We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place!”
Review of Hemlock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hemlock Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Smithfield, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“A great place!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I have stayed at Hemlock Inn every time I visit Blowing Rock and my wife and I had our first date there, so I guess it's a special place for us. The owners and staff are always friendly, helpful and go beyond just providing a room. Once I made a reservation, but showed up a day late because of my mistake on what date i made the reservation. The owners could have charged for the night I missed since I did not call to cancel, but they did not and were very understanding. All the rooms are decorated different and very comfortable. I think the wife and I have stayed in most all by now. David, who usually works at night, is very friendly and helpful on every visit and it's nice that he knows us by our first name when we arrive. We spent our first anniversary there and was very surprised that they provided a complimentary bottle of wine. A very nice touch to make us feel special. I have recommended Hemlock Inn to friends who have been very pleased with their stay. This is the only place we will stay when visiting Blowing Rock area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    99
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
88
211
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Went on a weekend getway to escape the city heat back iin July 2012. Hemlock Inn is very nice on the outside looking like your tradtional mountain lodge. The staff is super friendly and accomodating. The location is great as its a few steps from Main Street in Blowing Rock which has lots to do and see.
The rooms certianly could use a touch of updating, but to be honest, its what I expect when I go to a mountain lodge. We spent most of our time outside anyways. The landscaping outside is also really beautiful. I love the town of Blowing Rock and the term I would use to describe this place is charming. We didnt have to pay, in my estimate, a lot for the room rate and we did it on short notice. To sum it up briefly, I would stay there again on a future trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank jrosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Looks very nice on the outside, but inside a different story. Rooms are outdated, beds are hard as a rock, bathrooms have no heat. For $100 per night, I was expecting a lot nicer place and a much bigger room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brent c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We go to Blowing Rock 5 or 6 times a year for 5 or 6 days at a time, and we always stay at the Hemlock. Staff is friendly and helpful. The location is convenient to shops and restaurants. The innkeepers Brian and Donna are friendly and will go out of their way to see that you have a pleasant stay in their inn. It's become our "home away from home".

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bremda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

In general, we really liked the Hemlock Inn and it was convenient to town and is an easy drive into Boone or to the Blue Ridge Parkway. We stayed in one of the King suites which was nice and well appointed. It had a small kitchen in it with a fridge, stove, oven and all of the necessary utensils. It's a very easy walk into main street and the shops and restaurants there. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. It took a bit to get the heat in the room quite right (electric baseboard heaters) but once it was set, it was great. TV is a bit small, especially since the channels are set up for widescreen but it's a 4:3 format set so it made the screen even smaller.

The wood paneling was nice (kind of a 50's retro look) and the couch was comfortable enough. The bathroom was kind of small and needed some updating but the shower was hot. Our particular room was next to the ice machine/vending area as well as the Inn's laundry. There was also an upper level above us and it tended to get a bit noisy in the morning. Room was a bit pricey but I don't think it was too out of range considering it was fall on an ASU game weekend. I would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: I would stay away from the rooms next to the Ice/Vending area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kegger55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We loved the super convenient location of the Hemlock, easy walking distance to main street (charming shops and restaurants). -ONLY used our vehicle to drive up to the Parkway for hiking trips. The owner was very friendly and shared great "tips" about stuff to see and do. From the outside the Inn is totally charming and perfect for a quaint mountain town. Although the rooms were clean and had their own charm, they really could stand some updating: curtains and wallpaper border unpleasant for anyone under the age of 70. The beds were super firm #hard, T.V.s tiny and poor quality. Some rooms lacking 2 bedside tables or 2 bedside lamps (only ONE of you gets to read at night and/or put your glasses etc... down on a table.) All in all our experience at the Hemlock was a pleasant one, it could just stand some improvements before next time. :)

Room Tip: room #9, although very spacious, had poor internet reception and poor heating system, whereas room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abby7987, Owner at Hemlock Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Room 9 is getting remodeled in the Spring of 2013. Thank you for visiting us, hope to see you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Have stayed at the Hemlock about 5 times. They have always bent over backwards to ensure my visit was fun and comfortable. One snowy night the owner stayed on the phone with me for half hour to guide me to the Hemlock. It was snowing so hard I could not recognize old familiar landmarks and he vectored me safely by telling me terrific directions. I have no need to stay anywhere else. Donna and husband are great people!
Bill G.
West Los Angeles, California

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williampg2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
277 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemlock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemlock Inn

Property: Hemlock Inn
Address: 134 Morris St, PO Box 422, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hemlock Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Blowing Rock Tradition," open all year. One of downtown's best locations. One building off main street, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and city park. Kings, queens, double kings and two room suites. All rooms have cable TV, A/C, phone, microwaves, refrigerator, coffee pot and wireless. All non smoking rooms, no pets allowed. Gazebo with sitting area and fountain outside. Come join us for your mountain adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hemlock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemlock Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing