everyone involved could not have been nicer or more accommodating...even the alleged ghosts cooperated. On the evening before our arrival, the events coordinator was informed that the restaurant would be serving a limited menu where we planned our wedding dinner, she called me to inform me and gave us time to make alternative plans. Great customer service! The weather did not cooperate however, but that's what one expects in Blowing Rock in March! Even that did nothing to diminish our stay.

Tom and Patrice Gottcent

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomG1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

We are happy to hear you had a great time on your wedding weekend with us. I apologize that our restaurant was serving a limited menu the evening of your wedding, but am glad we were able to get in touch with you, so you could make alternate plans for dinner. Hopefully, the weather will cooperate on your next visit, and you'll have the opportunity to dine in the restaurant. Congratulations to both of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our first visit and found this beautiful, historic hotel wonderful. Everyone was very welcoming, warm and friendly. Enjoyed the intimate bar for an after dinner drink. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and the servers went out of their way to be helpful. We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormanLeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing. It's our pleasure to welcome guests into our hotel, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm sure skiing was fun, and we'd love to have you back next year for more snow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Green Park Inn is a beautiful and special historic hotel property. The accommodations are truly classic in their decor and ambiance. On our first, and certainly not my last, visit to the Green Park Inn my wife and I enjoyed wonderful service from the entire hotel's/restaurant's/bar's staff. While the guest rooms are certainly not filled with the bells and whistles that one will find in most contemporary "cookie cutter" hotels, the GPI rooms are comfortable and steeped in historic charm. Throughout the property there are many wonderful places to simply sit and visit with your traveling companion(s) or your fellow hotel guests. For dinner the Divide Bar and the Chestnut Grille offer exceptional service and creative cuisine that will both tempt and please any appetite. The extensive wine and beer lists are inviting and the full service bar in the Divide Bar/Tavern is a wonderful place to spend time before or after dinner in the Chestnut Grille. If you are lucky you'll have the opportunity to enjoy one of the local region's music groups that may very well be playing a set in the restaurant and/or bar.

Bottom line, the Green Park Inn is indeed a true gem and lives up to its title as the Grande Dame of the North Carolina High Country. It certainly will join the list of my favorites among the other National Historic Registry hotels that will be visited again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tltalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for reviewing. You clearly love visiting historic hotels, and I'm glad we met your expectations as the Grand Dame of the High Country. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself at the Tavern and Chestnut Grille. It sounds like you attended one of our Sunday music specials. We are excited to have the opportunity to showcase the local talent and offer dinner specials. We'd love for you to stay with us again the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were planning a ski weekend trip with 2 other couples and it worked out that the only weekend we could all go was our anniversary weekend. So we decided to at least stay somewhere that would be charming & romantic! The Green Park Inn lived up to all that and more! We all had King rooms on the 2nd floor and each room was totally different, as far as floor plans. Our room was very clean and had new furniture & bedding and new carpet. The bathroom was small but very clean and had great water pressure/hot water. I loved the quirky things in the inn like the pipes hanging from the ceiling in our room & the old parts of the post office downstairs. I especially loved the check in area with the old wooden shelves/boxes that held your room keys! We had breakfast on Sunday served in the main dining room and then on Monday it was served in the tea room. There were several choices each day for breakfast and the food was good and service was prompt and very good. I loved everything about the Green Park Inn and I would not hesitate to stay there again if/when I come back to Blowing Rock!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Teeter21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for choosing us for such a special occasion. We love all of the things about the hotel that you do, and are proud to be continuing our restoration efforts to bring the history of the hotel back to life. I am happy we met your expectations, and we'll look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We spent a lovely night in the Green park inn. The inn has so much charm and the service can't be beat. Our room in the old part of the hotel was clean, quiet, comfortable and full of nice amenities. We ate at the Divide lounge, their old bar literally split by the eastern continental divide. Food was super. Best of all is the included cooked to order breakfast the next am. Piano music live in the lobby, fun old historical photos and artifacts, and in warmer weather, a big front porch with rockers. Great place to relax for more than one night. We will come back.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the historic section and also in a newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbg326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you coming to stay with us, and are glad to hear you were able to enjoy a little bit of everything that we have to offer. We'll look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Such a lovely historic place. We went to celebrate my husbands 65th...the staff is lovely and updated our room. Breakfast is awesome! If you love historic..this is the place!. Authentic as much as it can be and function

Room Tip: Rooms could use some brighter lights..but that is all I can say negative
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, Front Office Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your husband's special day. We were happy that we were able to upgrade your room for the occassion. I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast and our history. We'd love to have you back when you're in town again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
637 reviews
1.4 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
371 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.5 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#9 of 16 in Blowing Rock
124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#4 of 16 in Blowing Rock
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Inn

Address: 9239 Valley Blvd, (Rte. 321), Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range: £78 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Green Park Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The graceful Victorian era hotel, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, has been lovingly and faithfully restored as of the fall of 2010. Turn back the clock to a more genteel time when exquisite attention to guest's needs, a polite, respectful and helpful staff, and an atmosphere of quiet elegance was the magnet that drew authors, poets, presidents and first ladies to the cool mountain breezes of the Green Park Inn. Come and experience our affordable elegance. When you want to spend time away, spend it somewhere that's timeless. The Chestnut Grille Restaurant is open nightly, or weekends seasonally. The Divide Tavern opens nightly at 5pm, serving casual dinner fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Green Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Park Hotel Blowing Rock
Green Park Inn
Park Inn Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing