We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and adorable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillwinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hillwinds Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quaint and adorable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is an adorable little cluster of 'Inns' within the charming little town of Blowing Rock, NC. A bit pricey, but still very quaint and adorable...just a block from the town so within walking distance (which we did) to the shops and restaurants. Two of these Inns (including this one) are PET-FRIENDLY and we saw many other people there with their dogs. We traveled with our 2 big dogs and all they charged us was a $25 fee (a welcome relief from some of the other larger chain hotels which keep jacking up their pet fees. We had our own cottage but in a safe areas...hardwood floors, small kitchen, private bath. Just adorable. The gal that checked us in was very sweet and the check-in area has a lit fireplace and comfy chairs.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUZGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    55
    20
    14
    10
See reviews for
42
82
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Everything was spotless. There was a glitch in our reservation so we were upgraded to a larger suite. It was beautiful & the gas fireplace was heavenly. The inn is within walking distance to downtown. We didn't make it to breakfast so no review there. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Room just adequate , over priced for accommodation. Parking terrible, trees near cottage need to be trimmed, scratch pickup truck. Good location to Main Street. Bathroom very small. Nothing to write home about. Probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at the Hillwinds Inn in late October when the fall season color was almost at peak and it was beautiful. The location is excellent on Sunset Drive , a few blocks from main street .
The Inn has renovated all their rooms 20 . in the anex to the Inn, they all have hardwood floors and rooms have either king bed or 2 double beds. room is nicely furnished with local flavors and has a good size. The grounds have an area with chairs and rocking chairs in a little gazebo which is a nice addition. The Inn offers 2 suites in main building with a small balcony. Continental breakfast in offer every morning from 7:30a-10:00a. Has a nice variety . Also has a nice sitting area with a fireplace . It is a very nice kept property. The staff is very nice and friendly . Blowing Rock Park is only a few minutes by car. Grand Father Mountain only 14 miles away on the Blue Ridge Parkway .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth29867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardon, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Hillwinds Inn. The room was really nice - two double beds. There was also a high table and 2 chairs in a small alcove - it added more space to the room and provided a place for setting up cheese and crackers. Outside there were 2 rocking chairs. Our room was on the corner so we saw activity along the street when sitting in them. The staff was very friendly. A continental breakfast was available from 7:30 to 10. It offered a good variety of breads, cereals, fruit, and microwave sandwiches. The Inn is located adjacent to town - possible to walk a few blocks to restaurants and shopping. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We like the corner room - seemed more private since it's on the end. It's also right across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmksmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We made a last minute trip for one night- up to see Blowing Rock & Grandfather Mountain--we first drive by and went to Village Inn-, they were all booked and kindly called to see if Hillwinds had a room- 1 left! This is a sister property just around the corner. What a surprise! It is an older property (gave me memories of being in the mountains with my grandparents when I was a kid)- but you open the door & it's great! Beautifully updated- everything that needs to be newer or fresh IS--the linens are fantastic- comfortable beds with down comforters & Peacock Alley blankets on beds! (Great taste) our room seemed more modern than some of the pictures on here- they must update routinely :) I loved that our room had hardwood floors with rugs--much cleaner than carpets! I usually get congested after being in a hotel room very quickly -- but learned here, if there is no nasty carpet-- I am fine! first trip I didn't feel like I needed allergy medication. what a plus! The room was clean and comfortable- so much so, that after a 3 hour drive- we got takeout from Outback just around the corner & stayed in our room. The Inn is located right in the heart of downtown-- you could walk to all the shops and restaurants-- but we took showers and relaxed! The rooms are smaller but perfectly sized- table for eating our dinner, a refrigerator in the top of a nice cabinet , dresser- the best surprise-- This place has new bathroom fixtures including a shower head with Fantastic water pressure! I have never had such a good water pressure and/or shower head in much more expensive hotels. Great flat screen TV on the wall, coffee maker with good coffee! The people complaining in other reviews about size etc- are either extremely picky or were mad about something else already-- not this place! You are in the MOUNTAINS for goodness sake- not New York City--this place is just right-clean and comfortable--Hillwinds is much more upscale than the cabins! Just like a nice hotel-Oh, and they allow dogs! There is a grassy area and they have a waste station with bags, etc. Inside the main building, there was a nice area for the breakfast- large, not crowded-It's no big deal to walk over to the office/kitchen/dining area--closer than most large hotels where you walk a mile away to another floor and stand in line forever in chaos.this is a very short distance- I have a prosthetic leg and was much more comfortable getting around here than a larger place. (I was shocked that people complained about this) and the parking lot is flat! It is great to park right in front of your door as well! Hillwinds is quiet, calm , nice staff- no complaints at all! My teenage son even loved it! He said it was just right! "Like a cozy home-"And actually wanted to stay in with his parents rather than go out! Shocking- We had a cozy relaxing family time- no distractions!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have been staying at the Hillwinds Inn every time we are in Blowing Rock (at least one time a year) for at least 25 years. Always clean, quiet. They remodel the rooms often, updating furniture and other items. Large outdoor sitting area and Troutman rockers (very comfortable) outside every room. Large continental breakfast - many choices. My husband had French toast; I had a banana and toast. We have always felt very safe. No worries when having to get something from the car (right outside of the room) in the middle of the night. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SE709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.1 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillwinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillwinds Inn

Property: Hillwinds Inn
Address: Sunset Drive at Ransom Street, PO Box 1809, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillwinds Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hillwinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillwinds Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing