We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect -- even the fog, which so conveniently parted for the soft sunset over the ranges of mountains beyond”
Review of Gideon Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blowing Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gideon Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect -- even the fog, which so conveniently parted for the soft sunset over the ranges of mountains beyond”
Reviewed 28 October 2010

The room was lovely. Our second visit to that very room. The Inn Keeper was so helpful, patient and full of good history of the Inn. The amenities lovely. Gracious help for all our needs -- chocolate covered strawberries to the room after dinner and a long sit by the blazing fire we saw Chris, Inn Keeper, so carefully build for us. Also so very gracious about mailing the dress bag I left hanging in our closet -- and not charging us. Perfect stay, as I said, even with the fog. Wonderful atmosphere, autumn colors and sweeping mountain views, when fog allowed. When it didn't, there was a coziness and quiet drama in the atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deaniedorwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    61
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
478
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2010

For our 10 year anniversary, my wife & I spent a long weekend at the Gideon Ridge Inn in Blowing Rock, NC. After a few hours in the car, the cheerful greetings we received by manager and staff alike instantly put us at ease. This gorgeous stone mansion sits atop a knoll that overlooks the most magnificent valley to the south with picturesque views of Grandfather Mountain. A stunningly beautiful estate surrounds the Inn and creates an ambiance of isolated relaxation; perfect for couples rediscovering one another, for newlyweds just starting their life’s path, and for those embracing their well-earned retirement. My wife and were instantly enchanted by the warm décor of the living and dining areas, and delighted by the attention to detail that was overtly taken in assembling our bedroom. Equally enticing was the menu offered at the Inn’s restaurant; which included a roasted tomato bisque, the most delicious pheasant and wild mushroom risotto, an elk chop cooked to medium-rare perfection (bone-on), and a desert medley that would melt your heart. The chef’s use of local produce and meats established a character of freshness that charmed the palette. The option of outdoor dining on the Inn’s generous, cascading patio and the notably articulate and personable wait staff completed our dining experience to the N-th degree. The Inn is located in close proximity to the town of Blowing Rock, the Blue Ridge Parkway, ample hiking and biking trails and several of North Carolina’s up-and-coming vineyards. These combinations of activities, luxuries and seclusion created an anniversary getaway that has trumped our honeymoon. The Gideon Ridge Inn is now “our retreat” for such special occasions and we pine for the next opportunity to visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Loved our all too brief stay at Gideon Ridge. The Sunrise Terrace room had incredible views, and a gorgeous sunrise on an October morning-- I room was bathed in sunlight. Agree with earlier reviews, could here some traffic noise, but really tuned out with the setting. Dinner at Restaurant G was very good, wines a bit over-priced and a rather limited selection. Breakfast was wonderful, especially the corn cakes. The grounds for walking around are really picturesque, overall-- a simply wonderful property.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

There is nothing about our stay that I would change. Service, dinner, amenities, beautifully thought-out rooms, friendly staff...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagfemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2010

we spent a long weekend here after our wedding. we received a complementary room upgrade due to a recent cancellation, which was nice and unexpected. the staff was always courteous and attentive. the G restaurant on premises was excellent. we enjoyed eating breakfast outdoors on the terrace. spectacular eastward views of the blue ridge mountains from the grounds.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpkanupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We had an excellent time visiting Gideon Ridge Inn. It was a first class B&B. Christopher made our vacation special with the attention to detail he provided everyone at the Inn. The breakfast was special, one day blueberry stuff french toast, the next day I had the egg dish with cheese, and on the the last day I had the real oatmeal with all kinds of fruit, nuts and honey,. The afternoon teas and cakes were the perfect afternoon snack after our hikes.The view from the Inn was astonishing. After hiking all day, we just relaxed outside on the patio with a glass of wine and enjoyed our surroundings and company. It was a very relaxing first three day of our vacation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptianZAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The service was excellent. The rooms were very comfortable with nice linens and furnishings. The overall experience was so relaxing. The location was great also with great views of mountains and conveniently located near downtown Blowing Rock, NC.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmichaelwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
0.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
451 reviews
1.4 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
116 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
1.8 mi away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gideon Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Ridge Inn

Property: Gideon Ridge Inn
Address: 202 Gideon Ridge Rd, PO Box 1929, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-6400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gideon Ridge Inn is ten delightful guest rooms with mountain breezes, French doors and stone terraces. Intimate walking paths through elegant gardens. Ceiling fans and wicker chairs. Antiques and good books. Fine breakfasts to linger over. Earl Grey Tea and fresh-baked shortbread cookies to savor. Bedrooms with warm fireplaces and comfortable sitting areas. Crisp cotton bed linens and well-appointed bathrooms. And in the library, a grand piano with a breathtaking view of the mountains. Really! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gideon Ridge Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing