We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for intimate dinner and stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Public House & Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place for intimate dinner and stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The New Public House was recently purchased by new owners that have renovated the building and turned it into a modern but rustic inn that is intimate and charming. Their service is excellent, their staff makes sure that that guests and diner are taken care of. Their dinner menu features several gluten-free options that are delicious. It is a wonderful place for a romantic getaway or cozy evening.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Abigail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    31
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
94
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here recently for a wedding. Had the upstairs suite (number 5) and thought it was great. The room was well appointed and had a great style. Plenty of room which you don't often get in these houses that up fitted to be an inn. If you're expecting pristine perfect rooms then this may not be the place for you. As they say in the welcome it has its own idiosyncrasies. You may notice a slight slope to the floor or an odd angle on the ceiling but those of us who love old buildings call this charm.

The bonus here is the wonderful restaurant right downstairs. We had a great dinner here (one of my all time best) and two super breakfasts. You must try the open-faced smoked brisket. I'm still talking about it.

Two helpful hints: There is little or no signage telling you where to check-in so just go into the restaurant and speak to the hostess. She'll take care of you. Also, if you're over five foot six you may not want to stay in the upstairs room 5. The sloping ceilings in the bathroom will make some of your daily activities a bit awkward. But the other rooms will be great for you.

Room Tip: See review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcbiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Staff was very welcoming and gracious. The breakfast, which comes with the room was the best I have ever had! The inn is also a hugely popular restaurant so the evenings can get noisy if guests are having one too many margaritas! My Room #4, was comfortable. Perfect for a one night stay. Very convenient to Main Street and exploring Boone and surrounding scenic areas. Overall enjoyed my visit and will go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The New Public House & Hotel is just a quick walk from downtown Blowing Rock. The property is clean, bright and welcoming. The staff is great and the room was a good size with a super shower. We enjoyed dinner on the night we arrived and breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We dined here in May and decided to come back for a quick stay. At the outset, the restaurant is truly exceptional and the best thing about the property.
We were in room 2, very nice, overlooking the street. The room was frigid with no controls for AC in the room; I finally found the controls in the hallway. The room was noisy in the evening because of the bar downstairs, which is probably why they put a white noise generator in the room.
There is no clock in the room, sort of unusual for a hotel. The bathroom is large but very short on counter space and the lighting is horrible. It was really too dark to shave safely.
The staff is very friendly and you feel very welcome, but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsbrodsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GideonRidge, Owner at The New Public House & Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We have just put individual controls for Heat and AC in each room. Guests now can control the temperature in their rooms!

As for the noise from the bar, we try to have service completed in the bar and restaurant by 10pm with people out by 11.

We thank everyone for their reviews. We take all reviews very seriously.

Cobb Milner: Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern VA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed in a suite with one King size bed in July 2014.

There is wood throughout the room with tile in the bathroom.
There are two air conditioner/heaters located on the exterior wall of the sitting area and the bed room. The unit in the bedroom never reduced the temperature near where we wanted the temperature to be over a two day period.
The bedroom and sitting area are well furnished. The sitting area has a table, chair, couch, ottoman, side table, floor lamp, and television (flat screen about 32 inches).
Multiple outlets are available in the suite using 110V electricity.
King size bed was comfortable (firm), pillows were very soft (not firm)
There is a separate deadbolt on the entry door
There is no safe in the room.
There is a chest of drawers with multiple drawers and a small closet for hanging clothing
Various types of clothes hangers are provided in the closet
A hair dryer is provided in each room
A Kuerig coffee maker, Kuerig coffee packets, small refrigerator, glasses, coffee cups are provided in the room
There are no curtains in the suite. All windows have plantation shutters. There is no view outside the windows as the suite is surrounded by stone walls or the parking lot.
Ceiling fans are not present in the suite
Bathroom is good and has a large walk in shower with a single sink but very little counter space. There was low/average water pressure from the rainfall shower head.
There is no bathtub.
There is a powerful exhaust fan in the bathroom. The toilet is elevated for ease of older patrons.
The maid services did an excellent job every day.
There is not a do not disturb door hanger for the entry door.
The wireless network worked well. Connection speeds were good.

Reception
The reception area is very helpful. They were happy to talk about the area, attractions and directions. The reception personnel are full of ideas/opinions on what to do if you ask. There are fliers and maps of the area and attractions available near the bar area.

Parking
There is some parking on the property. But if the parking at the hotel is full there is street parking available.

Notes for the area
Recommend reservations at restaurants for nights, as the best places get booked up quickly. The onsite restaurant is good bordering on great. The menu has many options and the chefs do a great job. Try the grits regardless of what meal you are eating. They are not to be missed. Go to Blowing Rock Ale House and Hotel (across the street) if on a budget. Splurge at The Best Cellar for a special meal if possible. Most restaurants are fine with casual/business dress. Most restaurants were accepting of a collared shirt/nice T-shirt and nice shorts/jeans for men for dinner.

We liked this hotel, and its personnel. The front area and cleaning staff are special and go out of their way to be helpful. We have recommended this hotel to friends and would stay in the suite again upon our return to Blowing Rock.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the stairway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buffgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Have been visiting Blowing Rock for years and we needed to go up for Appaclachian Freshman orientation for our daughter and decided to stay here. Great experience, Jackie was so helpful from start to finish and did everything to make sure we were comfortable for our overnight stay. Ed was also very helpful during our visit. We returned from oriention and feeling a bit overwhelmed so we decided to have a few cocktails and small plates outside. It was a perfect ending to a long day! The cocktails were very unique and the food was amazing as well, just wish we could've stayed longer!! Thanks again for a wonderful evening. We will return.

Room Tip: Room number 5 was very quiet and beautiful, we enjoyed the sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDEBORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Public House & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Public House & Hotel

Property: The New Public House & Hotel
Address: 239 Sunset Dr, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-7206
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Hotel has seven beautiful, light and airy guest rooms with an informal weathered interior bathed in natural sunlight. The fully renovated baths have big walk-in showers, modern sinks, luxury big towels and amenities.The king beds are new Kingsdown best hotel matresses. Sheeting is Frette Hotel all cotton.The furnishings are an informal weathered wood with plenty of light. Rooms include a LED flatscreen TV and super wifi connectivity. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing