We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location -”
Review of Hillwinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillwinds Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Apex, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location -”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at the Hillwinds Inn in late October when the fall season color was almost at peak and it was beautiful. The location is excellent on Sunset Drive , a few blocks from main street .
The Inn has renovated all their rooms 20 . in the anex to the Inn, they all have hardwood floors and rooms have either king bed or 2 double beds. room is nicely furnished with local flavors and has a good size. The grounds have an area with chairs and rocking chairs in a little gazebo which is a nice addition. The Inn offers 2 suites in main building with a small balcony. Continental breakfast in offer every morning from 7:30a-10:00a. Has a nice variety . Also has a nice sitting area with a fireplace . It is a very nice kept property. The staff is very nice and friendly . Blowing Rock Park is only a few minutes by car. Grand Father Mountain only 14 miles away on the Blue Ridge Parkway .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth29867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    57
    21
    15
    12
See reviews for
47
83
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chardon, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Hillwinds Inn. The room was really nice - two double beds. There was also a high table and 2 chairs in a small alcove - it added more space to the room and provided a place for setting up cheese and crackers. Outside there were 2 rocking chairs. Our room was on the corner so we saw activity along the street when sitting in them. The staff was very friendly. A continental breakfast was available from 7:30 to 10. It offered a good variety of breads, cereals, fruit, and microwave sandwiches. The Inn is located adjacent to town - possible to walk a few blocks to restaurants and shopping. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We like the corner room - seemed more private since it's on the end. It's also right across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmksmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walhalla, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We made a last minute trip for one night- up to see Blowing Rock & Grandfather Mountain--we first drive by and went to Village Inn-, they were all booked and kindly called to see if Hillwinds had a room- 1 left! This is a sister property just around the corner. What a surprise! It is an older property (gave me memories of being in the mountains with my grandparents when I was a kid)- but you open the door & it's great! Beautifully updated- everything that needs to be newer or fresh IS--the linens are fantastic- comfortable beds with down comforters & Peacock Alley blankets on beds! (Great taste) our room seemed more modern than some of the pictures on here- they must update routinely :) I loved that our room had hardwood floors with rugs--much cleaner than carpets! I usually get congested after being in a hotel room very quickly -- but learned here, if there is no nasty carpet-- I am fine! first trip I didn't feel like I needed allergy medication. what a plus! The room was clean and comfortable- so much so, that after a 3 hour drive- we got takeout from Outback just around the corner & stayed in our room. The Inn is located right in the heart of downtown-- you could walk to all the shops and restaurants-- but we took showers and relaxed! The rooms are smaller but perfectly sized- table for eating our dinner, a refrigerator in the top of a nice cabinet , dresser- the best surprise-- This place has new bathroom fixtures including a shower head with Fantastic water pressure! I have never had such a good water pressure and/or shower head in much more expensive hotels. Great flat screen TV on the wall, coffee maker with good coffee! The people complaining in other reviews about size etc- are either extremely picky or were mad about something else already-- not this place! You are in the MOUNTAINS for goodness sake- not New York City--this place is just right-clean and comfortable--Hillwinds is much more upscale than the cabins! Just like a nice hotel-Oh, and they allow dogs! There is a grassy area and they have a waste station with bags, etc. Inside the main building, there was a nice area for the breakfast- large, not crowded-It's no big deal to walk over to the office/kitchen/dining area--closer than most large hotels where you walk a mile away to another floor and stand in line forever in chaos.this is a very short distance- I have a prosthetic leg and was much more comfortable getting around here than a larger place. (I was shocked that people complained about this) and the parking lot is flat! It is great to park right in front of your door as well! Hillwinds is quiet, calm , nice staff- no complaints at all! My teenage son even loved it! He said it was just right! "Like a cozy home-"And actually wanted to stay in with his parents rather than go out! Shocking- We had a cozy relaxing family time- no distractions!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have been staying at the Hillwinds Inn every time we are in Blowing Rock (at least one time a year) for at least 25 years. Always clean, quiet. They remodel the rooms often, updating furniture and other items. Large outdoor sitting area and Troutman rockers (very comfortable) outside every room. Large continental breakfast - many choices. My husband had French toast; I had a banana and toast. We have always felt very safe. No worries when having to get something from the car (right outside of the room) in the middle of the night. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SE709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olmos Park, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We travelled the Blue Ridge Parkway for days and decided to stop in Blowing Rock. We went to several other places before stumbling upon the Village Inn. We were showed a suite and were instantly charmed. The suite had so many amenities that are not usually found. Full size kitchen with wine chiller, nice living room, bedroom, and luxurious bathroom. The restroom has a jumbo sized whirl pool tub, double sink, walk in shower with double shower head. The suite is decorated very pretty and made me feel like I wasn't so far from home. I recommend this place to anyone that appreciates details.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I can't fault this place, from the location, just a 2 minute walk to Main St, to the friendly staff and impeccably clean rooms. Very comfortable beds with down comforters. Wine and snacks offered at 5pm, and there is a gazebo where we took our breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff; one guest asked if there was any coffee left (about 4pm) and they immediately offered to make a fresh pot. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: They have suites and cottages but we stayed in a regular room, it was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We bought a coupon for two nights here. After reading other reviews on Tripadvisor, we didn't expect much, but were pleasantly surprised. Of course, this is an old facility, but everything has been updated. Our room was spacious and sparklingly clean. The staff was pleasant and knowledgeable. There was a nice variety of food for breakfast in a large, comfortable room where it was easy to connect with others, or find a cozy corner, if we didn't feel like socializing. Best of all, we could walk to shops and restaurants. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are rooms specifically dedicated to pets and for those like us, pet free rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LA2GARep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.1 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillwinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillwinds Inn

Property: Hillwinds Inn
Address: Sunset Drive at Ransom Street, PO Box 1809, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillwinds Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillwinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillwinds Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing