We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Ridgeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ridgeway Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
davidson, nc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Great location downtown. Everything within walking distance. Minutes from the parkway. Stayed in the "Perfect Moment" suite. Complete kitchenette, big soft king bed and big bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInnsManager, General Manager at Ridgeway Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
The Ridgeway Inn is one of the only Inns in downtown that is just steps away from fine dining and elegant boutiques in beautiful Blowing Rock. It is also located within a mile of the Blue Ridge Parkway, and just a few miles to many attractions in the High Country. We have many suites and cottages to choose from to suit the needs of just about everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    90
    19
    17
    15
See reviews for
79
95
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hickory nc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Beautifully decorated room with leisure decks to wine and dine and meet new friends!
Stay here and walk to shops and restaurants....park your car at the motel and you may not need it again until you're ready to go home...something you will find hard to do!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recoveryHickoryNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1978, Manager at Ridgeway Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2009
Thank you for your wonderful comment. We appreciate hearing about our guest experiences while staying at our hotel and value their opinions. Please come back anytime you are back in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte nc
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We booked 2 rooms adjoining traveling with family. When we arrive it was centrally located as described. However, the rooms were dark and smelled like mold. The front desk attempted to cover up the smell with carpet freshner. It didn't work. We look at two other rooms upstairs and it was the same thing. They reaccomodated us to their sister propery Hillwinds at the same rate with out any problem. Hillwinds rooms were very nice and short walk to Main St. Would never stay in Ridgeway, especially if you have allergies.

Also none of the Village Inn's properties no longer have WINE with the cheese in the afternoon. They don't have a liquer license but they still advertise this on all websites.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IGREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1978, Manager at Ridgeway Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2009
I sincerely regret the author of this review was dissatisfied with the accommodations at the Ridgeway Inn. It is always our desire to provide exceptional service and quality to our guests during their stays. It is true that our properties no longer serve alcoholic beverages and we have removed all advertisement of wine from our websites. A replacement afternoon family snack reception is now maintained and is being widely accepted and complimented by our guests. The Ridgeway Inn remains an excellent accommodation choice for Blowing Rock and provides guests with many valuable amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charleston
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Love this hotel! The location is perfect; close to the park, shopping and restaurants and many attractions. The staff was professional and knowledgeable. Our room had two king beds, full kitchen, washer & dryer and flat screen TV. It had plenty of room to move around. I would highly recommend this Inn for any family.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gskb04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanardifan
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2008

My wife and I were there for a wedding in Blowing Rock. The Ridgeway Inn is way beyond it;s better days, and is in dire need of a complete and total renovation. Sure, they've added some new bathroom fixtures, and slapped a flat screen TV on the walls, but as the saying goes: "You can't put lipstick on a pig". Our room smelled dank and musty, like an old house that hasn't been ventilated in years. By the time we left this morning, both of us had a cough, and sneezing fits from the mold spores! We're home now, and recovering ;-)

In short, this place is a dump, and does not offer any value for the $$ they charge. One good thing, though. If you want to stay someplace that's walking distance to "downtown" Blowing Rock, it fits the bill.

  • Liked — The flat screen TV!
  • Disliked — The smell.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zanardifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerVIBR, General Manager at Ridgeway Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2008
It is always our goal to provide exceptional accommodations and service, we regret that we did not meet the author of this reviews expectations. I was very surprised to hear of these issues on tripadvisor, for none of them were brought to our attention during the guests stay at our property.
Our inn offers a tremendous value with excellent amentities with continuos improvement to better accomodate our guests needs.
I sincerely regret that these guests returned home sick but I strongly believe it had nothing to do with our inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAROLINA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

A very nice hotel near everything. Short drive to Julian Price Park and Moses Cone Trails (Bass Lake). The hotel is right off of Main St and a nice walk for anyone (kids to older) to the park, shops and restaurants.

The room had two queen beds, bath/shower was adequatedly supplied with nice things like shampoo's.

Pros-location, decent evening wine and cheese,breakfast.
Cons-Carpet was older and needs replacing, internet was available half the time we were there. There is a computer in the lobby.

Parking-Unless you are pulling a trailer or driving a Suburban, don't worry.

  • Liked — Location near shops, park, restaurants
  • Disliked — Internet service was poor
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jjflash73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

This Inn is a 10, Very clean, well stocked room. We stayed in The Perfect Moment Cottage, it has a seperate bedroom w/tv and living room with microwave, refrigerator, sink etc.
Staff was excellent, well informed personable, and met our every needs.
Restaurants and shops within 5 min walk.
We will stay here next time we go to Mountains.

  • Liked — very clean, and nicely decorated
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmurmade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.4 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgeway Inn

Property: Ridgeway Inn
Address: 131 Yonahlossee Rd, PO Box 1809, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9845
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ridgeway Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ridgeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridgeway Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing