We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gideon Ridge Inn
Nearby Hotels
Meadowbrook Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliff Dwellers Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxwood Lodge(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green Park Inn(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock(Blowing Rock)(Great Value!)
US$202
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
558
68
17
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
558
68
17
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunrise suitefrench roomcarriage roomprivate patiocolonial roomthe blue roomselect registrysoaking tubthe blue ridge mountainsbreathtaking viewsbreakfast was deliciousturn down serviceback porchget awaymaster bedroomgas fireplacewe've stayed
Filter
Updating list...
630 - 635 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2009

What a wonderful combination,Blowing Rock, The Gideon Ridge Inn& staff. We can`t begin to say enough wonderful things about The Gideon Ridge Inn. Everyone made us feel as if we were truly welcome, as if we were in our own home. The views from throughout the inn are beautiful and lend such a peaceful,relaxing atmosphere. Each day was started with a gourmet breakfast served by pleasant ,engaging servers. We have stayed in the colonial room and the carriage room.The carriage room was the quieter of the two and has a king size bed versus a queen in the colonial. The Old Master really is the room we hope to book on our next stay.Please make sure you don`t miss the wonderful talents of the chef there.Restaurant G and Crippens have the best food in town in our opinion.We can`t wait for our next visit.Also don` t miss performances at the Hayes Theater by the Blowing Rock stage company.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leavingSSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Choosing a hotel online is oftentimes tricky and sometimes disappointing in the end. Gideon Ridge, however, was even more attractive and pleasing than what I had anticipated. My husband, who travels frequently, tells people that it was the "best place he has ever stayed" (and that includes some really lovely B&B's and inns). The atmosphere is charming, and everything (furniture, artwork, vases, sculpture, books) fit comfortably into what is a whole resplendent with casual elegance. Trendiness is avoided, yet this is not a rustic retreat with sandy floors and knotty pine. Our room (Grandfather's View) was spacious and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the large, old-fashioned soaking tub in the bedroom. At tea time, I zeroed in on the charming little sandwiches, and after one bite, my husband hoarded the shortbread scones. "Melt in your mouth" is an overused expression, but it applied quite nicely to the small corner of pastry I managed to wrestle out of his grip.

Not wanting to leave the porch and view of the Smokies, we settled in and chose to have dinner at the inn. Reservations would have been smart, but Richard (the maitre D/bartender/man-of-the-moment) set up a tray for us on the porch and brought us everything we needed to enjoy our meal al fresco. A light rain cooled things off nicely and brought out the green scent of magnolia mixed with pine. My duck was cooked perfectly and the cantaloupe and Gorgonzola salad, refreshingly sweet and savory.

We will definitely revisit and suggest this charming hideaway to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed at Gideon Ridge Inn for an extended weekend. It was absolutely perfect, and more than we expected. Breakfasts were wonderful, and the 4:00 pm tea with assorted goodies was a truely relaxing break to the day. We are planning to return!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggiemaeCharlotteNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We stayed two nights in the Grandfather View Suite while visiting family in Blowing Rock. The Inn is beautiful, well maintained, quiet, and upscale. The staff was helpful and attentive without being obstrusive. Our room was quite large and comfortable (especially the bed), but the ceiling is a little low for tall folks.
The breakfast is a notch above most upscale B&Bs. Coffee is out by 7 am. The Charlotte newspaper is available in the sitting room. (The New York Times is delivered before 7 am to the Exxon station in town, about a 5 minute drive away.) Breakfast is served at 8:30 am by the gracious innkeeper or employee. The first day we had fresh fruit with creme anglaise and apple Danish. The breakfast plate had scrambled eggs, bacon, grits, and a perfect biscuit (with butter and strawberry preserves). The second day was a little less extravagant: we had fresh fruit followed by French toast and sausage. It is plenty of food to begin the day.
The second evening, my traveling partner became ill. We planned to have a simple dinner in our room. The staff checked with the chef at the Inn's restaurant (Restaurant G) and he had no soup on that evening's menu. The staff suggested a couple of places in town to get dinner to go. Because our travel plans changed due to the illness, we made a couple of long-distance calls on the Inn's telephone---no questions asked. They seemed genuinely concerned about us and wished us a safe trip home the next morning. We hope to return to the Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinchesterTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We really enjoyed our two day stay and the hospitality of the staff. The Grandfather Suite was first class and the food was delicious. The views were spectacular and the entire stay was relaxing and wonderful. We plan to return for a fall visit!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyspringsbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews