We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place for Celebrating”
Review of Gideon Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gideon Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have stayed at Gideon Ridge numerous times in the past nearly 20 years, and always make it a destination point on our end -to- end drives down the Blue Ridge Parkway. In June, our daughter surprised us with a room for our anniversary and our summer birthdays, and a gift certificate for dinner … once again, it was AMAZING!! We stayed in the Carriage Room this time, and enjoyed the privacy features of this room. But no matter the room you reserve in this Inn, the beds and bedding are divine, and the added touches (like a split of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries) for special occasions are so romantic! The fluffy robes are great for morning coffee or an evening glass of wine on the private patio ... the folks are warm and friendly … the amenities suit every need … it is just a superb place to stay. And with this year's treat to dinner, it just added one more reason to stay … DELICIOUS! It is a wonderful destination for any time of year … and we will be back again and again!! We love Gideon Ridge!!!

Room Tip: We tend to request the Old Master, the Victorian, the Blue, or now the Carriage. But really, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at Gideon Ridge Inn for one night with my husband. The accommodations, service, dinner were all spectacular. Our room had a fireplace, jacuzzi, and a very comfortable bed!! We ate dinner at the Inn, that was awesome as well. We actually were able to watch a young man walk his girlfriend down to one of the gardens near our table and get on one knee to propose, we held our breath until she said yes. All in the Inn's dining room applauded as we watched.
This is a must stay if you're planning a trip to Blowing Rock NC

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor. This was great due to back injuries and difficulty going up steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darylmarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Gideon Ridge Inn has been a favorite destination of mine for 20 years. My choice of the Cedar Cottage was perfect for a week of fun and relaxation, Cool temperatures and blue skies were the order of the week. Dinner at the Inn on Thursday was excellent. The views are beautiful. The Inn veranda is inviting for a glass of wine, cup of tea or just sitting. Many rooms have their own private patio or deck, if privacy is what you want. With only 10 rooms, it never feels crowded. Afternoon tea is offered everyday at 4. Delicious shortbead cookies, scones, tea sandwiches are made by the Inn staff daily. On Saturday, we walked down the driveway to watch the July 4th fireworks, compliments of the Blowing Rock Country Club. Comfortable bedding, delicious breakfast and very attentive staff. Treat yourself to a stay at the Gideon Ridge, you deserve it.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. I prefer Grandfather Suite in the winter, it has the best fireplace in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieK53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stopped in for a brief respite after spending the day at Grandfather Mountain. Had reserved one of the last 2 rooms available ahead of the 4th of July weekend and was pleasantly surprised. Beautiful room, spacious, lots of light and nice views from all windows (Blue room). Before settling in, Amanda showed us the layout and David brought us a bottle of wine ( very nice wine list btw).
Since we didn't have plans for dinner, and the smells from the kitchen were wafting up the stairs to our room, we inquired as to the possibility of attending dinner at the restaurant. Amanda checked, though she said it was full, and returned with a reservation for a table at 8 pm. There is a great room for resting, reading and chilling...as well as a veranda with comfy cushioned seating overlooking the back yard. We missed the Tea service, unfortunately, but made note not to miss it next time. That evening, a front came through from the north, became a little windy and cleared the air out. The humidity dropped, air became crisp and the leaves rustled. Almost like a fall evening. Great sleeping weather in the King sized bed, with the softest sheets and fluffy pillows, the Frette bathrobes made it for perfect "snuggling" and a terrific nights sleep.
Would recommend that you make an exception to all thats available in Blowing Rock for accommodations and place the Gideon Ridge at the top of your list.

Room Tip: Trip Advisor did not let me remove the fitness center remark..placed by accident....there is no Fitn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PathBreakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Best B&B we've stayed at... We'll be back. Cozy. Friendly staff. Restaurant is incredible.... Get outside table if weather is ok. Views,tranquility, near to all Blowing Rock has to offer. This is the ultimate Blue Ridge Mountain get away.

Room Tip: We choose Sunrise View ... Their best. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed at several B&B's across the country and unfortunately this was not one of the better choices. After reading the reviews we had high expectations that did not meet the standards of a B&B at these rates. Pros: the view and the staff. Cons: the breakfast, the 6 inch hole in the bathroom that had a hand towel stuffed in it, the noise from the kitchen and the spiders nesting in several corners of the room. Unfortunately, the owners were never seen otherwise I would have suggested they have more staff on hand to help with the breakfast rush. We stayed in the Sunrise View Suite. We also had dinner at their restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed it. Clearly, the chef in the evenings is not preparing the breakfast.

Room Tip: Beautiful view from the room but tiny bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The Gideon Ridge Inn is a warm and relaxing place. We were very impressed by how nicely decorated all the rooms are, each one being unique. I forget the name of our room but the bathroom had just recently been renovated and it even had a small fireplace in the bathroom. Our room also had a nice patio. The main common room is very comfortable and the large screened porch has nice furniture and space heaters. Great breakfast served in a separate dining area.

It is well worth it to get up early to see the sunrise over the Blue Ridge. I was the only one the morning we were there but it was great. Not to be missed.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank brianbribri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.7 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 16 in Blowing Rock
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 16 in Blowing Rock
486 reviews
1.6 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 16 in Blowing Rock
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Village Inns of Blowing Rock: Village Inn
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.7 mi away
Cliff Dwellers Inn
Cliff Dwellers Inn
#9 of 16 in Blowing Rock
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Ridge Inn

Address: 202 Gideon Ridge Rd, PO Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: £120 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gideon Ridge Inn is ten delightful guest rooms with mountain breezes, French doors and stone terraces. Intimate walking paths through elegant gardens. Ceiling fans and wicker chairs. Antiques and good books. Fine breakfasts to linger over. Earl Grey Tea and fresh-baked shortbread cookies to savor. Bedrooms with warm fireplaces and comfortable sitting areas. Crisp cotton bed linens and well-appointed bathrooms. And in the library, a grand piano with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Really! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gideon Ridge Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing