We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly hotel within walking distance of Main St.”
Review of Hillwinds Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillwinds Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We visit Blowing Rock several times a year and stay at the Hillwinds Inn the majority of the time. And if we don't stay there we stay at a sister property (Village Inn or Ridgeway Inn). Hillwinds Inn has very charming comfortable rooms. The rooms are very updated with nice TV's and tiled baths. The continental breakfast is wonderful and the evening cheese and wine is a welcomed time at the hotel.
The location is perfect, across the street from the Blowing Rock Grill and a few hundred yards from Main St where you will find great dining and specialty shops. Also, there is a great park for kids at Main St. Nearby is Bass Lake with hiking for all ages and also nearby are Tweetsie Railroad and Boone, NC.
Pet friendly rooms are available for a small fee!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjflash73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1978, Manager at Hillwinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2009

So happy to see that you have enjoyed all of your visits to our hotels. Blowing Rock is a beautiful town and we certainly have a number of wonderful attractions. Thank you for your kind comments and please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Hillwinds Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2009

My wife and I enjoyed the stay at Hillwinds. The room was clean and comfortable and very quiet. The location was great, we could basically walk wherever we wanted to go. We will return later in the year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sctraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager1978, Manager at Hillwinds Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2009

Our hotel is placed nearly perfectly in the town of Blowing Rock with easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely hope you will return sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

A renovated motor lodge with requisite parking and noise right outside the door. There's only so much you can do with such a structure; bedroom and bathroom were small but clean with nice bedding. Mattress wobbled like Jell-O when turning over (and we're not large people). Stayed 2 nights. Hospitality was virtually non-existent and management gone by 7 pm. Only an emergency contact phone number was given. Picked up key to room in key drop (arrived just after 7 pm) and despite reservation for four and "Smith” Family being written on the envelope there were only towels for two. The next morning no apology was given for oversight, told housekeeping would be informed to leave towels for four that day. Continental breakfast was worthy of any Motel 6 (stale, partly defrosted bagels, frozen pre-packaged Danish pastries, pre-packaged cereal but with fresh apples. Central location is good but for the price we’d stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravellingScotNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2008

I stayed here for two nights with my wife this past weekend. Overall we are very happy with our time here. We stayed in the Davidson Suite and it was our first time staying at Hillwinds. Our suite was very clean, and very comfortable. There was a full Kitchen that appeared to be in great shape, although very minimally appointed with dishes/utensils. There was a sitting room with a love seat and chair and a terrible tv which wasn't a huge deal since we didn't go to Blowing Rock to watch tv (there was a smaller tv in the master that worked fine). The bathroom was great. It had a large jacuzzi tub, dual vanities, and a large shower with dual shower heads. It was tiled throughout and was in great overall condition. The master was plenty spacious and contained a king bad that was moderately comfortable. The provided breakfast was perfectly adequate with a small selection of foods, juices, and of course coffee. There was a wine and cheese hour from 5-6, but at this time of year that is during sunset (how one can be in the mountains and not catch the sunset?!) so I can't comment on that. Check in/out were both easy. The location is great, maybe 200 yards from Main St.

Note about the Davidson Suite: It is located above the common area so if you are a light sleeper it may affect your morning sleep when people are eating breakfast. Also, the entrance to this suite is on the back of the main building which is a bit annoying when carrying luggage, as there is no parking spot around back. Both of these were minor inconveniences for us.

Overall I would definitely stay here again. It is exactly what it is supposed to be: an affordable, clean, and quaint option in a great little town.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NC2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We're very pleased with our choice of Hillwinds for our two-night stay. The choice of room decorations and toiletries were very tasteful and comforting. The wine and cheese reception was a nice treat. Location is great for strolling up to the downtown shops. Our only minor quips were the small sink and bathroom shelf, dark shower curtain (like taking a shower in the dark) and that on Saturday morning the breakfast area was not open when it was supposed to be (there was a group of guests waiting for someone to arrive). We would stay there again, especially midweek when the rates are not as high as for the weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TarHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

We "blew" into Blowing Rock late in the day. Went to the B.R. Visitor Center. Marsha was very helpful. We told her we were on a budget(looking for under $100/ night room). She directed us to the Hillwinds Inn. The room was $79 including a light continental breakfast and simple wine and cheese happy hour at 5:00p.

The rooms were nice;and very clean remodeled in 2005. Very nice people working there.

Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

My mother & I stayed at the Hillwinds Inn for one night while in Blowing Rock and we were very pleased with our experience! Wished we would have stayed in Blowing Rock one more night so we could have stayed in our room! For the price we felt like we got a lot - Definitely not your typical hotel room - It was like staying in the guest room of someone's house! Our standard room (2 double beds) was very quaint & clean - beautiful decorations, nice flat screen TV, nice bathroom. We had a small refrigerator, coffee maker, etc. There were rocking chairs outside your room and a common area with adirondacks and rocking chairs (under gazebo). We loved the location of the hotel, too - an easy 2 block walk to Main St. & right next door to The Blowing Rock Grille. There is a daily wine & cheese reception, which was great (nice selection of cheese & crackers & good wine), and they offer continental breakfast (cereal, bagels, good coffee/tea, fruit, etc). We would definitely stay here again & I will recommend this hotel to friends staying in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank b3inRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.1 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillwinds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillwinds Inn

Address: Sunset Drive at Ransom Street, PO Box 1809, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: £66 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillwinds Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hillwinds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillwinds Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing