We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Selling view.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canyons

Canyons
Ranked #19 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Price range: US$7 - US$19
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Selling view.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

This place survives on its rare mountain view. Atmosphere, service and food would never make it without this location. As the only resturant nearby witha great view, they take full advantage of it. Just a fun place to get a beer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hikerws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    171
    88
    38
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great View and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was our first visit to the area for a family vacation and the only restaurant we visited. We came to the restaurant on Sat, after Thanksgiving around 3pm and it was crowded with a 30min wait, We usually do not wait, however, we felt it must be good for all these people to be eating there. We took in the beautiful mountain views from the parking lot while we waited.
We had a party of 9 and the service was wonderful! The staff was more than helpful and attentive. The food was good for a lunch type menu-moderate portions.The pricing was good for the food items.The restaurant offers music at certain times.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mountain View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

It would be easy for this place to rest on their Laurels because of the beautiful view, but they don't. This was my first time there and I was very pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious and every one of the staff was friendly and helpful. I had a burger and my husband had a Reuben. They have a big selection on the menu, plus daily specials.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Service and Outstanding Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I visited Canyons, not once but twice, on our recent mountain vacation. He ordered fish and chips. We are from an area near the NC coast and I suspected he had made a mistake. I was wrong! He had two large pieces of flounder fried in a beer batter to perfection. The beer batter crust was thin and crispy while the fish was moist. Delicious! I ordered the black beans and yellow rice with chicken. Very flavorable. Our server was Matt and he was very good.
We returned on a Saturday night and ordered the same as before. I was going to try something else but our server recommended the black beans and rice with smoked sausage. Again, delicious. My husband's fish was just as good on the second visit as on our first.
The black beans and yellow rice was so good I contacted Canyons and received a prompt response with the recipe.
I have read some of the unfavorable reviews and am surprised. We will definitely visit on our next trip and would recommend you give it a try! Remember, this is not fine cuisine, just good eating with reasonable prices!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer and Ke... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
298 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Big Mistake”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

How I wish I had read the TERRIBLE Reviews on T.A. instead of listening to a friend who recommended this dump. GO ELSEWHERE! We ate and froze here Thursday, 10-24-13. We were seated at the large window area and immediately felt cold air. We kept our coats on throughout the entire terrible meal. Our table had wobbly legs; we placed a tube of my lipstick on it and the lipstick immediately started rolling 'downhill'! Our waitress was really sweet and attentive, but our food horrible. My husband ordered the Maui Chicken sandwich with their home fries. The fries were hard and bland (could only eat a very few because he was afraid of breaking a crown!). The grilled chicken was no better than Arby's and the BBQ sauce on the side was so watered down! I ordered a plain quesadilla with beans and rice and pico de gallo. Worse cheese quesadilla I have EVER eaten. The pinto beans (not refried) were not even lukewarm. My husband did order a cup of their clam chowder and he said it was actually surprisingly good. We shared a piece of Darby pie. Do yourself a favor and buy a Toll House cookie freshly baked and put a tiny bit of Cool Whip on it. MUCH CHEAPER and tastier. The décor???? DRAB, OUTDATED and DIRTY LOOKING. Just nasty. On the way out I felt warmth and remarked to my husband, "This is where we should have eaten! We would not have frozen!" The manager heard me and said, "Oh, no! I will have to take care of that!" (Yeah, right). All he had to do was look at ALL THE PATRONS SITTING BESIDE THE WINDOWS WITH THEIR COATS STILL ON and sort of hunched over for warmth!) Stop in the parking lot for photos and eat elsewhere. REALLY.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luvsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canyons also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing