We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and relaxing”
Review of Gideon Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gideon Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2010

we spent a long weekend here after our wedding. we received a complementary room upgrade due to a recent cancellation, which was nice and unexpected. the staff was always courteous and attentive. the G restaurant on premises was excellent. we enjoyed eating breakfast outdoors on the terrace. spectacular eastward views of the blue ridge mountains from the grounds.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpkanupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
There are newer reviews for Gideon Ridge Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2010

We had an excellent time visiting Gideon Ridge Inn. It was a first class B&B. Christopher made our vacation special with the attention to detail he provided everyone at the Inn. The breakfast was special, one day blueberry stuff french toast, the next day I had the egg dish with cheese, and on the the last day I had the real oatmeal with all kinds of fruit, nuts and honey,. The afternoon teas and cakes were the perfect afternoon snack after our hikes.The view from the Inn was astonishing. After hiking all day, we just relaxed outside on the patio with a glass of wine and enjoyed our surroundings and company. It was a very relaxing first three day of our vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptianZAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The service was excellent. The rooms were very comfortable with nice linens and furnishings. The overall experience was so relaxing. The location was great also with great views of mountains and conveniently located near downtown Blowing Rock, NC.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmichaelwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I recently enjoyed another wonderful stay at the GIdeon Ridge Inn! The weather was mid 70's w/ cool evenings---which the other guests and I took advantage of, by relaxing on the stone veranda. The perfect spot to watch the sunset---a new addition to the Inn is Christopher-who is highly adept at ensuring guests' needs are met! He lit candles/lanterns around the veranda so everyone could continue socializing and offered suggestions from the wine list. The rooms as usual were very clean, comfortable and with such perfect weather, slept with the windows open. The primary purpose of this vist was to relax and of course, wouldn't miss the hot scones/loose tea in the afternoons. The staff outdid themselves ensuring everyone was enjoying their visit. Bree, Donna and Christopher are excellent Innkeepers!!! Already looking forward to next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Wonderful place to stay. Very nice room. Food was great. Views are unbelievable. Was not a particularly warm place...both staff and other guests seemed to keep their distance. We weren't looking to make friends for life, but never felt truly welcomed as we did in the other Select Registry Inns in which we've stayed. Also, you will be sans technology for your stay. I believe that's probably a good thing, but very spotty cell phone service and (although they have wireless on site) the internet connectivity is next to nothing. I do not intend for this to sound negative. We truly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. The views make this place utterly unique.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGuilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The setting of the Gideon Ridge Inn is truly very beautiful and serene. The gardens are lush and peaceful, without being overly "groomed"...one could sit on the rear porch or in one of the many pretty corners of the yard and relax all day.....we felt almost guilty for going out on hikes! We also loved the elegance of the rooms, which were without the suped-up florals and plaids often found in mountain residences.....very calming. The staff was very nice and attentive, and the food was great. We had a great experience all around, and our almost-teenager loved it, even without a tv in the room! Air conditioning is being installed, which will make the nights a bit more quiet...room fans and cicadas can get noisy if you're not used to them, after all. We can't wait to go back.....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lola122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We loved Gideon Ridge Inn! The Sunrise Suite was so comfortable and provided a fabulous view from the private terrace. We thoroughly enjoyed having our coffee every morning on the terrace overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains. So relaxing except for the highway traffic which we managed to tune out . The sitting room had huge windows from which to view the sunrise each morning. There was plenty of light for reading and very comfortable furniture and bed. The staff did a great job of cleaning everyday and replenishing items in the bathroom. It was so nice to have a coffeemaker and small refrigerator with coffee and cold drinks provided. A nice touch are the fresh flowers they put in the room. Plus this room has A/C which really helped on those hot, humid summer days.

We were checked in by a wonderful staff member, Christopher. He was exceptional in every way, even offering to help with our luggage. He was very knowledgeable and helpful in so many ways. I hope he would consider a career in the hospitality field since he definitely knows what true customer service is. We also were made to feel at home by the sweet little gal who helps clean the rooms. (She had actually recommended our suite when I had called to inquire.)

The afternoon tea is a special feature at the inn. We looked forward to it everyday. The snacks are homemade and very tasty. We had our anniversary dinner at Restaurant "G" and it was delicious. The inn prepares a breakfast to order every morning which is quite good. Our server, Donna, was efficient and friendly, always asking us about our day. This is an important added touch when the staff goes out of their way to make you feel special. We found this to be the case with everyone who worked there.

It was fun to drive into Blowing Rock to shop and dine and it's not very far from the inn. We would definitely return to Gideon Ridge Inn for a relaxing, enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkaday65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.7 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.7 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Ridge Inn

Address: 202 Gideon Ridge Rd, PO Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range: £118 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gideon Ridge Inn is ten delightful guest rooms with mountain breezes, French doors and stone terraces. Intimate walking paths through elegant gardens. Ceiling fans and wicker chairs. Antiques and good books. Fine breakfasts to linger over. Earl Grey Tea and fresh-baked shortbread cookies to savor. Bedrooms with warm fireplaces and comfortable sitting areas. Crisp cotton bed linens and well-appointed bathrooms. And in the library, a grand piano with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Really! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gideon Ridge Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing