We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as always”
Review of Gideon Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gideon Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Great as always”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Relaxing atmosphere, superb staff. You will be a welcomed family member.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agrtextile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    58
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
462
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We have been coming to the Gideon Ridge Inn for getaway weekends for over ten years. It is still as lovely and well-run as ever. We usually stay in the "Cedar Cottage," which is the only room in a separate building. The view from the veranda of the main building is spectacular. Generally, our experience is that the clientele skews a bit older, and often includes a couple who is renovating their own mountain getaway in the area. My husband is a big fan of the afternoon tea. The breakfast is great, and it is well worth having dinner at the inn one evening. There isn't a better restaurant in town, and you can drink all the wine you want without worrying about driving on windy roads!

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are also the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maybeinerror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2011

I don't spend much time writing reviews, but after staying here for two nights, I couldn't resist. I came across Gideon Ridge on my way from Charlotte to Johnson City on business and was referred here by a friend.

It might be the cleanest, quaintest and peaceful places I have had the opportunity to visit in years! Filled with history and great views I would recommend this to anyone. I have visited many bed and breakfasts and Inns over the years but not one could hold a candle to Gideon Ridge.

I look forward to getting back there as soon as I can!

Make sure to ask for Christopher, he is a pleasure to meet and makes the visit a real treat.

GD

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nctraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
179 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This really is the most wonderful place to stay. As very weary travellers who had driven for 9 hours the welcome we received made the whole trip worthwhile. We were greeted with kindness, consideration and wine, and taken to the MOST beautiful cabin room which just made you want to curl up and stay for weeks. Our dinner reservations (sadly we were not there on a day when the inn serves dinner themselves) were in place and altered to suit our timings at a sister restaurant in town and Chris could not have done more to make us feel looked after.
The sad part was we had to leave the next morning, but we will definitely be back to enjoy the inn and its sublime location with views all around for much longer.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDandAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Gideon Ridge is our go-to place for a relaxing and a quiet get-away. It is a 45 minute drive from Merlefest,, a wonderful 4-day Americana outdoor music festival in North Wilkesborro. We like to put the two together for a a very special week-end and to celebrate our anniversary. Christopher went out of his way to see that all of our needs were attended to. The beauty of the mountain setting is indescribable-we get a new sense of awe every time we go. The owners have kept the origianl feel of the summer home it once was in the 1940s and yet also provide every comfort and amenity. Class all the way. Highly recommend and well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailmudrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We arrived at this great B&B after a day of fog, sleet and drizzle driving along the Blue Ridge Highway. By the time we arrived, the sky had cleared somewhat and we were able to enjoy the magnificent views surrounding this property. Our hostess was most welcoming and our room was neat, clean and cozy. We decided to stay put for the evening - enough driving for one day! - and so enjoyed a delicious dinner with great wine. Breakfast next morning was perfect. We wished we'd planned to stay in the area for more than an overnight, and will next time. I'd love the chance to sit outside on one of the lovely terraces.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanMarblehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Exquisite location with mountain views that go for ever - here's a really special very cosy place full of antiques - an inn that feels more like a home than a hotel – an intriguing place with books scattered around and a warm feeling of comfort and intimacy.
We stayed in the top dollar Cedar Cottage, slightly away from the main house with wooden steps leading down a short hill through the woods to the cottage – a spacious room well appointed with magnificent outside decking.
An inn with excellent ambience and a great breakfast - plus evening complimentary wine in the drawing room or outside on the terrace with its magnificent views and, I’m told (although sadly not on the cloudy and windy day we visited) spectacular sunsets. This really is a special hideaway on top of the world.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.7 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.6 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Ridge Inn

Property: Gideon Ridge Inn
Address: 202 Gideon Ridge Rd, PO Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gideon Ridge Inn is ten delightful guest rooms with mountain breezes, French doors and stone terraces. Intimate walking paths through elegant gardens. Ceiling fans and wicker chairs. Antiques and good books. Fine breakfasts to linger over. Earl Grey Tea and fresh-baked shortbread cookies to savor. Bedrooms with warm fireplaces and comfortable sitting areas. Crisp cotton bed linens and well-appointed bathrooms. And in the library, a grand piano with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Really! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gideon Ridge Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing