We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ in a family friendly atmosphere”

Woodlands Barbeque Restaurant & Catering Service
Ranked #10 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Located just minutes South of the Blue Ridge Parkway on Highway 321 Bypass in Blowing Rock, NC, Woodlands Barbeque Restaurant specializes in North Carolina Barbeque Pork and Ribs, great food, nightly entertainment and catering. Our Restaurant’s Menu features barbeque beef, pork, chicken and ribs plus home style Mexican food. Family oriented with a rustic atmosphere. We cater to bus tours. Dine In - Take out - Catering Service Woodlands Barbeque Restaurant is one of North Carolina’s best Barbeque Restaurants. Our Menu features barbecue beef, pork, chicken and ribs. Home style Mexican food. Plus large selection of everyone’s favorite appetizers, sandwiches and desserts. Live nightly entertainment. Dine and listen to some of the best local musicians. Bar Lounge has all ABC permits and a wide screen TV. Our Catering specializes in Barbecue and Pig-Pickin’s for parties large and small. The catering staff arrives with your main course still smoking over hot hickory coals. Then your pork is chopped just minutes before serving it to your guests along with all the fixin’s.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good BBQ in a family friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Barbecue here is different than what we get at home in South Florida but is very tasty just the same. The ribs have a slightly smoky flavor to them, a good bark and great smoke color to the meat. They appear to be done with a dry rub that is not overpowering, allowing the flavor of the meat to dominate. The chicken wings are the biggest I have seen, yet tender and juicy and covered in a slightly sweet, slightly vinegary sauce that complements them well. The cole slaw, baked beans and collard greens are the best of the side dishes. The hush puppies are a close second.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BarryV954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    193
    71
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granite Falls, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best BBQ Anywhere”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My son and I regularly visit Woodlands. It is the best BBQ we have ever had and we've had BBQ from all over this country. Our favorite meal is the chopped pork with regular cole slaw, okra, beans and hush puppies. The food is always fresh. The staff is always friendly and courteous. We won't go anywhere else when it's BBQ time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good lunch stop”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stopped for lunch and this would be our 3rd BBQ stop for the week. This place gave you a choice of hot or mild vinegar based sauce, which my husband prefers over a thick and spicy bbq sauce. So he would say it was excellent.

You can get a meal or platter type. This difference is the number of sides. Either way, it was no served as a sandwich, but just as pork (and a lot of it), hush puppies, and your sides. The BBQ coleslaw was not to our liking, but still had a fresh homemade taste. The pork was very good.

They had some craft beers to choose from. Our lunch with a beer for two cost us just under $30. It was a good stop once we got through the construction.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrendaJean316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“OK BBQ, good price, great experience!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a BBQ place, so let's just get this out of the way first: the BBQ itself is just OK to above average. I've had better, but I've had much, much worse. We had sliced pork, shredded chicken, and ribs. The sides were very good (collard greens and cornbread). We also got an order of fresh pork rinds (the large is LARGE). One of my kids had a grilled cheese from the kids menu. It was buttery and good.

Woodlands earns four stars because the food is cheap, the service is good, and because you can hear live bluegrass seven nights a week while dining (music starts at 6pm).

The place was pretty crowded, but we didn't have to wait for a table. If you are in the Blowing Rock area and like BBQ and/or live music, you must stop in to Woodlands!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluestruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Won't recommend”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This used to be my "go to" place for BBQ here in Blowing Rock. Not so any more. Interestlingly, their catering food is actually very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woodlands Barbeque Restaurant & Catering Service also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Woodlands Barbeque Restaurant & Catering Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing