We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family meal”
Review of Canyons

Canyons
Ranked #22 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Price range: US$7 - US$19
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Concord, NC
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice family meal”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had an early dinner with our two small kids. The food was good, the soup, clam chowder and carrot curry were both amazing! The view was amazing as well. Friendly service and it was a nice place to eat with the kids, at least it was 5 to 7ish. We have been before and will continue to return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2vacation0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    181
    99
    41
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic trout & veggies”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The trout sandwich, which is usually on special, is fantastic! Instead of fries or chips, I always get the veggie medley, which is also fantastic. If the trout wasn't so good, I would just get a double order of the veggies!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Early dinner after a hike, not impressed”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We went for a hike at Julian Price Park off the Blue Ridge Parkway on Memorial Day weekend and stopped here for a early dinner. We picked the Canyons because of the good reviews and the views. We were disappointed. The views were good but restaurant was more perpendicular to the scenery and the best seating was on the deck or next to the the windows. We asked for a table on the deck. The deck was small, smaller than the one on my house. The view was nice the deck was cramped and there was no umbrella to shield against the bright sun. It was rather uncomfortable and failed at the experience I was hoping for. The food was mediocre at best. I had the Rueben, my wife ordered the chimichanga, son a hamburger, and daughter the chicken strips with Thai sauce. The Rueben was edible but boring and my wife said the same about the chimichanga. My son did not complain about the hamburger. The chicken strips with Thai sauce was the best. The regular french fries were better than the homemade chips. We also ordered the spinach artichoke dip for an appetizer that was good. The beer selection was ok. The restaurant building was run-down and dirty looking on the inside. The carpet was worn and stained and the deck was pretty bad looking. The place was old and outdated and kind of smelled dank inside, I'm not sure what people love about this place from other reviews because it was just plain or average at best. There service was great but the wait staff looked like they could use some new clothes with stains on their shirts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RKNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not Likely To Return”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The food wasn't bad, but for the price, it wasn't great! The bathroom wasn't clean and the restaurant even with the view just was not impressive enough to eat there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Love4Mint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Outstanding Views!!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

On our recent mountain trip we visited Canyons and we were not disappointed! I had the Veggie Burrito which was delicious and my husband had the Canyons Burger which he said was delicious also. Of course we had to visit again and again, we were very pleased. We both chose specials that day, a grilled trout sandwich and a fried green tomato sandwich with bacon, lettuce and pimento cheese. Again delicious!! The reviews report the old carpet which I agree needs to be replaced. The reviews also report dirty bathrooms which I disagree with but they could certainly use an updating. The service is always good and they continually aim to please. This is not fine dining, just good food. I recommend you give it a try!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer and Ke... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canyons also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing