We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must for lunch inBlowing Rock!”
Review of Six Pence Pub

Six Pence Pub
Ranked #5 of 48 Restaurants in Blowing Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
203 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A must for lunch inBlowing Rock!”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We go to Six Pence for lunch every time we go to Blowing Rock. Fantastic food. We do the fish and chips and spilt between us....portions are large. Homemade soup is great and great selection of local homebrew beers. Restaurant is not very big so often very busy and wait can be awhile but worth it. Eat at the bar....you will get seated sooner.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank C and L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    335
    80
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
n.c.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot in Heart of Blowing Rock”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Unbeatable for a quick, tasty lunch in the heart of the village. The new patio (on the site of the former Sonny's Grill) is wonderful for outside dining on a pretty day...all dishes we've had, including the famous shepherd's pie, have been well-prepared and promptly served.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebbtide2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Quaint atmosphere, good food and great service.”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We enjoyed our lunch here so much we returned the same day for desert later that day. My husband had "bangers & Mash" and I had their luncheon special. They told us about their new cheesecake that they had just started making so we had to try it later that same day. We would highly recommend this restaurant if you are traveling through Blowing Rock.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 55fox42071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albemarle, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Great Food”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the bread bowl with a type of stew in it. Good flavor. Atmosphere of restaurant was great. Service was good--except waiter forgot to turn in our appetizer. Which turned out okay because we were really full from the meal. But we did get it to go--mac and cheese bites--to have a snack later. Would recommend. Also have a large beer list for those who enjoy like to try something new.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnsonchris143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in a great town”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My wife and I have been to the Six Pence in Savannah many times and love it there, so we were thrilled to find out that they have another restaurant in Blowing Rock. We have a three month old daughter and found the restaurant to be very family friendly. The food was great, especially the fish n chips. We enjoyed the food (and Guinness) so much, we ate there a second time on our vacation.

Again both locations, Blowing Rock and Savannah are great and we are looking forward to visiting both real soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ejh33ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Six Pence Pub also viewed

Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
Blowing Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Six Pence Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing