We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gideon Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gideon Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canyon, Texas
2 reviews
“A Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We Had a delightful four night stay at the inn in October and enjoyed it immensely. The staff was just wonderful and the peace and quiet was just what we needed. The fireplace was an added treat. We enjoyed having a glass of wine with the other guests in the parlor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    58
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
449
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Beautiful view and nice home. Everything is just OK but when you pay this much money for a bed and a breakfast you expect something special. You expect something special at breakfast and for the management to treat you like their first guest. This B & B is missing that treatment. You can tell a B & B that the owner is involved. This one just seemed to be a business that was happy when you were gone. Have been to much better special places.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chucky89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Every year, there is a group of friends that visit a B & B. 10 Years ago, we had a wonderful experience at Gideon Ridge in Blowing Rock. We decided to return. First Wrong Decision! The hospitality was lacking, Horrid conditions in the basement rec room (water leaking and smelling), breakfast was just average, Bees in the room. I normally would not complain however for what you spend, the return is not there. No Extras...No fire built in the main room in the morning, etc. There was a large crowd for tea one afternoon and we asked if we could move into the dining room to sit and chat....we were declined and told we could go on the porch (at 41 degrees). As we were leaving, we all had purchased a bed and breakfast.com certificate to use. We really put the young lady out by asking to redeem. Although a beautiful place, will not be back. Owners were present ten years ago and we did not see them this trip...may make a difference in the attitude of the employees.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anderson59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Always such a beautiful and wonderful place to visit. The staff is always so nice and the place so well kept. The views are breathtaking. My husband and I always spend as much time as we can on the terrace reading... and of course it's a very short drive from downtown Blowing Rock and the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have stayed at Gideon Ridge many times and never get tired of it. Each room is different in decor. The beds are extremely comfortable. Love the wooden floors throughout the entire Inn. We enjoy sitting on the porch out back and enjoying the scenery the lovely gardens provide and the mountains in the background. The library is my favorite place to read a good book and listen to some soothing classical music. This is a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of life and enjoy some peace and quiet among beautiful surroundings. The staff is extremely helpful with recommendations of places to eat and things to do in the surrounding area, but if you are wanting to just hang at the Inn and just chill while sipping a cup of Earl Grey you welcomed to do so.

Room Tip: EAch room has it's own personality! All are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judyrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This place is so amazing , the views, the service , the resteraunt , I feel like I have discovered a true treasure in the mountains and I will be back ! The Victorian room was amazing and the staff ,Ashley and Ann were great ! The chef is truly amazing as well! Do yourself a favor and experience this for yourself !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSDARGAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

October, 2013 was our third visit to Gideon, Ridge in as many years. This time was with another couple we invited who travel everywhere and are in the business. They, like us, appreciate Gideon's authentic, sincere, well run facility that feels more like a home, yet offers the best of location, views, dining experience, the ability to just "be" if once chooses -- and overall value -- all on the same property. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gclrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.7 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.6 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.6 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Ridge Inn

Property: Gideon Ridge Inn
Address: 202 Gideon Ridge Rd, PO Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gideon Ridge Inn is ten delightful guest rooms with mountain breezes, French doors and stone terraces. Intimate walking paths through elegant gardens. Ceiling fans and wicker chairs. Antiques and good books. Fine breakfasts to linger over. Earl Grey Tea and fresh-baked shortbread cookies to savor. Bedrooms with warm fireplaces and comfortable sitting areas. Crisp cotton bed linens and well-appointed bathrooms. And in the library, a grand piano with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Really! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gideon Ridge Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing