We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Stay.......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gideon Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gideon Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed there as we were passing through Blowing Rock. We were greeted by Anne are given a short tour and history of the Inn. It is truly a magnificent place to stay. The views are second to none in all directions. Our room was warm and comfortable and had a private porch with great views. We are dinner there and were amazed at the quality and taste of our meal and dinner service. Breakfast served by Anne, was awesome. Our stay here was a highlight of our trip through the Blue Ridge Mountains. We would highly recommend it to all......

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonnaPGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    58
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
449
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Indiana
Level Contributor
263 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best B&Bs we've visited. We stayed in the Sunrise Room, which has a private entrance & your own secluded porch with chaise lounges overlooking a mountain view. Our room included a small sitting area, a soaking tub, large shower & king bed. They don't skimp on extras either - loads of Aveda bath products, a fridge stocked with pop & water and some light snacks. The breakfast was hearty & tasty (dinner was phenomenal as well) and the whole staff was friendly & helpful. I highly reccommend!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tagnrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrae, California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were visiting a friend in North Carolina and he arranged for us to stay here. We had no expectations since our friend made the arrangements but we were very pleasantly surprised. The grounds are beautiful as well as the view of the mountains. We stayed in the Grandfather View room and it was very spacious for our family of 3. We could see Grandfather Mountain from our room. We checked in, had afternoon tea, played pool in the basement with cocktails, then had a wonderful dinner. The chef even came out to check on us. When we told him we were from California he prepared some foie gras for us since we cannot have it back home. That night was so quiet and peaceful, even though it is an old structure, we really could not hear people in the neighboring rooms. The rooms have all been updated with modern amenities. The following morning we had a wonderful breakfast, walked the grounds, and checked out.

The staff here is so attentive providing very personalized care to all of the guests. We had a truly unforgettable time here. Recommended as a great place to get away and just enjoy the peaceful and quiet surroundings.

Room Tip: Grandfather View room is the largest room so perfect for a young family. My 11 year old daughter sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckydog28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Wonderful Inn. Beautifully maintained, top notch amenities, and staff that is available and willing to help to do anything to make your stay perfect. everything we needed to have a relaxing time was provided. We even received an acknowledgement of our anniversary when we arrived. This is the second time we have stayed here and it was as wonderful as they last time we stayed.

Room Tip: The sunrise suite is very private and has amazing views of the mountains from both the room and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Love this inn - celebrated a college graduation and Mother's Day and there is no better place to stay in my opinion! The breakfasts in the sunny breakfast room are lovely, and the beds are comfortable. It is peaceful and quiet - truly restorative!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reeblinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We've returned after 4 years for another stay at the Gideon Ridge. It's as lovely as we remembered it with beautifully appointed rooms, breakfast made with the freshest ingredients, afternoon tea to restore, and marvelous quiet rooms to read, chat, share a bottle of wine…..the views are lovely and the grounds delightful.

The road works in Blowing Rock must be a trial for all who have to live with it this long. That said, it's not as quiet as it usually is at Gideon Ridge because the noise from the road works seems to climb right up the mountain. Certainly not the fault of the good people at the B&B and there's nothing to be done for it. I wish them well as they will one day return to the peace they've always provided for those of us lucky enough to return….hopefully sooooon.

Room Tip: The Grandfather Suite is so comfortable with the bonus of a large private porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancster070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This place is just perfect for a getaway. My husband and I were taking a spring trip through the mountains and I had searched pretty intensly in finding the perfect spot, and boy did I. This was just perfect. The staff is really helpful and assist with any needs. They show you around and let you know this is an old house but has been restored as a great stay. The views are amazing.
It has no elevator as it is a home, so be careful as to not overpack when staying in one of the upstair rooms. We had the Grandfather Room, and once I sat down in that chair looking over Grandfather mountain, I did not want to get up, it was mezmerising to say the least. Has a huge soaking tub, and a really nice stone shower with nice amenities. The rooms have no phone but offer one at the check in area, and cell service they said was spotty, but mine seemed to be fine during our stay, but you not there to be on a phone anyway. This is just nothing but perfect and the staff was simply outstanding. Would not hesitate to ever stay here again.

Room Tip: I think any room would be a good room, but I have to say the Grandfather Room was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkroberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.2 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.6 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.6 mi away
Hemlock Inn
Hemlock Inn
#2 of 11 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Ridge Inn

Property: Gideon Ridge Inn
Address: 202 Gideon Ridge Rd, PO Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gideon Ridge Inn is ten delightful guest rooms with mountain breezes, French doors and stone terraces. Intimate walking paths through elegant gardens. Ceiling fans and wicker chairs. Antiques and good books. Fine breakfasts to linger over. Earl Grey Tea and fresh-baked shortbread cookies to savor. Bedrooms with warm fireplaces and comfortable sitting areas. Crisp cotton bed linens and well-appointed bathrooms. And in the library, a grand piano with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Really! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gideon Ridge Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing