We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, cost effective, and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Inn of Blowing Rock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, cost effective, and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

The rooms are rustic with each having a nice deck with Adirondack chairs and a small table. Despite being located just off the road, it's very peaceful and not overwhelmingly loud. The staff is very friendly and offers suggestions on things to do in the area. My husband and I love the wine/cheese reception from 5-6:00 each day. The lodge serves a nice continental breakfast with hot piping cup of Seattle's best coffee. The hotel shower is one of the best we've been in---even better that a luxury hotel. The location is superb. You can walk downtown to all the restaurants and shops. This is important because parking can be a challenge in Blowing Rock. We also like that this hotel is pet friendly with a large green area in the back for our dog to stretch his legs and run.

We love this Inn compared to many others in Blowing Rock. You can't beat the quality for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    93
    41
    24
    18
See reviews for
36
177
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I booked a 2-night stay at Village Inn (Sat & Sun) using hotels.com knowing this would be a busy holiday weekend for foliage sightseers in the NC mountains. Upon arrival, the motel said that they never received our confirmation, despite the fact that I had it in writing and had received several confirmation email from hotels.com. The motel had zero availability. The staff person was nice and let us stay in the waiting area with free cookies and wine while also calling some of their sister properties to check on rooms. I contacted hotels.com and they immediately took care of the issue, including financial compensation for gas, price difference, and extra for inconvenience given that there were no available rooms anywhere in Blowing Rock.

We were told by Village Inn that our room would be cleaned and available early for the next day, by 11am (normal check-in 3pm). We showed up at 5pm, and our room was still not available due to "cleaning staff shortage". We waited another 45mins before the room was ready. I asked to speak with management both times, and was told they did not work there on the weekends and were not available to speak with, which I find unacceptable. The paperwork for the room at the hotel did note my hotels.com confirmation number and request for 2 nights, so I trouble believing that they were not the ones at fault in this situation.

Once we got in the hotel, the stay was fine. Rooms were quaint and clean, but quite small. The location is good. However, I would not stay at this hotel again given the poor/unavailable management status, and lack of customer service during a difficult situation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzyQSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WELCOME
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

This is quite possibly the best place to go for a very relaxed stay where the people are the nicest and the scenery is awesome. My husband and I have stayed here for several visits and will continue to stay there. Within wallking distance to downtown Blowing Rock and all the wonderful shops and restaurants on Main Street.

Room Tip: Call ahead if you want a hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VICKI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

My wife and I have been visiting Blowing Rock in October for the past twenty years and we love the area. We had mostly stayed at the Hillwinds Inn, but their rooms have not been well maintained so this year we stayed at the Village Inn. The rooms are smaller at the Village Inn and almost too small to be comfortable. Lighting was poor in the darkly decorated room, the only mirror is the small one above the bathroom sink, and the mattress was a saggy disaster. The bathroom has been redecorated with dark slate tiles and "granite" and is so small and tight that you almost have to leave the bathroom to turn around. It was the noisiest motel we've stayed in because of two things: the walkway in front of all the rooms is like a wooden front porch and you continually hear every footstep of everyone that walks on it and you also hear every time anyone closes the door to their room. It seems to thud and vibrate through the other rooms. This is also the first and only motel that makes you initial and sign a form that says you'll be charged for damage for pets (we had no pet), you'll be charged for smoking in the room (we don't smoke), and you'll be charged $100 or so if you lose a room key. Makes you feel less than welcome and more like you're being watched.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

The little motor inn that did transform itself into a great little inn. Fantastic location, within walking distance to downtown Blowing Rock and more. We stayed in a room without a hot tub, staff says #114 is the best room there( has a hot tub). Our room had a great king sized bed, adequate furnishings, mini fridge, and coffee maker. The baths are small, but very nicely done. The pond and fountain out front takes care of any traffic noise. Nice wine and cheese in the PM and a continental breakfast in the AM. The Inn is a great place to stay and enjoy all Blowing Rock has to offer.
PS right next door is a great restruant TWIGS and an ABC store.

Room Tip: We had rooms 119 and 120. Staff says 114 is the their favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amosrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

This looks like an old motel that some new owners put a ton of money in to renovate. Only negative was the road noise and the drunk couple next door fighting. Nice view of the stream from your deck with a hot tub.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seatow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limestone, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Our recent stay at The Village Inn had mixed feelings. First, the bed was really confortable. The bathroom was small. The electrical outlets did not accept my 3 prong laptop charge. The noise from the neighboring Night Club was loud until 1:00AM. The staff was GREAT

Room Tip: Don't get one near the Twigs Night Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1pipesmoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.2 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.5 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn of Blowing Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn of Blowing Rock

Property: Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Address: 7876 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9259
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn of Blowing Rock 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Village Inn of Blowing Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn Of Blowing Rock Hotel Blowing Rock
Village Hotel Blowing Rock
Village Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing