We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded my expectations!!”
Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homestead Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
1 review
“exceeded my expectations!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

our stay here has been wonderful! it is right around the corner from shops, restaurants, parks, and hiking trails, but is also quiet and peaceful. one thing I want to mention is that the pictures do not do the rooms justice, they are even better in person! the staff is very welcoming and friendly, the maids are courteous and keep the rooms In immaculate condition, and some rooms allow pets! all of this and for nearly the same price I was going to pay at a day's inn!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksweeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    43
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
164
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
188 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Very convenient location to downtown Blowing Rock. Rates were a bit higher than was on the web site. We did not call first. A small room, but very clean. Two rockers out front to sit on. Coffee in the AM and muffins that were embarassingly small. No muffins would have been better. Parking is tight. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolineissweet, Owner at Homestead Inn, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Wow, we are quite insulted! We don't even serve or advertise continental breakfast, and we just hired a young hard working girl from Bulgaria to help us out with front desk work, and she was so happy to bake homemade from scratch strawberry mini muffins for all of our guests on a whim! The muffins were complimentary! Just can't please everyone.
Also, it states on our web site, and all motels in blowing rock,that when there is a special event, rates are subject to change, and we do not offer our web site rates. It is clearly stated on our site, "rates are subject to change for special events". So just to let all potential customers know, we don't always offer the web site rates when there is a special event, and we always explain this when booking. Please read more of our trip advisors, we try very hard to please all of our customers but you just can't please them all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waregem, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the quaint Homestead Inn in Blowing Rock, North Carolina in March of 2013. Blowing Rock is a small, cozy mountain town in the Appalachians, just off the Blue Ridge Parkway. The motel, which is just off main street in this highly walkable town, is run by an extremely friendly couple that resides on the premises.

Our queen bedroom, for which we paid a fair $50, breathed coziness all throughout. There's a rocking chair, a flat screen tv with dvd player (I believe they even have movies in the lobby that you can borrow), the inescapable motel coffee percolator (but there's also fresh coffee in the lobby), a small fridge and even a small ice bucket for champagne bottles. The bathroom has a bath/shower and has separate heating. The room wasn't terribly big, but don't let that deter you. It's very clean, comfortable and extremely well-maintained. There's free wi-fi if you need/like that. There are chairs and tables outside to enjoy yourself on a hot, sunny day.

To conclude, if you're looking for a more-than-decent, fairly-priced, cozy mountain retreat right in the center of town, yet quiet, then the Homestead Inn is a sure bet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stijn-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We were in a recently renovated room with gas fireplace. You can meet neighbors sitting on the rocking chairs outside your room or just enjoy the cool air sitting in your room. Nearby is a quick breakfast. Also the heart of Blowing Rock shopping is a short walk. But you feel you are isolated from that when at Homested.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby30911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkin, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! This was my first visit but certainly won't be my last! It's the ONLY place I'll stay in Blowing Rock, NC from now on! Caroline and Robert are wonderful people! Met some new friends as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vale, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This past weekend, I led a small group of Lady Motorcyclists to Blowing Rock and stayed at this little gem. I found my room quite comfortable with the nicest lush towels! The owners were very personable and helpful, making sure we had rags to dry our bikes and placing cones in our parking spots to assure our bikes would be right outside our doors. The owners were helpful with reservations and then multiple weather related changes. Just a block off Main St was most convenient, we were within walking distance of everything. I would highly recommend this wonderful little motel to visitors to Blowing Rock .... it is like an upgraded piece of Americana. Can't wait to visit again .... although not travelling with my dogs this visit, it is nice to know they are also pet friendly. It was nice to have a reasonably priced option in an expensive resort town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOLDnGAL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I would like to say Thank You to Caroline & Robert for a most memorable weekend at your lovely hotel. My stay was enjoyable and you were very accommodating to all 7 of us who decided to brave the elements this past weekend. I cannot wait to bring my husband here and spend another getaway. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. I love that we could walk to the various shops and restaurants. I would highly recommend staying here. It's quiet and well maintained. I felt very safe here. Thank you once again. Carol

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
1.3 mi away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
Meadowbrook Inn & Suites
#4 of 15 in Blowing Rock
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#9 of 15 in Blowing Rock
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
Chetola Resort at Blowing Rock
#2 of 15 in Blowing Rock
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boxwood Lodge
Boxwood Lodge
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Property: Homestead Inn
Address: 153 Morris St, PO Box 1030, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Homestead Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestead Inn is awesome! Rooms are quaint, cozy, and immaculate! Rooms include Highspeed internet fridge, micro, coffee pot,flat screen tv with DVD players, hairdryer. Some rooms have fireplace, and or jacuzzi, efficiency. All newly remodeled rooms for 2011. We are located in a beautiful setting in walking distance to downtown. minutes from the ski slopes and all other Blowing Rock attractions,including the Blue Ridge Parkway We provide a swing, gazebo, picnic table and grill area.We are known for our award winning gardens and flowers. Come stay at the Homestead, your "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing