We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from summer heat:My kind of camping”
Review of Gideon Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gideon Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southeast Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Escape from summer heat:My kind of camping”
Reviewed 5 August 2009

What a wonderful combination,Blowing Rock, The Gideon Ridge Inn& staff. We can`t begin to say enough wonderful things about The Gideon Ridge Inn. Everyone made us feel as if we were truly welcome, as if we were in our own home. The views from throughout the inn are beautiful and lend such a peaceful,relaxing atmosphere. Each day was started with a gourmet breakfast served by pleasant ,engaging servers. We have stayed in the colonial room and the carriage room.The carriage room was the quieter of the two and has a king size bed versus a queen in the colonial. The Old Master really is the room we hope to book on our next stay.Please make sure you don`t miss the wonderful talents of the chef there.Restaurant G and Crippens have the best food in town in our opinion.We can`t wait for our next visit.Also don` t miss performances at the Hayes Theater by the Blowing Rock stage company.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leavingSSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    61
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
478
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeKalb County
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Choosing a hotel online is oftentimes tricky and sometimes disappointing in the end. Gideon Ridge, however, was even more attractive and pleasing than what I had anticipated. My husband, who travels frequently, tells people that it was the "best place he has ever stayed" (and that includes some really lovely B&B's and inns). The atmosphere is charming, and everything (furniture, artwork, vases, sculpture, books) fit comfortably into what is a whole resplendent with casual elegance. Trendiness is avoided, yet this is not a rustic retreat with sandy floors and knotty pine. Our room (Grandfather's View) was spacious and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the large, old-fashioned soaking tub in the bedroom. At tea time, I zeroed in on the charming little sandwiches, and after one bite, my husband hoarded the shortbread scones. "Melt in your mouth" is an overused expression, but it applied quite nicely to the small corner of pastry I managed to wrestle out of his grip.

Not wanting to leave the porch and view of the Smokies, we settled in and chose to have dinner at the inn. Reservations would have been smart, but Richard (the maitre D/bartender/man-of-the-moment) set up a tray for us on the porch and brought us everything we needed to enjoy our meal al fresco. A light rain cooled things off nicely and brought out the green scent of magnolia mixed with pine. My duck was cooked perfectly and the cantaloupe and Gorgonzola salad, refreshingly sweet and savory.

We will definitely revisit and suggest this charming hideaway to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed at Gideon Ridge Inn for an extended weekend. It was absolutely perfect, and more than we expected. Breakfasts were wonderful, and the 4:00 pm tea with assorted goodies was a truely relaxing break to the day. We are planning to return!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggiemaeCharlotteNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We stayed two nights in the Grandfather View Suite while visiting family in Blowing Rock. The Inn is beautiful, well maintained, quiet, and upscale. The staff was helpful and attentive without being obstrusive. Our room was quite large and comfortable (especially the bed), but the ceiling is a little low for tall folks.
The breakfast is a notch above most upscale B&Bs. Coffee is out by 7 am. The Charlotte newspaper is available in the sitting room. (The New York Times is delivered before 7 am to the Exxon station in town, about a 5 minute drive away.) Breakfast is served at 8:30 am by the gracious innkeeper or employee. The first day we had fresh fruit with creme anglaise and apple Danish. The breakfast plate had scrambled eggs, bacon, grits, and a perfect biscuit (with butter and strawberry preserves). The second day was a little less extravagant: we had fresh fruit followed by French toast and sausage. It is plenty of food to begin the day.
The second evening, my traveling partner became ill. We planned to have a simple dinner in our room. The staff checked with the chef at the Inn's restaurant (Restaurant G) and he had no soup on that evening's menu. The staff suggested a couple of places in town to get dinner to go. Because our travel plans changed due to the illness, we made a couple of long-distance calls on the Inn's telephone---no questions asked. They seemed genuinely concerned about us and wished us a safe trip home the next morning. We hope to return to the Inn.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinchesterTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh,NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We really enjoyed our two day stay and the hospitality of the staff. The Grandfather Suite was first class and the food was delicious. The views were spectacular and the entire stay was relaxing and wonderful. We plan to return for a fall visit!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyspringsbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We enjoyed our leisure stay at Gideon Ridge. The service was OUTSTANDING as was the very very fine cuisine. This was only slightly overshadowed by the sheer beauty of the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamagoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

On a driving trip through North Carolina's mountains, we were fortunate enough to get a one-night weekday stay at Gideon Ridge. We had a beautiful, elegant bedroom on the first floor of this former private home of a wealthy family, and we felt as though we were guests of the family in a bygone era. We enjoyed afternoon tea with teasandwiches and scones in the parlor in front of the roaring fireplace while the wind swayed the trees outside. Although dinner wasn't being served at the inn the evening we were there, the innkeeper was very helpful in making reservations for us at the Bistro Roca just a short drive away in Blowing Rock. We had a great meal there, and a wonderful night's sleep to the wind in the trees-the inn is very near the famous "blowing rock," and is indeed on a ridge, so there are views all around. In the morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the bright sunny dining room. There were juices and cereals on a buffet to start, then we were served a fruit smoothie and then delicious plated breakfast, along with all the coffee we cared for. We would highly recommend Gideon Ridge Inn to travellers to Blowing Rock.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
452 reviews
1.4 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
116 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.8 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Ridge Inn

Property: Gideon Ridge Inn
Address: 202 Gideon Ridge Rd, PO Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gideon Ridge Inn is ten delightful guest rooms with mountain breezes, French doors and stone terraces. Intimate walking paths through elegant gardens. Ceiling fans and wicker chairs. Antiques and good books. Fine breakfasts to linger over. Earl Grey Tea and fresh-baked shortbread cookies to savor. Bedrooms with warm fireplaces and comfortable sitting areas. Crisp cotton bed linens and well-appointed bathrooms. And in the library, a grand piano with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Really! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gideon Ridge Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing