We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B - a real treat in a great area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gideon Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gideon Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B - a real treat in a great area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

An outstanding Inn. We've stayed in various B&B's in the BR area over the years and this is, hands down, our favorite. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmdsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    58
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
449
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

This was our fourth visit to this wonderful inn. The views are still great and so are the accomodations and the cuisine. But what particularly stood out was the superior level of service and sincere willingness to help that was demonstrated by both management and staff. They go above and beyond to insure that their guests are comfortable and happy at all times. We'll definitely go back.

Dick & Polly Hall

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollydick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

We have enjoyed celebrating our anniversaries here beginning when assisting our son's move into a dorm at ASU, Boone 5 years ago. Over the years, we have stayed in several different rooms that offered whirlpool tubs and all have been wonderful. We enjoy the private patios, daily 4:00 tea and fabulous setting and views......many times waking early to see the sunrise (and moon rise) over the mountains. The Sunrise Room is perfect for this! It is a time of renewal for us as a couple balanced with hikes in the area and shopping/touring in Blowing Rock. The breakfasts and optional dinner served there have always been delicious. Recently we loved the warm bacon wrapped prune appetizer...always delicious surprises on the menu.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeredithNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton,Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

My wife and I stayed at The Gideon Ridge Inn for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay there. It is in a great location in the Blue Ridge Mountains and is close to town. The lodge has a great view of the mountains and of the sunrise every morning. Breakfast is served daily that includes a special as well as a choice of eggs. Tea and snacks are also served each day. The food is excellent. The staff at the Inn is very hospitable, and helpful. Rich Scheurer who works at the Inn was especially helpful with suggestions of nearby restaurants, area atttractions, and hiking trails. The Inn is a great place to stay if you are looking for a romantic mountain experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

What a wonderful combination,Blowing Rock, The Gideon Ridge Inn& staff. We can`t begin to say enough wonderful things about The Gideon Ridge Inn. Everyone made us feel as if we were truly welcome, as if we were in our own home. The views from throughout the inn are beautiful and lend such a peaceful,relaxing atmosphere. Each day was started with a gourmet breakfast served by pleasant ,engaging servers. We have stayed in the colonial room and the carriage room.The carriage room was the quieter of the two and has a king size bed versus a queen in the colonial. The Old Master really is the room we hope to book on our next stay.Please make sure you don`t miss the wonderful talents of the chef there.Restaurant G and Crippens have the best food in town in our opinion.We can`t wait for our next visit.Also don` t miss performances at the Hayes Theater by the Blowing Rock stage company.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leavingSSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeKalb County
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

Choosing a hotel online is oftentimes tricky and sometimes disappointing in the end. Gideon Ridge, however, was even more attractive and pleasing than what I had anticipated. My husband, who travels frequently, tells people that it was the "best place he has ever stayed" (and that includes some really lovely B&B's and inns). The atmosphere is charming, and everything (furniture, artwork, vases, sculpture, books) fit comfortably into what is a whole resplendent with casual elegance. Trendiness is avoided, yet this is not a rustic retreat with sandy floors and knotty pine. Our room (Grandfather's View) was spacious and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the large, old-fashioned soaking tub in the bedroom. At tea time, I zeroed in on the charming little sandwiches, and after one bite, my husband hoarded the shortbread scones. "Melt in your mouth" is an overused expression, but it applied quite nicely to the small corner of pastry I managed to wrestle out of his grip.

Not wanting to leave the porch and view of the Smokies, we settled in and chose to have dinner at the inn. Reservations would have been smart, but Richard (the maitre D/bartender/man-of-the-moment) set up a tray for us on the porch and brought us everything we needed to enjoy our meal al fresco. A light rain cooled things off nicely and brought out the green scent of magnolia mixed with pine. My duck was cooked perfectly and the cantaloupe and Gorgonzola salad, refreshingly sweet and savory.

We will definitely revisit and suggest this charming hideaway to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed at Gideon Ridge Inn for an extended weekend. It was absolutely perfect, and more than we expected. Breakfasts were wonderful, and the 4:00 pm tea with assorted goodies was a truely relaxing break to the day. We are planning to return!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggiemaeCharlotteNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.7 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.6 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#10 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.6 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Ridge Inn

Property: Gideon Ridge Inn
Address: 202 Gideon Ridge Rd, PO Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gideon Ridge Inn is ten delightful guest rooms with mountain breezes, French doors and stone terraces. Intimate walking paths through elegant gardens. Ceiling fans and wicker chairs. Antiques and good books. Fine breakfasts to linger over. Earl Grey Tea and fresh-baked shortbread cookies to savor. Bedrooms with warm fireplaces and comfortable sitting areas. Crisp cotton bed linens and well-appointed bathrooms. And in the library, a grand piano with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Really! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gideon Ridge Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing