We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meadowbrook Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

All I catch myself talking about when asked about the resort is how unbelievably amazing the staff was. Every member I came in contact with was professional, polite, and very prompt. Not to mention how they provided service with a smile! Now a days that's VERY rare.
The entire weekend stay was great. Great area & clean rooms. Defiantly looking forward to visiting again =)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    108
    44
    26
    20
See reviews for
118
109
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The Meadowbrook Inn has lovely rooms and exceptional staff. They made my stay very enjoyable and I look forward to staying with them again. The rooms were very nice with very reasonalbe rates. The staff was courteous and professional at all times!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms-SouthernPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have now stayed at the Meadowbrook Inn twice, and both of my experiences have been excellent. From the moment I arrived the staff were polite and professional, the check-in process was quick and efficient, and the facility was clean and well appointed. If you are looking for a cozy and elegant hotel at a reasonable price, then the Meadowbrook Inn is the place for you. My suite had a fireplace, whirlpool tub, flat-screen TV, and beautiful hardwood furniture. Also, the location is close to the historic downtown of Blowing Rock, with fantastic restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. Both of my experiences at the Meadowbrook Inn have been among the most stress free and relaxing hotel stays. I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennethNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

So, after reading all the reviews we decided to stay at the Meadowbrook for the weekend. I have completely figured out why all the reviews are so different - it depends on where you stay on the property. I reserved the "VIP Suite" (and I use this term loosely)Room 309 in the hotel. We arrived at 9pm and when we got into the room, we were so disappointed. The room itself was HUGE..however..the carpet was dark green, the furniture was worn, the tv was old (not a flat screen) the fireplace looked terrible, there was rose wallpaper in the bathroom (think Grandma's house) however, it was clean and we were tired. The noise of the heat coming on all night actually helped drown out the sounds of the people in the hallway throughout the night since our room was next to the elevator :( Early the next morning I went to the "breakfast" (again, term used loosely) in search of coffee. The breakfast consisted of coffee (not totally terrible) stale bread and pastries, stale bagels (no cream cheese in sight), cold cereal (generic in the bins) and hard boiled eggs and weird looking sausage patties, both on ice? The super sad part was the decent breakfast in the other room for wedding guest parties - so the hotel could throw out some warm eggs,etc. they just choose not to. For the price of the room - they could put together something more..so just plan on skipping the breakfast and walk 3 minutes down main street on your right to 'Knights on Main' for a fantastic breakfast! So, I went to the lobby and asked if there were any other rooms available - the lovely front desk person (Ann) took me to the Annex building (5 steps away) and showed me a room that was Great! It wasn't a suite, but we didn't have our kids with us and didn't need one. There was a King bed, a fire place that you can see from the bed, a flat screen TV (much larger then the old outdated one in the other room) newer wallpaper, bedding, etc. It also had a great sunroom/patio where you could sit - we opted to open the windows which allowed us to have the fireplace on and it didn't get too hot. The bathroom was MUCH nicer (nicer whirlpool tub, dual shower head) and the soaps, etc. in this room were nicer - it was weird. We moved our bags and thoroughly enjoyed this room. The room was $210 per night, which was the same we were paying for the "suite" and it was much quieter and nicer. We stayed in room 507 in the Annex. I should also add that as we were leaving and they were cleaning the rooms next to us - they washed and changed the sheets, blankets and comforter - which is nice! Both rooms were very clean - the one in the main hotel was so old and outdated, you could only do so much. Both rooms had a small fridge and microwave. We ate breakfast at Knights on Main - which was great, homestyle and dinner at Bistro Roca - which was wonderful! Would definitely recommend! Hope this helps the next traveler!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Annex - it is newer, nicer and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Apexchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Very nice inn, beautiful entrance, lobby and common areas. The room was clean, with antique-style furniture and a LCD tv. Great location too, walked through all Blowing Rock main street. Breakfast wasn't that good but OK.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DraKanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is a nice hotel with beautifully maintained property, gardens, and decent service. We especially enjoyed the sunroom balcony, fireplace, and hot tub.

We did not have any of the negative problems that I've read in other reviews. The room was very large with elegant furnishings and decorations that were not worn or outdated. Linens were new and clean. Very large flat-screen TV was nice. Wi-fi was strong and fast. Central air was comfortable and silent. We had no noise problems, even with people in the rooms beside us. The indoor swimming pool is one of the largest in the Blowing Rock area, and was great. The property seems well-maintained, and I didn't see any of the worn-out indications others have mentioned.

The continental breakfast was typical -- cereal, eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, bagels, muffins, cinnamon rolls, oranges. To the one reviewer that complained that condiments stay out, that is not true -- I noticed they were cold, and watched to see that they refrigerated them immediately after breakfast closed.

Meadowbrook had the lowest price of any hotel in Blowing Rock when we went, and we very pleased with the value. We'll happily stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlovegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

When we first arrived, the place was very nice. We checked in, had a great day, ducks on the property were an enjoyment for my 3 yr old. There was a wedding taking place on the property. Not a problem until 12:30 a.m. when the wedding was apparently over but the party wasn't. It continued in the room next to ours! Several of the wedding guests must have been so dazed and confused from all the celebration that they continued to knock on our hotel door instead of the correct door next to ours while shouting "Whoo Whoo" like idots in the hallway. I called the front desk which stated they would take care of it but after 10 more minutes of Whoo whoo, I had enough and stormed to the lobby in my pajamas. That is where I had to make a scene threatening to call the police if they couldn't handle the problem. The party next door finally relocated to the pool. God help the people that boarded that area. The next morning, all I recieved at check-out was a snot attitude from some young female that deserved a swift kick in the shin bone. $236 for one loud restless night.
Congrats to the bride & groom and congrats to the hotel for never anticipating our stay again.

Room Tip: Ask if there's a wedding on the property & where are their rooms located before booking your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ABinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blowing Rock
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
4.9 mi away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#7 of 18 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowbrook Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowbrook Inn & Suites

Property: Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Address: 711 Main St, P.O. Box 2005, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-8278
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowbrook Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowbrook Inn is located within walking distance of the heart of downtown Blowing Rock, NC, which is the "Southeast's prettiest town", according to Southern Living magazine. Enjoy the short walk to downtown restaurants, shops, boutiques, festivals, and parades.Blowing Rock's 3,600 feet elevation means great summer weather and plenty of wintertime activities. The town is a short drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Moses Cone Manor, Grandfather Mountain, Appalachian Ski Mountain, Appalachian State University, and to the neighboring town of Boone.Our facilities and the surrounding area make the Meadowbrook Inn the perfect location for family weekends, social gatherings, events, weddings, conferences, and romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Meadowbrook Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowbrook Hotel Blowing Rock
Meadowbrook Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing