We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quick fam. getaway, price over our planned budget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillwinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hillwinds Inn
Ranked #9 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
nc
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“quick fam. getaway, price over our planned budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

we booked this as a quick getaway for a fam. member bday. we were pleased we were able to get dog-friendly accommodations on such short notice. the only reason a 4 out of 5 is because i think we weren't given all checkin info we needed on arrival. we were a little disoriented since this was our first visit to blowing rock in several years, plus we hadn't been near Hillwinds Inn location for many years. price was over our planned budget but overall i would still recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteoakstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    55
    20
    14
    10
See reviews for
42
82
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Hillwinds is one of three sister properties in Blowing Rock. We choose it over the other two because of its location on Sunset and just a short walk to Main St. The property is older but completely redone with hardwood floors and new fabric. The breakfast is mostly prepackaged fare but is ok. The only negative is the afternoon happy hour. Don't waste your time on the plastic wrapped cheese sticks and no so great wine. There are plenty of restaurants near by pouring good wine. We have stayed here 7-8 times and always go back for short stays. They do have a few rooms that are pet friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAG5088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in the Davidson Suite so we had a full kitchen, HUGE bathroom with Jacuzzi tub & 2 person shower. It was lovely. We could walk everywhere and the service was great. I can't say anything wrong about the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moshee7872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our family, including a preschooler and infant, stayed here for an overnight trip to Blowing Rock. We booked through Priceline and check in and check out were easy. I called ahead and asked for a unit on the end, confirmed details of the stay and wanted to make sure our room was not a pet friendly room. They were able to honor our request for an end unit in a room that had not been used with pets. We did travel a few days after the Fourth of July, so we enjoyed the calm after the holiday. The room has been renovated and updated, as I stayed here as a young lady with my family and grandparents over twenty years ago. Flat screen TVs and carpet replaced with laminate flooring. A few items - bathroom fan, tiles and vents are not new, but everything was kept in good shape. I would say the room was well maintained and clean. The bathroom is very small, and we ended up keeping our roll out toiletries bag out on the little breakfast table in the room.
Breakfast is adequate - bagels, toast, cereal, milk, OJ, coffee, yogurt. There were a few hot items you could microwave, but we didn't go that route. The dining area was large enough to accommodate guests, but we only had to share with one other couple.
We loved that staying at this hotel allows you to easily walk up to Blowing Rock Park or to the shops downtown without having to get in the car. We took a family stroll after dinner up the hill until sunset.

Room Tip: If you have a preference on rooms, let them know. They seem to be accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allidunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is my husband's and my third trip to Blowing Rock for a 4th of July birthday celebration. This time was a stay at Hillwinds Inn in the Davidson Suite. And we loved it! This is much more than a suite. . .it's a full-on apartment, private parking and entrance, full kitchen, living room, King bedroom, huge bath with 2 person jacuzzi tub and separate dual shower, private balcony. I cannot speak to the standard rooms but the Davidson Suite is the only way to go. And what a lovely surprise to have a birthday card from the staff on the pillow.
As for the location. . .easy walk to the shops and restaurants.
Oh by the way, this inn appears to be very pet friendly in the standard rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writergal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had purchased reservation vouchers on Groupon, which had a redemption period of one month (from the time we had bought it). Astonishingly, when we called to make a reservation, the receptionist informed us that they were out of rooms for this promotion. Considering that only 5 people had bought it at the time we purchased, I cannot fathom how they could possibly run out of rooms within 5 minutes. This was a terrible letdown, even before we had the chance to stay at the inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Pluses: The room was very spacious, king bed and big flat screen TV. Nice duvet.
Minuses: Small bath tub. The desk attendant was dodgy about the price, and breakfast was rubbish. Don't wake up believing you will get a proper cooked breakfast or soy milk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.1 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillwinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillwinds Inn

Property: Hillwinds Inn
Address: Sunset Drive at Ransom Street, PO Box 1809, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillwinds Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hillwinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillwinds Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing