We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and value”

Woodlands Barbecue and Pickin Parlor
Ranked #11 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal at Woodlands and very good service too. Baby back rib meat practically melted off the bone! The rib and chicken combo comes with 3 sides and cornbread and is a huge meal for the money.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marmoratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    183
    69
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Plenty of BBQ in Blowing Rock”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

It seems the past year or so when we stop to eat BBQ, even the local places near our house, the meat has been getting less and less with more gristle. We stopped here on a recommendation of a friend who knows good food. ( he owns a NY style Deli in NC) the food was more than any of us could eat. The BBQ was delish! The service was friendly and fast. A definite place to stop!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I haven't eaten here since I was a kid, even though I live 20 minutes away. My husband and I ate here today and the food and flavors have not changed. Excellent bbq, we got a Pork BBQ Basket and a Beef BBQ Basket. Both delicious. Their coleslaw was really good, loved the hushpuppies, the bbq sauce is also delicious. Our waitress was really sweet as well. Would go back again,

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Down Home BBQ”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Everytime I get in the area I have to stop at Woodlands for some slow smoked chopped pork BBQ, Corn on the cob and baked beans. Some of the best BBQ I've ever eaten and I used to drive truck across the US and stopped at many places in the last 30+years. The waitress was great and like always greated us with a smile and made sure we had enough to drink. We stopped late around 8PM on a Thursday this time and it was pretty crowded. Great bluegrass music being played also.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, Excellent service, Great Food”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The live entertainment was concert quality! Our waitress (Michala) was wonderful. She made sure our drinks were full, and our food came out on time. She was knowledgeable about the food and was able to make recommendations. I liked the sweet tea, the BBQ was good, and the best by far was the apple sticks! The apple sticks came out piping hot with a tray of fluffy whipped topping....Yum Yum!! I definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone passing through Blowing Rock, NC.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DML70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woodlands Barbecue and Pickin Parlor also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Woodlands Barbecue and Pickin Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing