We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent meal!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Speckled Trout

The Speckled Trout
Ranked #37 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Price range: US$0 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This ranks as one of the best meals I have had in a restaurant in a long time. The bread was so hot and fresh we had to let it cool to cut it. The fried green tomatoes we had as an appetizer were perfectly prepared. We had trout (their specialty) for our entree and it was excellent - seasoned with their special blend of 17 spices (I asked!). Even the side dishes were delicious. And the service was great as well - the chef even came out and asked us how we liked it. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Layli N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    26
    19
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Blowing Rock Must Do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We were in BR last month and wanted to grab a bite at a casual place. We found The Speckled Trout and are so glad we did. We sat on the deck out front and were immediately greeted by a pleasant young man who took excellent care of us. Dinner was delicious and the service was wonderful. We've been to BR many times but this was our first visit here - we will return!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kkanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Will not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I am so disappointed. This used to be a nice little hole in the wall type place to get a good little lunch. I should have known when I went in and most of the tables were empty. When you go in the door the menu is now written up on the wall and the girl at the register takes your order and you pay for it then. (I know why they don't let you pay after you eat.) They bring your food to your table. You get your own utensils and drinks off the counter. The place is NOT clean, which immediately makes me nervous. The tea tasted old. My husband ordered shrimp. He got 10 tiny little popcorn shrimp, three tiny hushpuppies and about 2 ounces of slaw, served on a paper plate. The cocktail sauce was so strong I could smell it across the table from him. I ordered black bean hummus, it was served with run of the mill out of the box crackers, (10 of them) and was also on a paper plate. Condiments are in open containers on the counter and didn't look fresh. This place needs some serious help, maybe the Food TV people could visit them and give them a hand.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clinicphn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
1 review
“Needs help.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

VERY disappointing! The waiter and chef were very nice, but it did not make up for the poor quality of food. My crab cakes were probably two to three days old and reheated. Very dry and bland, and expensive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caffine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Needs some serious help”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Understaffed. Not clean. Had to ask for everything. Chef apologized for everything and did comp our wine. Oysters were just okay would not go back

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Speckled Trout also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Speckled Trout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing