We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Green Park Inn
Nearby Hotels
Meadowbrook Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliff Dwellers Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxwood Lodge(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westglow Resort & Spa(Blowing Rock)
US$427
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
240
165
62
29
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
240
165
62
29
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelchestnut grilleleanor rooseveltmurder mysterymade to order breakfastpiano player in the lobbyjimmy stewartstep back in timebreakfast was includednew ownersroad constructiongrand pianothe general managermodern amenitiesfront porchfrench toasthot breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My husband and I went to this hotel for our 56th anniversary. We found our room FILTHY, run down, manned by a cold uncaring staff. At check-in our room still had gravel and dirt clods on the floor, the bath room floor had muddy foot prints. House keeping came and cleaned .When I went to unpack, the closet light switch was sticky dirty. We should have left then, but it was a holiday week end and the town was full. We are old and were tired. Breakfast was horrible! Hostess never showed, we seated ourselves, only one other couple was there. Ten minutes later a sleepy eyed waiter came out and took our order. He was unable to answer any questions about the menu, and certainly didn't care. Much later, over medium eggs came with broken yokes, cooked to leather texture, potatoes, were RAW and crunchy, biscuit weeks old and cold, canned gravy also cold. We complained to uncaring waiter, ate our bacon and left. Night clerk also unhelpful. All in all, a dirty, poorly kept mess with uncaring staff. The place certainly is NOT what it one time was!!! Go here at your own peril.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!! No AC in setting room, windows too dirty to see through. Noisy road construction just outside the hotel
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPIOwners, General Manager at The Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Unfortunately, we fully expected a negative TA review from this individual. Sadly, nothing that our staff could or did do would satisfy this guest. The reviewer virtually brow beat the front desk staff into providing a room at a significant discount first at reservation and then again at check in, even though their confirmation email clearly stated the room rate. The reviewer is correct that two footprints needed to be cleaned from the bathroom floor (maintenance had attended an issue but unfortunately failed to report this to housekeeping, which was a rare slip up).

Other than this there is absolutely no truth or accuracy to anything else in the review. Cold uncaring staff? Even some of the most critical reviewers almost always comment on our friendly and accommodating staff. Canned gravy? We make our biscuit gravy fresh, daily, using sausage product by a 100 year old North Carolina family sausage maker and all fresh ingredients. How can potatoes be both raw and crunchy? Our full hot breakfast is one of the hallmarks of our hotel but this reviewer may be more accustomed to the microwaved breakfast options provided at chain hotels. The reviewer asked for their room to be freshened twice, in one day (after they had left the hotel, then returned, then left again) and this was accommodated. The reviewer asked for copious quantities of extra amenities (which of course were all taken by the guest when they checked out early), and these were happily provided.

Our hotel is hardly run down, although there’s no mistaking that we are historic. All of our hotel furnishings are less than 4 years old and we are proud to say all of the room furnishings are made in America by Broyhill and Thomasville, and most of the rest of our furniture and fixtures were also made locally. If travelers are looking for cookie cutter steel and cement hotel options then we are not for that traveler. However, for the traveler who is looking for a warm and inviting hotel with “classic surroundings and modern amenities” and an incredible amount of history and historic charm then we invite you to experience our grand dame of the high country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Three of us, plus our dog, stayed here for the first time over a weekend. The hotel, especially the tavern and the restaurant, look as if nothing has changed in 100 years...I'm assuming that is. The room itself was clean, huge and we were not on top of each other. Bring a lot of clothes if you want to fill the walk-in closet. You have to remember when folks stayed here years ago, they stayed for weeks and months at a time when a large closet was needed. Our room overlooked the golf course and courtyard, where a pool once was. There is no pool, but they have a location (hopefully in the future) for a wonderful afternoon to relax and swim.
It seems that the food has taken a back seat since its re-opened. Early reviews talk about great food being served, but all of us thought the food was very plain and bland. With a setting like this, it's a shame since this is a hotel that you want to eat at, drink at and enjoy other guests. After dinner the lobby was filled with guests as a piano player lit it up for everybody wishing to relax and mingle.
If you like old and historical, this hotel is for you! If you do not like creaking floors in the hall, you need to check out the chain hotels. We really loved the hotel.

Room Tip: I think the rooms all look to the same direction.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XsOdApOpX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed for 13 nights at the Green Park in the end of July. An old hotel, beautifully kept and lovingly attended to by the employees. I had my dog with me and there are areas to walk dogs. I stayed in the new part of the hotel with a golf course view and a large balcony. It was very quiet during my stay--my only complaint was the hallway lighting was VERY bright and shone in thru the windows facing the hallway. Housekeeping did an excellent job on the room and all publice areas of the hotel.
The weak are of this hotel is the food--not the service--the food. A very limited menu, and salads are the weakest part. Breakfast was included with my room and while a limited menu, a good breakfast.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: new part of hotel is best
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debijaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We found this place at the last second and was an awesome place. If you like history (40's era) then this is the place. We went there with our children but this is a place for couple that need to get away and reconnect! Nice 40's type bar that you can enjoy some time with your partner. They supply robes that are to die for and comfy.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank csnider69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the Scottish Festival that is held at Grandfather mountain! Two thumbs up for this place and this will be the hotel we stay at every time we come. This hotel has history and takes you back in time of great people. The pub/tavern/bar is still the same from the 40's very cool.
Plus they have robes in the closet that are super comfy.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews