We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs some serious help” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Speckled Trout

The Speckled Trout
Ranked #37 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Price range: US$0 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Needs some serious help”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Understaffed. Not clean. Had to ask for everything. Chef apologized for everything and did comp our wine. Oysters were just okay would not go back

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    26
    19
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stopped here for a quick lunch while in the area. It was not very busy at the time. Not sure if we will be back, but I honestly cannot say anything bad about this restaurant. Service was good, staff was helpful - which is more than we were reading in tripadvisor reviews about other restaurants in the area...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Last choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

There are some very good restaurants in Blowing Rock, but this is not one of them! It use to be several years ago, but has gone downhill. If everything else is too busy and you are hungry, it is fine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rougemont
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Family of four with very different tastes. Had the salmon and shrimp and they were perfect. Kids enjoyed their salads and calamari for app was delicious. Wait staff and cook were friendly and seemed concern that our meal was as we wanted. Highly recommend to trip to the end of Main St, Blowing Rock

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wetracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Extremely small portions, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We ate at the Speckled Trout for lunch with 8 people. It is very small inside, but wasn't busy so there was plenty of seating. The food quality wasn't bad, but it wasn't anything I would return for or recommend to anyone. The burgers and chicken fingers looked like they came from the freezer section of a grocery store. The food was served on paper plates and we were given 12 oz styrofoam cups for our drinks. The biggest complaint was that the meals were the smallest portions I have ever seen at a restaurant. The burgers and fried flounder sandwiches did not come with any sides. The chicken finger meal included TWO chicken fingers, 2 small hush puppies and a handful of fries. Needless to say, everyone left hungry. The people next to us wanted to sit at a table that had not been cleared yet. When the woman asked a restaurant worker if they could have the table cleared, he handed her a bottle of windex and a roll of paper towels! We won't be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CUatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Speckled Trout also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Speckled Trout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing