We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and comfortable inn a block from Main Street”
Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homestead Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming and comfortable inn a block from Main Street”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This was our fifth stay over the years and the Homestead just keeps getting better! The upgraded 50's motel features yummy beds, a stone fireplace, jacuzzi (room 5) and refrigerator and microwave. It is within easy walking distance of cute shops and great restaurants. The grounds are just gorgeous with flowers and comfy swings and rockers. We are always treated as family. Absolutely wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willibj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    43
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
82
164
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I must say that I’m extremely disappointed with this so called Bed and Breakfast. I need to work with TripAdvisor to change this place to a motel. It’s a really old cinderblock motor court that has been renovated. There isn’t anything wrong with that but it has a really musty smell in the room. One of the two beds made a lot of noise. Two of us had to go without a shower all weekend because the shower know either turns to the right for hot water or left for cold water. There was no in between. You could turn the knob all the way to the right and the hot water would not be as hot but it was still too hot to be comfortable. The wifi was very slow.

On the positive side, it was very beautiful from the outside and there were lots of flowers around. The owners were extremely nice. I hate to talk bad about the place but it is what it is. It was a very short walk to the downtown area. Six Pence Pub was great.

I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank outbackpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolineissweet, Owner at Homestead Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Yes, I am Caroline the owner, and this senior was real rough on us! We are not an old musty motel by any means! To all potential customers, please take a virtual tour through the rooms, and you will see newly remodeled rooms, and new carpet, and wood floors. Some people just want breakfast, and we do not serve breakfast. We have a hot beverage area in the office, and we are in walking distance to everything. For that unhappy senior, we sure don't appreciate comments like that, and don't welcome negative, unhappy people who are always looking to bad mouth small hard working business people like ourselves. Our rooms are beautiful, and the web site shows that. We have never had any one write such slander against our mountain retreat, and wish them to never return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Rob and Caroline made us feel right at home as we came up to Blowing Rock to visit our son at Appalachian. Our rooms were neat, beds comfortable, kitchen was great, and the grounds were immaculate. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevindovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRAMINGHAM
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I got to go to Blowing Rock to see my daughter and her boyfriend. What a delightful place to stay. I came from Massachusetts that day and was pleased. The room was inviting, the bed was comfortable and I felt relaxed. I would go back again with my husband and my little dog. The added treat was that I could just walk into town and what a beautiful town it is. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJELO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kill Devil Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We had to travel to visit App State for our daughter and we needed to bring our puppy, I had trouble finding a place that would take a larger breed, she is a lab mix, and at 7 months old was a good size. When I called they said she was welcome there and they even had pet sitting, They we all so nice and friendly we enjoyed our room very nicely decorated had a nice warm feeling it even had a fireplace The grounds we beautiful, and we enjoyed the rocking chairs out front, beautiful little town can't wait to be able to see more. We are hoping to stay there often!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyNKillDevilHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

50's style small Inn with all the updates,Large screen TV,wifi.nice beds and very clean,flowers all around the grounds,short walk to all the shops.Our little dog just loved the gardens,rocking chairs on front porch were great to sit and watch the mts.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Cute, quiet, clean, comfortable, & a great location! Well priced. The room we stayed in is a little small, and it was hit & miss with the wifi, but there's a nice tv, fridge, comfortable bed, nice garden, and a fabulous location. In walking distance to everything we wanted to do in blowing rock. We'll definitely stay here again! But maybe splurge for the bigger room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Blowing Rock
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Property: Homestead Inn
Address: 153 Morris St, PO Box 1030, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Homestead Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestead Inn is awesome! Rooms are quaint, cozy, and immaculate! Rooms include Highspeed internet fridge, micro, coffee pot,flat screen tv with DVD players, hairdryer. Some rooms have fireplace, and or jacuzzi, efficiency. All newly remodeled rooms for 2011. We are located in a beautiful setting in walking distance to downtown. minutes from the ski slopes and all other Blowing Rock attractions,including the Blue Ridge Parkway We provide a swing, gazebo, picnic table and grill area.We are known for our award winning gardens and flowers. Come stay at the Homestead, your "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing