We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Number one on my bucket list - stay here again”
other travellers have booked this property
Our mountain top cabin. Come enjoy the beautiful VIEWS, garden + hammock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our mountain top cabin. Come enjoy the beautiful VIEWS, garden + hammock
Have a glass of wine or cup of coffee on the porch and enjoy the VIEWS Living room with cathedral ceiling and handcrafted stone walls
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Our mountain top cabin. Come enjoy the beautiful VIEWS, garden + hammock
Have a glass of wine or cup of coffee on the porch and enjoy the VIEWS
Living room with cathedral ceiling and handcrafted stone walls
Living room with stair to 2nd floor bedroom/bathroom and loft
View from our front porch
Spring red-bud in bloom
Misty view from our 700 sq ft covered wrap around porch. Come enjoy the porch rain or shine
Panoramic, 5 STAR, long range views from Living Room, Dining + Bedrooms
Come enjoy our hammock in the sky
Sea of Clouds - View from the deck
You dog will love Hawks View as much as you
Come make memories with you loved ones
View from porch -stunning fall colors
Come relax in the hammock
Summer time garden
Misty summer view from the porch
Living room - open plan kitchen, dining.
Kitchen and dining room adjacent to living room space. Easy access to covered porch
Dine with a VIEW
Kitchen is fully stocked with everything that you will need.
Misty Morning VIEW from our porch.
Fall colors + rainbow from the porch
Spectacular sunset..each one unique
Another incredible sunset
Majestic stormy views from the balcony
2nd floor bedroom with queen bed and private balcony
2nd floor bedroom
2nd floor private baloney
Long range views of the Black Mountain Range from 2nd floor balcony
2nd floor bathroom
Handmade sink by local ceramic artist
2nd floor bathroom
Fall Views from our porch
Misty sunset from the porch
Relax in our rocking chairs. Enjoy the FANTASTIC views, sound of running water from our fountain
SUMMER - our handcrafted iron teapot fountain. Enjoy the sound of running water with a VIEW
One of the many spectacular sunsets from our porch
Where does the rainbow end, in your soul or on the horizon?” Pablo Neruda
1st floor bedroom with queen size bed and view of mountains
1st floor bathroom Handmade sink by local ceramic artist
1st floor bathroom Handmade sink by local ceramic artist
Your pet pooch will love our porch too
2nd floor loft with game /computer table. Lots of games and books available for guests
Loft futon converts to full size bed
Loft that over looks living space below. Game/computer table. Games, puzzles and books provided
Misty sunset from the porch
Each sunset is unique
Firewood and kindling provided for your stay and enjoyment of wood stove
Zorro our fur baby enjoy the cozy wood stove.
Hummingbirds abound at the porch feeders
Our views are ancient...the experiences all new
Private and Secluded. Hawks Views in on 4 acres w/no adjacent houses or public road ways
Beautiful winter morning from our porch
Winter at Hawks View
Sky afire - winter sunset
Beautiful late March snow day
Snow day
Winter snow VIEW
Winter
Winter
Winter VIEW from the  porch
Zorro our fur baby enjoying the fresh snow
Sip your favorite beverage by our cozy Lopi woodstove. Firewood provided
As artists we love to collect and make unique  things. This a handmade  folk art flag that we made.
Stone wall by front door
Misty morning VIEW
Red Sky Sailors Delight
Fall VIEW of the Black Mountain Range from our porch. On a clear day you can see Mount Mitchell
View from porch - stunning fall colors
Blue bird day with blanket of fog still hanging in the valley below
Mountain VIEWS in full color from our porch
Fall views from our deck
We welcome your pets. Zorro our basenji dog loves Hawks View.
Fall view from the porch
Sea of Clouds
Fall colors and rainbow
Fall Foilage at Hawks View House. Driveway approach to house
2nd Floor Balcony overlooking the Black Mtn Range
Another awesome sunset from the porch
Rainbows, whirligigs and bottle trees at Hawks View House
Night Time on the Porch at Hawks View
Morning sunrise
Wild turkeys on the drive way
Blue bird sky with VIEWS
Come enjoy one of the many waterfalls near Hawks View. This is Crabtree Falls
Take a relaxing hike on near by Roan Mountain
We are just a few miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway at MP 331.
So many fun things to do in the area like horse back riding
Near by Grassy Creek Falls
Near by Roan Mountain in Bloom a great place to visit during your stay
Roan High Bluff Overlook
Craggy Gardens Trail
Awesome views at the top of Craggy Pinnacle Overlook
Dillinger Gist Mill in Bakersville
Near by Mt Mitchell the highest point east of the Mississippi
Penland Gallery
Orchard at Altapass
Cycling on the Parkway
Come enjoy a balloon ride in the mountains?
Ziplining
Mica Gallery in Bakersville
Did you know there is only 1 tunnel in VA and 25 in NC. Near by  Craggy Pinnacle Tunnel
Near by Chestoa overview off the Blue Ridge Parkway
Rafting
Emerald Mine. Spruce Pine 'The Mineral City' lots of local gem mines to explore
Fishing on the North Toe River that runs through our town of Spruce Pine
Near by Little Switzerland, just a short drive down the parkway
Mountain Farm is a sustainable, 24-acre lavender, blueberry and dairy goat farm
Grandfather Mountain swinging bridge
Mineral Museum in Spruce Pine at Mp 331 at  Blue Ridge Parkway
Visit the Biltmore Estate 49 miles away in Asheville
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Blowing Rock, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
scottishm...
Scot in England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Number one on my bucket list - stay here again”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place is just too good to describe and do it justice...... The view is breathtaking, whatever the weather..(in our 3 night stay we had torrential rain, hailstones and bright clear skies which resulted in fantastic variations). The house itself is immaculate with everything you would need for a self catering stay. The porch just cries out to you to relax and enjoy the views, and while you are preparing food on the great grill watch the humming birds feeding from the bird feeders or the large hawks soaring over the hillside.
we spent 10 months going literally round the world 2 years ago and the view from this house beats all.... closest was Mt Tamborine in Australia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and accommodation
Liked least: Drive up the mountain
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trampledb...
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place, highly recommend”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

If your looking for peace, solitude and an amazing view of the mountains then this is it. My husband and I and another couple went for a long weekend and only left the place once. There are plenty of nearby activities but we just wanted to relax. The home is well designed and the artwork is whimsical and one of a kind. It also has the best stocked kitchen and most comfortable bed I have experienced in a rental. Would not recommend for families with toddlers due to sharp drop in property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheba J
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Magical Mountain Gem”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Hawk's View has been bookmarked for the last two years as the place my husband and I wanted to run away to if we ever managed to get away. (20 years without a vacation is too long!) I have travelled all over the world, staying in the most luxurious, and most run-down locations you can imagine.... Hawk's View.... hands down, is the most spectacularly beautiful location of them all. The narrow and slowly winding, single lane road to the house, was an exhilarating introduction to the property...then you round the hairpin bend in the road, and this friendly cottage on a hill welcomes you with whimsical art, waving from the porch... birdhouses, sculptures, hidden treasures galore...and hummingbirds buzzing toward their feeders.
Then there is the view... North Carolina's rolling mountains, stacked in grays and purples...with the green valleys below adding pops of sunshine to the landscape. I felt myself let out a deep, long-held breath... refilling my tired body with fresh mountain air. The view was not only peaceful, but invigorating!
Walking into the house, we were met with the perfect mix of modern, eclectic and rustic...the Stones have a knack for decorating, and an appreciation for local artisans that is evident throughout the house. Take the time to really look around each room, and you will find glorious treasures hidden in unsuspecting places. The picture windows throughout the house allow you to drink in the view whether lying in bed, or sitting on the couch. The kitchen is modern, clean and well organized with every utensil, crockpot, or fying pan needed.
Bedrooms at Hawk's View are comfortable, clean and filled with light (no worries, there are shades if you love the dark!), and again... the view! Upstairs there is a cozy loft filled with games, books and more treasures, along with a second bedroom that has a private balcony that boasts...you guessed it... that spectacular view!
Hawk's View is not a vacation rental, a resort, or a house... it is a home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace-filled, majestic views while sitting on the porch.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer! There is nothing to dislike here.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine O
Arcadia, Indiana
1 review
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

There are not enough words to describe the view from the porch of this mountaintop paradise! We didn't want to go anywhere....we just wanted to sit in the rockers and soak it all in. The cabin itself is immaculate. It has all of the comforts of home along with a unique decor and whimsical pieces of art throughout the home. The owners leave no stone unturned when it comes to the "how-to's " of the cabin. From operating the wood-burning stove to opening the futon...they have not missed a thing! This was truly one of the best family vacations we have ever had and we look forward to making the trek to this gorgeous hideaway for many years to come!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the architecture of the home were wonderful.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KABA2
Henderson, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Fabulous Vacation Home”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in July 2014

"Wow!"
That's all my husband and I could say from the moment we arrived at Hawk's View.
The cabin is beautiful. It is modern and clean, yet rustic and cozy with all of
the amenities of home. And the open mountain view is incredible! We loved
sitting on the private balcony and the lower deck looking at the wonderful view.
The morning fog and sunsets were both amazing. We could not ask for more. We
loved each moment that we were there and wished we could have stayed longer. It
is a hidden jem. Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home with us and we
will definitely be back again soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View Location Design
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanRober...
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Love the Cabin”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

"We feel so lucky to have found this lovely home so close to Penland School. The morning fog is awesome. The privacy, comfort and the design outstanding. This is a perfect get away. we appreciate your sharing your home with others. Jean and Robert, South Carolina"
The perfect place for peace and relaxing an of course re-connection! Spectacle VIEW and perfect time of year -leaves just showing their colors. Thank you for a beautiful "home away from home"! We stopped in town and hunkered down for the weekend. The artist touches within the house (along with the creation of the house) added such a touch of whimsy and charm. Just beautiful and absolutely refreshing? We look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing