We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”
Review of Azalea Garden Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Azalea Garden Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My best friend and I stayed here for two nights and were pleased with our stay. The manager was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are a little dated but the location of this inn can't be beat - it's within walking distance of all the stores and restaurants on Main Street in Blowing Rock and actually within walking distance of the outlet mall if you are a little more ambitious and don't mind an uphill walk for your return. Each morning, coffee is provided in the garden area which is beautiful and relaxing. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and clean but could use some updates. Overall, a great value and place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 15 is upstairs, king bed, very nice but gets a bit hot during the day. Room 1 is downstairs, a...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heels94GreensboroNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Azalea Garden Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

My wife and I took a short weekend trip to Blowing Rock. We came into town with no reservations, taking a chance on finding a place to stay. Attracted by the sign, the landscaping, and the location, we checked into the Azalea.
The place is fantastic. This is a family owned inn. It's one of those places where you park the car in front of the room. The rooms are decorated in the old 60's style knotty pine paneling, but it's all just so neat and clean that it looks great. The rooms have nice big flat screen HD TV's. The rooms are spacious and each room has a couple of chairs out front. There are also two or three outside seating areas that are for the use of guests. The inn provides free coffee in the morning in a shaded porch. The landscaping is unbelievable. There are window boxes in front of every room, and each one is filled with live plants and flowers. The grounds are richly covered in seasonal plants and it's obvious that great care is given to keep things looking just so.
The people were friendly, and the inn is within walking distance to the downtown area and several restaurants. If you're heading into Blowing Rock, keep your eyes looking to the left and look for the sign. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lordnelson1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Azalea Garden Inn. The place is so well cared for. For the price, it was a great stay. We had several family members with us and rented two rooms. The rooms are outdated in their decor, but everything was well cared for, clean and comfortable. I appreciated the level parking lot and walkway into the rooms, as my elderly mother is unsteady on her feet.

The gardens were just lovely and they weren't even in full bloom yet. Another plus, the inn is conveniently located just around the corner (within walking distance) from Knights on Main, a local restaurant with good home cooked food.

The staff at the hotel was always friendly and accommodating to any requests we had. Off the main office area is a covered deck area we enjoyed in the mornings.

Next time we are in Blowing Rock, we'll be sure to stay here. Perhaps we'll try the cabin.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onaclearday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We had expected the AGI to be more like a bed and breakfast or inn than a motel. Toured the area for an alternative and found the AGI the best bet for short term accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPBsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We were in Blowing Rock, NC and did not have a hotel reservation for the night. So we went to a few places and then finally decided on this for its location, beautiful gardens, clean and comfortable room and free parking right in front of our room.

The log cabin area and the gardens in front of the rooms (all located on the 1st floor) are very very pretty, and I spent plenty of time around supper time and the following morning around breakfast time in one of the porches they've created. The room is perfectly fine: large, clean and comfortable bedding and seating. I have no complaints about this hotel whatsoever. We had a room in the corner so there was no noise whatsoever. But the place is very quiet over all. The breakfast is modest and nothing to write home about. This is located just off the main road in Blowing Rock so remains very quiet, but is an easy walking distance of the main market.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tempoeffects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Great place to stay right off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Very homey, yes, it was dated, but very cozy. We enjoyed our second story room and the lovely gardenst to sit and relax. We ate breakfast at the resturant across the street everyday which was a wonderful hometown diner. It was an easy walk to reach the downtown area including a lovely park, a trail to a waterfall and plenty of resturants.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdtwhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

. We saw this motel on the trip advisor and had to stay here! We were traveling on the Blue Ridge Parkway through North Carolina and Virginia. The gardens were quaint and tended to perfectly. The outdoor music(very soft) was relaxing. Everything was great. it gave us a wonderful understanding of what Blowing Rock is all about!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muchka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
362 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azalea Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalea Garden Inn

Address: 793 Main St, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-8278
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: £44 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Azalea Garden Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing