We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”
Review of Hillwinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillwinds Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed one night in the Tarheel Suite. It was okay but needed updating, we did not think it was worth the extra money. No coffee maker in the room which we thought was unusual. Not the romantic setting that we were hoping for.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Hillwinds Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

Hillwinds Inn is a classic motel layout, with a row of rooms opening directly onto the car park. We stayed for one night in room 115. This room needs refurbishment. The carpet was stained and looked dirty, all the paintwork was badly worn and chipped and the lampshades very dusty. There was a 4-way extension hanging off a wall socket with an untidy mess of cables wrapped around it. The room itself was dark and the bathroom particularly so. The shower curtain had mould in its creases, the metal heater was rusted and the toilet seat had a worrying wear mark on it. The paint on the bathroom ceiling was flaking off. Breakfast was a poor selection of packet food with the weakest coffee we had ever come across.
Blowing Rock is clearly a popular tourist destination and the Hillwinds Inn motel is well situated in the town. A premium for this in the room price would not therefore be unreasonable if the room itself was in good condition.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jon-b186349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our second trip to Blowing Rock. We enjoyed this motel more than one of its sister "inns", located just down the street. The standard motel rooms were much more roomy, with plenty of space for the king size bed and large chair with ottoman. Decor is attractive in both the room and guest lodge. Wine and cheese at 5 on the weekend with adequate breakfast in the morning. (During the week, need to walk to sister "inn" for wine and cheese.) Nice sitting area with fireplace and PC (although quite dark for working on PC). Staff is very friendly and helpful. Excellent location--short walk uphill to small downtown area.

Room Tip: Stayed in standard room in the one-story motel building, which was very nice. Suites are also availa...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdaggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I was looking for an inn that was pet friendly and My first impression when I opened the door is wow, this innkeeper cares about making you feel at home. The decor is more like a B&B than a motel with






The Inn matches the town's charm. Very well decorated, well maintained, clean rooms, and very pet friendly. Tile floors that look just like weathered hardwood and oriental rugs. We had two double bed room with a large comfortable club chair with an ottaman for sitting. The room had a small refrigerator, a chest of drawers, hanging closet, coffee maker, free internet, and HDTV w/ cable. The breakfast was very adequate but don't expect the chef-cooked variety. Another nice touch was a guest microwave in the common vending area for anytime use. I also liked the entry door with the shuttered privacy screen door on the outside so you could enjoy the fresh mountain air in your room and the rocking chairs on the outside. The Inn is in a great location and right next to a nice tavern with good eats. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Davidson Suite. The staff was very friendly and went above and beyond to assist us with our reservations. The suite has all of the necessities for a romantic stay. From the gas logs in the bedroom, the large tub and shower for two,and the very comfortable bed, nothing else is needed for a great stay! The night we stayed it rained so we cracked the window, turned on the gas logs and fell asleep listening to gentle rain. We look forward to many more relaxing stays at Hill WInds!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed here with our dog. The rooms were nice and decorated well. Pet friendly :). The staff were extremely nice (evening the phone when making our reservation. Great location to downtown. Loved sitting in the rocking chairs just outside of our room. Quaint and charming dedcribes this old Inn. We are glad we stayed .

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

OVERVIEW:
Hillwinds Inn is a member of the chain of smaller hotels with sister Inns located within the small city of Blowing Rock-NC. It has an alluring charm, cozy accommodation and all the necessary amenities worthy of its small town affluence. Despite the minor inconveniences that I’m willing to overlook, we would stay at this inn again.

TRAVEL DATES:
December-2011

LOCATION:
The hotel is located two blocks from downtown Blowing Rock. Restaurants and shops are less than a five minute walk. There are plenty of restaurant along the Valley Blvd, east of the Inn, most are less than a couple of minute drive. Blue Ridge Parkway is less than a ten minute drive.

POSITIVE NOTES:
The rooms are clean and cozy; Friendly staff; Designer amenities are provided daily; such as soap, shampoo, lotion, etc. Hotel has a gazebo which is great for relaxing. Rocking chairs are provided outside of all the rooms. In addition, all rooms are equipped with storm/screen doors which allow keeping your door open for ventilation while maintaining privacy at the same time. Bathroom has a separate heater which is great since we stayed there during winter. It kept our towels dry and the toilet seat warm.

NEGATIVE NOTES:
The rooms are somewhat small, although, perfect for couples; The Wi-Fi signal is not strong enough in the rooms. I had to sit right next to the window to gain access on the internet; The breakfast is limited, primarily to cold breakfast selection with the exception of toast bread; No guest laundry facilities in the premises; Hotel do not accept AAA discount; The hotel daily rate seems a bit pricy.

AMENITIES:
Continental breakfast, Free Wi-Fi, Flat Screen TV, Mini-Fridge, Coffee Maker, Nice designer amenities, such as soap, shampoo, lotion, etc.

NIGHTLY RATE:
Mid-$150 a night (taxes included)

DISCOUNT ACCEPTED:
Online discount: None
Poker Face discount: 20%

NOTES:
Please click the green “YES” button below if you find this review helpful. Thank you!

Room Tip: I only booked our accommodations for two nights; however, my wife and I decided to stay for two extr...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravellingTroubadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.1 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillwinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillwinds Inn

Address: Sunset Drive at Ransom Street, PO Box 1809, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: £67 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillwinds Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hillwinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillwinds Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing