We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”
Review of Gideon Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gideon Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Gorgeous Views, Lovely Inn. We recently stayed in the French Room. Very pretty, very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and hearty. The Inn Keepers were always friendly and helpful. We especially loved the back porch overlooking the beautiful grounds and majestic mountains. Highly recommended stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was our favorite place to stay on a trip up the Blue Ridge Parkway. The room was large and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. Everything about the Inn was fabulous. We love to be outside and the outdoor seating for breakfast and dinner could not have been more inviting. The large porch was comfortable and the grounds were beautiful. We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TC D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Found this gem of an Inn via Tripadvisor looking for a place to stay on the way out east. Wow - what a beautiful place. Excellent place for couples with the views, food, atmosphere, service, and rooms to make it a very romantic and relaxing get away. Very short drive into Blowing Rock. Afternoon tea was great and the breakfast was off the charts. The restaurant on property is only open Tuesday-Sunday so we visited their sister restaurant Bistro Roca in downtown and was not disappointed with the food or wine choices. Planning another trip soon just to try the restaurant at the Inn. If you are a fan of Inns and B&B's this is a great place for couples young to old!

Room Tip: The Cedar Cottage Suite is separate from the main house ( lots of steps) but great for a couple. In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Can't say enough about our stay at Gideon Ridge. It was my friend's birthday and they made it a very special one to remember! Accomodations, dining, and service were all excellent. Great location with spectacular views. We hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TennesseeJeweler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We found Gideon Ridge Inn a few years ago while poking around Blowing Rock. We were lucky enough to peak into a few rooms and chat with the staff. We instantly fell in love with this place. We made reservations to return and could not wait. Due to unplanned issues, we had to cancel and never got back until last weekend. I had chosen Gideon Ridge to be the best, most romantic place for me to propose to my girl friend. It rained and it rained, fog shrouded us in like a blanket, but Gideon Ridge is awesome even when the weather is not. The staff was friendly, helpful and as excited as we were once I popped the question. The food was excellent and our room was everything we wanted. There is not a bad room in the place, but the Grandfather View is a wonderful place to share private time with the one you love. We recommend this room if you want something extra special. We have stayed in many places in this area, but this by far is our favorite. We will be back.

Room Tip: If the weather is right, get a room with a view. It is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We enjoyed our overnight stay at Gideon Ridge while on a driving tour of the Blue Ridge Parkway. The accommodations in the Blue Room were extremely comfortable. Chocolates and peanuts in the room, a refreshment bar with coffee, tea and cold drinks, and the availability of cocktails from their kitchen would keep anyone happy. We were made to feel right at home by the staff. Once we went down to relax on their porch with the beautiful view we never wanted to leave. Fortunately, we never had to! We loved the fact that they offer a full service restaurant right there and we had an amazing meal. That was a huge treat after driving all day. We returned to our room to find the bed turned down and a plate of cookies on the bedside table. Sweet! Breakfast the next day did not disappoint either. We wished we had more time to explore Blowing Rock. We would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: The Blue Room is huge, with nice views from all the windows. The bathroom reveals more of the age o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptBnMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Once again we loved our one night getaway to Gideon Ridge. The staff is helpful and friendly and the inn itself is so charming. The views are spectacular and while on the terrace, we met the most delightful couple and ended up dining with them that night. The food was delicious. Will always choose to stay here whenever we go to Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.7 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
635 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
476 reviews
1.6 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#8 of 16 in Blowing Rock
123 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Ridge Inn

Address: 202 Gideon Ridge Rd, PO Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: £121 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gideon Ridge Inn is ten delightful guest rooms with mountain breezes, French doors and stone terraces. Intimate walking paths through elegant gardens. Ceiling fans and wicker chairs. Antiques and good books. Fine breakfasts to linger over. Earl Grey Tea and fresh-baked shortbread cookies to savor. Bedrooms with warm fireplaces and comfortable sitting areas. Crisp cotton bed linens and well-appointed bathrooms. And in the library, a grand piano with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Really! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gideon Ridge Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing